We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Tulum”
Review of Hostel Sheck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Sheck
Ranked #9 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The place is managed by Mike and Gabi who are really nice and helpful.
The place is located in the center of Tulum city which is great.
The place is super clean tidy has hot water and WiFi , it has also a small bar inside which make great atmosphere in the evenings.
Would definitely come back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stasyagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed in hostel shek for the final part of my trip. It was the perfect end. Situated at the top of the main strip, close to the cycle hire centre. It has the perfect location, just a short trip to most of the areas main attractions ie the cenotes and Mayan ruins. The staff are great and made me fell very welcome. I stayed in the biggest dorm, and it was quiet and well maintained. Comfy beds and a good hot shower. Breakfast provide. Couldn't ask for more from a hostel. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After I checked in for the first time I couldn't leave, and even when I left I came back.
Tge hostel is beautiful and clean. Not more then 10 mun after you'll get there yiu'll have all the information about the city and more.
Gaby and mike are nice and always will be happy to help or just have a good conversation.
The kitchen is big and have everything and the showers are the best I had im mexico.
The bar is the cheapest bar in town with the best margaritas in the Caribbean side.
It's one of the best hostels I stayed in in central America!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Atar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As soon as I checked in, I was given more than all the information I needed to have a successful stay in Tulum. Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming! The showers are hot and have strong water pressure which was refreshing compared to my other stays in Mexico. Good downtown location and so easy to get anywhere by bicycle and had a nice bar and good food.. Can't beat it! Loved it and want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hostel just off the main strip. Rent bikes or snorkel gear (which actually didn't work that we'll) to snorkel with turtles at Akumal. The owner is really nice and will to help with anything. The bar area is cheap and convenient, can get pretty crazy at night.
The best part of this hostel though is the hot showers, definitely not in a private area if you're in the smaller dorms, but hot nonetheless.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank teresawilterink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The people are amazing, the atmosphere is relaxed, the beer is cheap, the espanadas are delicious, I felt at home and made stayed extra nights because I loved it here so much! The big dorm room is clean and private, the facilities are good, the resident dog is super fun and friendly, all round I loved this place

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sam_Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I made a few friends in Playa Del Carmen that mentioned this place was clean and friendly. I had planned on staying for a night or two and ended up being there on and off for almost two weeks. Mike the owner and his wife Gabby are really great people. All the staff was friendly and very helpful, and I really do miss those guys! Mike is expanding as we speak but I stayed in the big dorm. The bathrooms are clean and there is hot water. Its an easy bike ride to the beach and there is a lot more to do in town than down by the beach, and its a lot easier to jump on a collective to check out all the local cenotes. Eden cenote was pretty epic. Stay here, and if you have any questions about what to do in the area these guys will point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxxfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.6 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
935 reviews
4.9 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#4 of 134 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#13 of 134 in Tulum
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#23 of 134 in Tulum
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sheck

Address: Corner Avenida Satelite N. and Sagitario, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £10 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in November 2012, we have been attracting backpackers worldwide. Hostel Sheck is a laid back hostel with a lush garden to relax, meet people and yet have a good time and party at our budget-friendly bar. We have created an atmosphere we know backpackers will appreciate and enjoy. We offer a full range of facilities including a big modern kitchen; free Wi-Fi; and hammocks when you are ready to just relax and enjoy the day or evening. A free, hot Breakfast is offered daily and of course plenty of hot water. We are close to downtown Tulum - just 2 blocks from the main Avenida and easily accessible to restaurants, shops, the Central Bus terminal, transportation to the ruins, beaches, and bike rental facilities. Everything is brand new - beds, bathrooms, and comfortable mattresses. Come stay at Hostel Sheck, the newest hostel in Tulum! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Sheck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing