We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you go you'll never want to leave”
Review of Hostel Sheck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sheck
Ranked #8 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really nice hostel. The rooms were clean and not too hot. The bar downstairs had a friendly and chilled atmosphere, the beer was cold and cheap. The breakfast that's included was cooked by the owners themselves and was great. Really helpful in terms of what to do locally and how much you should be paying for things. The staff were all lovely and we actually ended up staying longer because they took us out. Great little hostel and all the best for the future. 10 out of 10 guys.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I happened upon this place after arriving in Tulum only to discover the hostel I intended to stay in was shut - It was the best thing that could have happened to me. The hostel is awesome with a great communal area. The owner and his girlfriend are really friendly as is Jorge: another member of the staff. It was my birthday when I was there and the staff were really nice to me. I would definitely recommend this hostel to a friend. I couldn't talk more highly of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The best thing about this place is the staff, it makes the whole ambiance and charm of a place and transform a place to sleep into a a place you want to stay for longer. Jorge and the rest of the staff are amazing and we had so much fun with them. There is really good street food around the hostel and the recommendation for the cerviche restaurant was the highlight of the trip. You can rent a bicycle and ride to the ruins, the beach or cenotes. I met amazing people there and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Sheck is a new hostel, and when I stayed there in May it was even newer so I apologize to the owners if my feedback has become inaccurate since then. Regardless, a review promised is a review delivered, and I took notes at the time to help me remember so here we go:

Sheck used to be a restaurant, and its large, main building is the centerpiece of the property. Downstairs are the bathrooms (small separate building), showers (another small separate building), bar, common area, and garden. Up the steep stairs in the back is the 28-bed dorm area divided into 3 parts with one bathroom, all separated by about 8-foot tall walls but otherwise open via the high ceilings. Out back is another separate building with 8 dorm beds.

The Good:
-Low Price
-There is Wi-Fi
-Decently Clean
-Plenty of Hot Water
-Personal Lockers
-Decently Comfortable Bunks
-Drinking Water Available
-Good Bar and Common Area with Music
-Good Social Atmosphere
-Well-equipped, Accessible kitchen
-Decent if Repetitive Breakfast
-Well-Ventilated Bathrooms... directly into the 28-bed dorm area in one instance
-Location is far enough from the center and the bars to not be noisy but close enough to walk everywhere. I wouldn't recommend walking home alone drunk at night though. Tulum isn't really big enough for serious crime as far as I could tell, but you may find yourself looking down the barrel of a nervous soldier's M16 like I did.

The Bad:
-Limited Security: Mike and Gaby (the only staff at the time) were almost always around during the day keeping an eye on things, but at night, the front gate was left unlocked, and there really wasn't anything stopping anybody from off the street from walking right up to your bedside
-No AC, and it gets really hot
-MOSQUITOES: Lots of them, particularly in the back, 8-bed dorm building. Mike was talking of totally remodeling this building, and I hope he has because I got easily over 30 bites in one night back there. When I stayed, all sleeping areas were fully open to the outdoors with zero mosquito protection. I got fewer bites upstairs, possibly because there were more targets for the buggers. The common area is also plagued by this issue. Mike, consider draining the pond in your garden as this can be a breeding ground for the pests and look into other non-toxic mosquito control solutions for your common area where putting up screens isn't possible.
-Poor Access to Bathrooms Downstairs and No Sound Insulation on the Bathroom Upstairs: Making the hike down and back up the poorly lit, steep stairs in the middle of the night for a bathroom break is a huge, somewhat treacherous hassle (especially drunk) if you don't want to use the one bathroom upstairs and wake everybody in the dorm up with your... bathroom noises
-Overall Noise Level: If the bar downstairs isn't keeping you up, the 27 other people in your minimally-segregated, massive dorm area probably will be. The building out back may be quieter, but the mosquitoes will mess you up without mercy. Earplugs are thus essential.
-There's no guest internet terminal
-There's very limited indoor lighting from a few bare bulbs in the dorm area and no personal lights
-There aren't many wall sockets available
-Mike, the owner, seemed stressed, tired, and unfriendly most of the time and Gaby, his girlfriend, was friendly but didn't speak much English making the interaction and procurement of information awkward. It sounds like additional staff have been added and the hostel is taking off so this may no longer be an issue.
-There is no laundry capability- you have to do it at the full-service laundromat
-Sheck doesn't organize outings or have relationships with any 3rd party outing companies to easily arrange trips
-Aside from breakfast, you'll have to look elsewhere for food
-No beach shuttle and no bike/scooter rental so you'll have to figure out getting to the beach on your own
-No games to play, no book exchange, no towels provided, no way to organize/store your stuff next to your bunks

Final tip: don't try to put your soap or shampoo on the top of the dividers between the showers. They're open cinder blocks without tops and your soap will just fall in there and be gone forever.

Overall, with some security, bug, noise, climate control, lighting, and staffing (which sounds already better) improvements from how it was when I was there, this place could be a winner in a town that is hurting for a great hostel.

Mike, if you've fixed the issues that I outlined above since May, please post a response to this review addressing them as I want very much for you and Gaby to succeed, and I realize a review full of criticisms doesn't help that if it goes unaddressed. Hopefully this feedback provides you with some value if you were unaware of some of these issues.

Room Tip: If it hasn't been improved with bug-proofing since I was there in May, do not stay in the 8-bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesBradley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Naturally, like many of the others, I selected this hostel based on the reviews here and it turned out to be a good recommendation. Situated on the edge of town, easy to walk to downtown and bike to Tulum and nearby beaches from. The staff, Mike, Gabby, Jorge and Catalina were all terrific.

It is also cheaper to drink at the bar there than in town but you need to tell Jorge to work on his margaritas. He will know why. Aside from that, Jorge and Mike were a terrific source of information as to where to go, what to do/see, and how to avoid the expensive tours.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights there, after looking in couple of hostels in town.
Sheck hostel have a very nice crew, it's clean and comfy, have a wonderfull garden with a bar, attracts cool people, lovely breakfast and all of that for more than a fair price!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UdiFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thought of staying in Tulum for 2 nights, ended up staying 6. Hostel was awesome, a great place to chill and meet great people. Lots of food options around and Gaby and Mike are very helpful in making sure you get all the information you need to keep your travel cost the cheapest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oded Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.6 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
935 reviews
4.9 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 134 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#13 of 134 in Tulum
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#24 of 134 in Tulum
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sheck

Address: Corner Avenida Satelite N. and Sagitario, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2012, we have been attracting backpackers worldwide. Hostel Sheck is a laid back hostel with a lush garden to relax, meet people and yet have a good time and party at our budget-friendly bar. We have created an atmosphere we know backpackers will appreciate and enjoy. We offer a full range of facilities including a big modern kitchen; free Wi-Fi; and hammocks when you are ready to just relax and enjoy the day or evening. A free, hot Breakfast is offered daily and of course plenty of hot water. We are close to downtown Tulum - just 2 blocks from the main Avenida and easily accessible to restaurants, shops, the Central Bus terminal, transportation to the ruins, beaches, and bike rental facilities. Everything is brand new - beds, bathrooms, and comfortable mattresses. Come stay at Hostel Sheck, the newest hostel in Tulum! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sheck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing