We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casually stumbled...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Adelita - CLOSED

Bar Adelita
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Caribbean, Bar, Grill, Pub, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casually stumbled...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

...upon this gem on the beach near the Tulum ruins.
Highly recommend it if you're planning a trip to the archaeological site or even as a one off trip to "Paradise beach" alone, it's really worth it.
My girlfriend and I had some lovely mexican food and Coronas (obviously!) in this wonderful place that had a really romantic and cool vibe about it. One of the best things is that they take card! (Visa or Mastercard, amazing!)
You have hammocks, wooden tables and benches, deck chairs and a great view.
Service was a bit slow (had to wait a good 10 minutes before we got seen to and there were only 2 other tables with customers, who had finished their meals) but overall it was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roberto_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    20
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place on a taxi tour of Tulum, Playa Paraiso and Akumal. The location is absolutely fantastic and could have happily stayed there all day if we were child free for the day.
The mango margarita was amazing with freshly squeezed mango and our son loved his fresh mango juice. The food took about an hour to arrive which was too slow but there are worse places to wait than when you have a view like that :)
Would have rated it a 5 but lost 1 star due to slow food service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aliglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
387 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Great drinks on beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This beach bar is located on the Tulum public beach. We always stop here because of friendly bartenders, good fish tacos, cold beers....all good!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool vibe at Adelita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really enjoyed this beach bar. We had one lunch here and had a great time having good Mexican food (I had the grilled cactus tacos which were great), gazing at the ocean and listening to cool music. It looks like a fun place to be at happy hour, even though we didn’t get the chance to go. Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh Ceviche and Jalapeno Margaritas!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Yummy, after visiting the ruins, our friend asked to walk out of the ruins and find Playa Pescadores (walking distance) and find Bar Adelita to have a drink. We stopped by, place is in front of the beach. Jalapeno Margarita, reallly good and ceviche mixto. We asked to bring the avocado and the mango aside since my husband does not eat them and they did. Best ceviche, freshly made, nicely presented. Great service.....We would have had another ceviche but later on we were going to Mezannine
We will go back again when we visit Tulum

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Adelita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing