We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”
Review of Calm Cabins Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calm Cabins Tulum
Ranked #93 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I came to calm cabins tulum in August 2012 and after I came back in April 2013 because in Dora's place I feel like at home. She makes you feel really comfortable and the garden is beautifull and a place to have some relaxing time.

The hostal is not a luxury place but it has all you need to spend some days in Tulum and enjoy all the surroundings. And the price is the best you can find in Tulum if you are looking for a quite place.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hostel feels like a community and a home.. I spent a couple of days there, spending a lot of time with other guests and the incredibly warm dueña Dora.. Calm Cabins is in an excellent location, from which you can easily reach the beach in Tulum, other beaches up or down the coast, cenotes, etc. Breakfast is provided, free of charge, whenever you wake up, and is always something different. Will definitely come back there when in the area again, and highly recommend it!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank ElmafromLithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at Palapas Tulum for 7 nights. We were very pleased with the accommodations and the hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was a nice additional feature, and the property was peaceful and well-maintained. We found the location to be convenient, and right around the corner is a bike rental (the best way to get around Tulum). And we loved the cats!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Seriously. Find somewhere else to stay. There are so many nice places to stay in Tulum...
This place is werid. Pierre is extremely rude with the guests. Beds are of the worse kind and breakfast is not good at all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Sorry that you did not feel satisfied with our service. Most of our guests enjoy their stay at our budget place, We kindly recomend you to look for places according to your needs and that you express your fellings only for yourself, Our place is very well know because of our breakfast, We try to satisfied our guests and cook them what they like but it is necessary that people make their comments when they are with us and not when they already left.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My family and I stayed at Pierre's place, which was far from the center of this small town (a 15 minute walk). After reading all the reviews, I was so excited to meet Pierre and taste his wonderful breakfasts. What a disappointment. First, we were directed to the hostel part, which honestly looked like rooms surrounding a junk pile. That is where Pierre picked us up. I know now why Pierre and Dora have their guests meet there. Because if they didn't meet you, you'd never walk the 20 minute walk from the hostel to the rooms at Pierre's place. On the walk, I realized that Pierre's English was poor, so we spoke French instead, exclusively. During the walk, upon asking questions about distance and safety, he got very defensive - which I should have taken as a sign of what was to come. Our room, albeit large, was clean except all the dead insects on top of the one mosquito-netted bed. The other two beds had none. My son woke up to dozens of bites on his back the next morning. Pierre told us to go to the store and buy a insect bomb to bomb the room. Come on, Pierre. The quality of the beds? ..you could feel every individual spring in the the children's beds. I spoke to Pierre about it, and he said, "That's the way they are made in Mexico." Really Pierre? And the delicious breakfasts I read about here? I had not one. The first morning was a flour tortilla with melted cheese inside (the worst quesadilla I've had.) I asked for tea but I wasn't able to finish it. The next morning, I asked for tea again, and Pierre replied, "It's not a good idea since you didn't finish your tea from yesterday." Really?!?! That morning we were served scrambled eggs as well as the next. Adequate is about the best adjective to describe the breakfast. I asked Pierre which cenotes he likes and would recommend. He said, "I won't recommend any to you since if you don't like it, you'll blame me." Oh, and the shower? For four people? There was about 1 minute total of hot water. All four of us literally showered together otherwise we'd be in ice cold water.
I was so disappointed by Palapas Tulum. After what everyone wrote here, I thought I would have a lovely experience. I felt like I read reviews for a completely different hotel. And the price? For what we got? Terrible! We paid $100/night and had to pay in advance with no return of money. No wonder. Of course, people would find somewhere else to stay after the first night. And the exchange rate was 12 pesos/dollar but they charged me 13 pesos. So instead of paying 3600 pesos, we paid 3900. It added insult to injury. On the beach, at Zazil Kiin, they had a room for four (remember, on the beach) for 760pesos/night. And Pierre's? 1300 pesos/night. You do the math. I felt like I was duped. Palapas Tulum was by far the worst part of our entire 8 day vacation in Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

As the title suggests Palapas Tulum is the place to stay if you want some time to decompress and recharge. I, like many others who have left a review, stayed longer than planned because, well, the place just felt very good on my being. In fact I found the garden so therapeutic I spent much of my time lazing in the hammock. Yes, it is rustic, but charming nonetheless, and the operators, Dora and Pedro, are serving from their hearts. In fact at one point I was not feeling so well and Dora went out of her way to help me with some effective alternative therapies. I highly recommend a stay. Not only is it all of the above, but it is so close to everything while feeling away from it all. It is a special little place and there are definitely good beings seen and unseen hanging out in that garden. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We originally booked for 2 nights at palapas tulum but ended up staying for two weeks. Its like peacefull garden of tranquility in the town.The accomodation is basic, but it's clean and in the centre of town so it's a lot easier to budget for food and general living costs than if you are down by the beach. the owner Dora is brilliant, nothing is ever too much trouble. If you're backpacking I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.2 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
5.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 98 in Tulum
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 98 in Tulum
405 reviews
3.9 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
2.1 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Cabins Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Cabins Tulum

Address: Calle Polar Poniente 64, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm and peaceful accommodation in Tulum Town Center within a beatiful natural and organic garden with bananas and bouganvillea flowers.We offer a friendly and welcoming atmosphere where it is possible to meet other like-minded travelers in an intimate setting that foment meaningful exchanges.We speak italian, spanish, english and french.Our guests are backpackers and young couples who are looking for a quiet place to rest.We are definitely not a party place in that our guests are normally more interested in exploring the unique and beautiful wonders that the region has to offer wich is great for day trips to places such as the Ruins, Coba, Akumal, Xel-Ha, Cenotes and Playa del Carmen.From our place, even though we provide such a natural feel, you are conveniently located just 15 minutes away on a bus from Tulum Beach and just 5 minutes away walking from the Main ADO Bus Station in Town Center where it is also possible wo access the numerous interesting shopping, organizing and dining options that Tulum has to offer at very reasonable prices.We also help you by giving you insider tips on what is going on currently and point you towards places most travelers who visit the region will never know about.We are a vegan-vegeterian friendly hostel. We do provide special utensils so you can cook your meals and also advice so you can get your special food suplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Calm Cabins Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing