We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Happy to Be With Our Cousins!”

Tulum Monkey Sanctuary
Ranked #24 of 83 things to do in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary was closed on October 13, 2014 due to the death of the owner of the property. Thank you for your support. The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary is a privately owned 60 acre ranch. On the ranch we have 15 rescued Spider Monkeys that live in natural habitats. There are also wild monkeys that pass through on their normal feeding routes. In addition to Spider Monkeys we have saved many, many animals including lots of street dogs. Although the Tulum Monkey Sanctuary is closed at the moment we hope you will support us in our move to the YuCARE Ranch. The YuCARE Foundation will be dedicated to broad based animal rescue (starting with the monkeys of Tulum Monkey Sanctuary) and will be self-sustaining both financially and environmentally.
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So Happy to Be With Our Cousins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Oh My God! A primate lover's paradise. I really enjoyed being at the Monkey Sanctuary last week! Thanks to Alexandre, Carlos ,and all the other nice volunteers.

IF IN THE AREA, DO NOT MISS THIS CHANCE TO RELATE TO A LITTLE MONKEY!
I am very happy I found out about it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    53
    12
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The sanctuary is as close to nature as can be, while making it a workable site for the care and management of so many animals that would otherwise have perished. We were shown around by John, who is incredibly enthusiastic, knowledgable and has an endless supply of interesting stories. He was totally honest about all aspects of the sanctuary and of the monkeys' wild nature: they are not made out to be cute and cuddly creatures, but really intelligent, social and wild animals.

Getting to walk around the virgin forest was also well worth the visit, as was the 12' jump into a cenote!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcharkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An organisation set up for a really worthwhile cause!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I weren't sure if the experience would be worth the price tag but we were proven wrong after speaking to the co owner, John, who took us on a detailed 4 hour tour and explained the project in depth and its role in helping tackle the illegal monkey trade which is a massive problem in Mexico. The project is quite small at the moment and the organisation needs more steady tourism to ensure it can grow.

There were a couple of smaller cages with a couple of domesticated monkeys who are in the process of being socialised otherwise would be killed in the wild. Most monkeys are kept in a big open enclosure with plenty of room to move around and is as close to the wild as possible.

After we saw the monkeys, we were taken on a walk through the jungle and swam in 2 cenotes.

It was a great day and John made us feel very welcome. We left feeling like we had contributed toward a worthwhile cause.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many Monkeys & Much Much More!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this for our honeymoon, and had a fantastic day in nature with the animals! The monkey sanctuary has more than just monkeys...we saw a crocodile, wild ducks, a donkey, horses, bats, butterflies, and had a cute doggie and kitty follow us the entire tour!
We were greeted promptly at the gate by a volunteer from France named Alex, who was expecting us even though we arrived 15 minutes early, and in the rain. We waited for the other people in our tour group to arrive while John, the tour guide, took us to see the wild burro, colt pony, and the other horses. In other reviews, people are saying the tour guide's name is James, but we remember it as John. Anyway, he was super friendly, and since he was American, he spoke perfect English, which was a relief to us after having been on other tours in Tulum where the guides were difficult to understand.
Once all arrived, we were shown to the caged area where they rehab the monkeys to the point where they can survive on "Monkey Island" with the other monkeys. This is where we met Mimi the monkey, and her one-armed boyfriend monkey, who are being encouraged to choose each other for a mate. John explained in detail how complicated it is to integrate all of the monkeys because of the intensity of the monkey dynamics, and how they behave and treat each other. I won't repeat it here - you can hear it for yourself when you get there, but we found it very informative and interesting!
We loved "Monkey Island" where the monkeys (and a cute little baby monkey) live in a natural environment just as if they were in the wild. They are contained by an electric fence which is not cruel, but essential to their survival. The monkeys at the sanctuary are all rescued from a former life in captivity that deprived them of the necessary skills they would need if they were to escape into the wild. We learned this, and other interesting facts from our tour guide.
The tour was longer than we expected, which pleased us because we felt that we got our monies worth. It ended with a dip in a refreshing cenote which included a swim through a bat cave. It was slightly unnerving to a couple of people in our group, but since we had already hit up 3 cenotes prior to this tour, we really enjoyed it and knew what we were getting into.
There were lots of other really cool adventures on this tour that I will leave for you to experience, and to save myself from making this review any more long winded. I was hoping for some one-on-one handling of the monkeys, and that is about the only thing that would have made the tour better. We did the tour in flip flops which was fine, but if you have regular shoes, wear those instead. You are going to need mosquito repellent, just as you would anywhere in Tulum, because you are in the jungle. I only wish I had brought my professional DSLR camera - the iPhone pics don't do this place justice. I would recommend this tour to all nature and animal lovers! We had a great experience and made memories that we will never forget!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guide, nice monkeys and the jump!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A friend and I were traveling in Tulum and we wanted to do something else then just go swimming and hang out at the beach. We saw the sanctuary at our hostel, the guide owns the hostel the weary traveler. We got a ride from the hostel and back, so that’s practical.
The sanctuary is beautiful, the monkeys have their stories, and you can learn a lot from the guide who will tell you about their behavior and so on…

After the tour, the stories, the monkeys we got to the cenote. We were all jong people and adventurous. So we all did the jump. You could choose to take the stairs to get in the cenote, but nothing will beat the jump. It’s a beautiful cenote and cave, bats, …

lots of mosquitos!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel_C_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tulum Monkey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Tulum Monkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing