We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would love to go back”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are normally avoid all inclusive hotels, but decided to try this out as we found a great deal through booking.com for a two week holiday.

It's a lovely quiet hotel with a stretch of clean beach and very clear sea. The pools were very clean, and the staff extremely friendly. Our room was the first room on the beach, next to water sports rental, and near the beach bar. Really quiet every night and we didn't even hear the karaoke they put on one night at the bar!

It was quite stormy for the first 4 days, so didn't venture out that much, but the staff were on hand and were accommodating.

The food was very good as you would hope from an Italian run hotel. There was a different selection on offer everyday to suit all tastes, and some healthy options. The Mexican taco chef was really good (he is there every lunch time). We had planned to eat out on a few occasions, but ended up at the hotel for food most of the time.

The hotel is situated quite far from Tulum beach and ruins. We had planned to cycle there, but sadly the section of road the hotel is off is a cycle free zone. No problem though - we just walked to the top of the road (about 8 mins) and then caught the bus to Tulum town. we hired bikes from there to cycle down to the beach.

Do not miss the Cenote near the hotel. Just take a right down the dirt track as soon as you exit hotel. About 15 mins walk (or jump on the hotel bikes) and the cenote is on the left. Hire a kayak or go snorkelling. it's small but also very quiet.

Don't be put off by the 'animators'. We just told them 3 days straight that we were not interested in taking part in any games/activities and they got the message and didn't bother us again for the rest of the holiday. They were all very friendly to chat to at the bar though!

We would love to go back to Tulum, and to stay in this hotel. It's far enough away from noise / bars to escape everything, but close enough to go a bar in town if you would like in the evening. We have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arch_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    362
    100
    41
    34
See reviews for
210
552
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just got back from spending 12 days at Pavo Real Beach Resort. Since I had done so much research after I booked this hotel I was not surprised that the beach it is located on is not nearly as wonderful as the beach in Tulum. That being said I knew what I was getting into when I booked it. It was more affordable than the resorts that are located in Tulum on the beach. The hotel is very clean and all the staff is great. The breakfast and lunch buffet were pretty good and I always found something good to eat but the dinners were not that great. Not that much variety and lots of food that I had no idea what it was. They really should put signs on some of the salads. It was very laid back and vibe is really great. I would recommend this resort if you can't for some reason stay right on the beach in Tulum. Next time I will stay on the beach in Tulum but Pavo Real is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silkchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I didn't stay here but I booked the room through a website that did not make it clear that the booking was only for one guest. While the website was horrendous to deal with, the hotel was accommodating and easy to deal with. If I could have afforded the price for the second guest I would not hesitate to stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Acousticgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

For me Pavo Real was the perfect combination of amenities, beach and location during my stay in Tulum! I didn't know what to expect, so I "splurged" (albeit very reasonable) on an all-inclusive. It is a relatively small resort and attracts an international mix. You will get to know your neighbors and they will be from all over the world. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, from the security guards to the entertainment to the front desk. I'm ever so grateful for the insight on the colectivos which stop on the carretera in front of the hotel -- only 20 pesos to get to town if you'd want to explore on your own! Personally, I didn't join any of the tours, but they do offer organized trips to the cenotes, Tulum Ruins, Coba or Chichen Itza as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the grounds are well maintained and beautiful. You'll see pelicans diving for fish offshore, you'll hear sea crows throughout the day and iguanas sunning themselves on the grass. Lastly, the food, dinner in particular was excellent. Albeit Tulum has a variety of food options available as well if you're curious.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a fitness center, but this is a vacation...Nor is there a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angush25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this resort for 9 days and we loved everything about it! Very friendly staff, very good food( chef's from Italy). Rooms are cleaned every day,and the resort was clean as well. Nice beach/beautiful waters. There was a nice diving shop,you can rent catamaran's, kayaks were free, we got snorkeling tours with turtles and Cenote- great snorkeling underwater cave. And let's not forget.. The weather was beautiful every day! Loved the disco/bar by the beach very well organized. We will be back again soon! And I recommend this resort to everyone who loves bungalow style resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the military not a beach resort. Staff are rude and arrogant. Drinks are REALLY bad, food a bit better. We paid $300/ night for this room, which belonged in a hostel, not the amazing beach resort they think they are. The beaches are dirty, they don;t even clean them. The rooms are moldy and have no sound proofing whatsoever.
All in all RUN AWAY from this hotel, it is terrible.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms next to the pool bar, high and bad music is played until 12.30am every nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mnwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo_Musazzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear MNWA, we would like to thank you for the time you spent with this review, even if it surprised us a lot!
The room You booked was the one we gave you and for the price you paid, everything included and showed. The resort is a small one, right on the beach and the staff on duty really does any effort to make your holiday a perfect one. No one is rude or arrogant, but maybe has to respect some hotel rules. Drinks and food are both Italian and Mexican style and all our guests like it so much. The beach is in a Nature Reserve, where turtles are welcomed. They lay their eggs there on the beach! The staff is usual to clean it each morning except for rainy days. The rooms are just renewed and reopened last year, well cleaned and made in Mexican style. For any complaint our Manager on duty is always at your service. You’ve only to ask for. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stay with friends for 5 days !! Was very very nice !! its very quiet hotel !!! Shows good at nite from 9 pm till 11 pm !!! lovely beach !! Nice massage at beach !!! Meals very very good !! Italian chef its very very good !!! its Mexican European Resort !!!! Dont lessen bad reviews !! of course its not 5 star hotel but i will give 4 !!!!

Room Tip: all rooms very good they all at the beach !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty19705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo_Musazzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Betty1970,
First of all, thank you for your rating. Honestly our Resort is a 4 star, so you gave the right 4!! Thank you from all of us and guess see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
8.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
857 reviews
6.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#43 of 96 in Tulum
339 reviews
6.6 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
6.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
578 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#37 of 96 in Tulum
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum

Property: PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, km 237 | Tankah III, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum which has been very recently renovated and restructured (during Summer 2012) is located in the wonderful Riviera Maya, only few km North of Tulum's archeological site, surrounded by the typical luxuriant Tropics vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing