We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hostel to stay in Tulum!!!!”
Review of Hostel Sheck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sheck
Ranked #9 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great staff, great location, clean rooms, good beds, really cool bar/common area to relax with friends. Lots of hammocks to lay in after a day walking around or diving!
It's just far enough from the main street to be quiet but still close to all attraction. I can see this place becoming the backpacker hub in Tulum. Thanks again to Mike and Gabi, the owners, for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divetiludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

A great hostel. Planned to stay for 3 nights, ended up staying for 8! The staff are welcoming, really helpful and generally just nice to be around. They are full of advice on things to do in and around Tulum. Had an absolute blast staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at hostel sheck for 4 nights and we absolutely loved it! Mike, Catarina and Jorge make you feel at home right away. They were really help full, helping us to plan our time in Tulum. They had a lot of good advice and the towns best and cheapest Margaritas! Hope you'll find it just as nice as we did! Lots of love from the four danish girls Stina, Lykke, Josephine and Christina PS. Happy birthday Jorge!!! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I had an amazing time in Tulum, thanks to Hostel Sheck! Lots of lone travelers there, which makes it easy to establish contact and group up for activities. The ambiance is really great, especially at night, when we can all enjoy cold beers and drinks from the hostel's little bar.

It was also clean and cosy, and the morning breakfast and coffee were really appreciated. It also has a good location in town, near great street food, bike rental shop, restaurants and bars, and not too far from the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really nice hostel. The rooms were clean and not too hot. The bar downstairs had a friendly and chilled atmosphere, the beer was cold and cheap. The breakfast that's included was cooked by the owners themselves and was great. Really helpful in terms of what to do locally and how much you should be paying for things. The staff were all lovely and we actually ended up staying longer because they took us out. Great little hostel and all the best for the future. 10 out of 10 guys.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I happened upon this place after arriving in Tulum only to discover the hostel I intended to stay in was shut - It was the best thing that could have happened to me. The hostel is awesome with a great communal area. The owner and his girlfriend are really friendly as is Jorge: another member of the staff. It was my birthday when I was there and the staff were really nice to me. I would definitely recommend this hostel to a friend. I couldn't talk more highly of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The best thing about this place is the staff, it makes the whole ambiance and charm of a place and transform a place to sleep into a a place you want to stay for longer. Jorge and the rest of the staff are amazing and we had so much fun with them. There is really good street food around the hostel and the recommendation for the cerviche restaurant was the highlight of the trip. You can rent a bicycle and ride to the ruins, the beach or cenotes. I met amazing people there and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.7 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#11 of 141 in Tulum
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#4 of 141 in Tulum
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lucky Traveler Hostel
Lucky Traveler Hostel
#36 of 141 in Tulum
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weary Traveler Hostel
Weary Traveler Hostel
#27 of 141 in Tulum
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#50 of 141 in Tulum
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sheck

Address: Corner Avenida Satelite N. and Sagitario, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £19 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2012, we have been attracting backpackers worldwide. Hostel Sheck is a laid back hostel with a lush garden to relax, meet people and yet have a good time and party at our budget-friendly bar. We have created an atmosphere we know backpackers will appreciate and enjoy. We offer a full range of facilities including a big modern kitchen; free Wi-Fi; and hammocks when you are ready to just relax and enjoy the day or evening. A free, hot Breakfast is offered daily and of course plenty of hot water. We are close to downtown Tulum - just 2 blocks from the main Avenida and easily accessible to restaurants, shops, the Central Bus terminal, transportation to the ruins, beaches, and bike rental facilities. Everything is brand new - beds, bathrooms, and comfortable mattresses. Come stay at Hostel Sheck, the newest hostel in Tulum! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing