We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“realy calm cabins”
Review of Calm Cabins Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calm Cabins Tulum
Ranked #90 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After some hectic hostels, I was glad to stay on a calm place, close to the bus station, shop with fruit and vegetable, main avenue and a bike rental. Dora and her friend who helped with running the place were nice and helpful. I recommend this for persons who prefere calm and the opportunity to cook.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank eVero28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Two good friends recommended this place to us and we were really excited to experience all the things they told us about (great breakfast, familiar atmosphere, lovely place...) I don´t know if we were spoiled by all the nice places we stayed at before but we were very disappointed by Calm Cabins. The rooms are furnished basic - we knew that the accommodation is rustic, but the curtains were full with spider webs and on the mosquito nets were a lot of dead insects, the net had a lot of holes as well. Everything didn´t give the impression that someone took care of this place with love. Dora was nice but reserved, she recommended a really good vegan restaurant. The shower was okay, the water got warm, but there is not much water pressure, it took me half an hour to wash my hair. The most disappointing thing was the breakfast, we heard so many fantastic things about it...what we got was almost cold water for tea, moldy tea bags, loveless quesadillas, strange tasting fruits and ants in the sugar. We stayed four nights and thought a lot about changing the hostel. The other guests were really friendly and we decided to stay even if it was really noisy at night and we paid in advance (construction trucks, cats, traffic...to call it calm cabins is a good joke!). We expected jungle noise, roosters, cats, dogs...whatever, but so much traffic noise? It was not worth the money we paid and we found way better places for just a few dollars more. To be honest we don´t need luxury, we like camping, we love to be close to nature (the possum around our cabin was nearly the best thing : D) but we really appreciate places managed with love and passion we couldn´t feel that at Dora´s place. Maybe it was the wrong time, maybe it was because Pierre was away. We don´t know if something changed till our friends stayed there, but it was not the place they told us about. We still had an amazing time in Tulum and a fantastic vacation in total!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neira87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We will take care of all this subjects right now.
Kind regards
Dora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had seen excellent reviews of Calm Cabins so decided to stay, in truth we booked at short notice and there wasn't much else available in Tulum.

We were expecting basic accommodation, but we were surprised how shabby it is. We wanted somewhere to relax but ended up not wanting to spend any time there. Clanking gate right beside our room, which was a dark, quite dirty concrete shed right beside a very noisy road, buses rolling past from 4am (maybe not always like that as roadworks in town) The mosquito protection was not good and incomplete, we had to drape things over big gaps over the door etc, and we did get bitten. One toilet was fine, but the bathroom was dingy with interesting fungus growing on the walls! ran out of hot water showering twice

The breakfast was good and the owner is a lovely person, but it is not enough for charging 20$US per person for staying in an old shed at the bottom of the yard. Tulum is expensive and we didn't expect luxury, but for the money this wasn't good value. There are a lot rules posted everywhere indicating the owner is not surprised by people complaining, perhaps there is a reason.

Room Tip: Maybe the room away from the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalapasTulum, Owner at Calm Cabins Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comment,, Unfortunately we have had the worst rainy season in years so having fungus because of this terrible weather is inevitable.
Our rules are the regular ones in every hostel most of our guest do not complain, We are really sorry if you didn´t have a nice time with us,
We will take your comments in heart so we can improve our place very soon,
Prices are according with those of the highest Christmas season,


Thank you for your visit,
Calm Cabins Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Dora's Calm Cabins Tulum is a great place for the back-packing traveler looking for a calm safe haven where he or she can just shower off the dust, lay back and relax. The hammock, the garden, the 2 private bungalows, the dormitory, the open kitchen... it's all there. This is not "Hilton" or "Intercontinental" but it is a place where one feels welcome and at home. You may think of renting for a day or two but end up extending your stay. Tulum is a simple town but one with lots of shops and restaurants, the near-by beaches and Mayan sacred city are not to be missed!

Room Tip: Choosing your room depends on how much privacy you need/want. If you want a place to be alone for aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fowleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed 3 days at Doras hostel shes a great host the place is very relaxing and it has a good service,i was just getting away from the city rush of Cancun and decided to spend my days there, i would recommend to others the price its worth for what you get,looking forward to come and visit again sometime soon!!!
Thank you!
Namaste :)

Room Tip: Any room would be great they are comfortable and really clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriello7199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We entered by knocking on a green door in a wall and once the padlock was removed, entered a walled garden compound Containing a few buildings and a central patio with a table, clotheslines and a hammock.
We stayed in the 2 private rooms which were quite basic but clean and secure. The mosquito nets were much appreciated.
A tasty breakfast with bottomless coffee was served each morning. We could have cooked if we wanted and refrigerator space was available.
Wifi was a bit weak.
This location is 1 block off downtown in a somewhat rough appearing block. Nonetheless, we never felt anything but safe when coming and going. Our rental car remained unscathed during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynthiaShimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Calm Cabins. I was actually only meant to be briefly passing through Tulum...and in the end I stayed for over a week!
Situated off the main road but close enough to the bars, restaurants and other amenities....Calm Cabins is a great peaceful place to base yourself....with a great garden to relax and kick back in.....I had the pleasure of watching the resident woodpecker...countless lizards....iguanas.....a possum...parakeets..whilst I was staying here.
Dora the owner....is very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area having lived here for many years so make sure you pick her brains to make the most of Tulum. She can tell you about the best attractions and the most economical way to explore and experience Tulum and surrounding areas.....whether it be visiting the nearby cenotes or relaxing on the beautiful beach....you get the impression she really likes her guests to be happy.

Okay other plus points for this hostel.

Mosquito nets:).....no biggy but believe me...you will will be able to sleep a whole lot easier...there is notably more mosquitos in Tulum than other resorts...such as Playa and Cancun.

Breakfast is made fresh by Dora every morning at a reasonable time that suits you...and if you are staying more than one night then the chances are...she will mix it up a bit so your not eating the same thing every morning.

I can definately recommend this place and I really hope to visit this little oasis again.

Graham (England)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 98 in Tulum
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 98 in Tulum
560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Diamante K
Hotel Diamante K
#31 of 98 in Tulum
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Cabins Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Cabins Tulum

Address: Calle Polar Poniente 64, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm and peaceful accommodation in Tulum Town Center within a beatiful natural and organic garden with bananas and bouganvillea flowers.We offer a friendly and welcoming atmosphere where it is possible to meet other like-minded travelers in an intimate setting that foment meaningful exchanges.We speak italian, spanish, english and french.Our guests are backpackers and young couples who are looking for a quiet place to rest.We are definitely not a party place in that our guests are normally more interested in exploring the unique and beautiful wonders that the region has to offer wich is great for day trips to places such as the Ruins, Coba, Akumal, Xel-Ha, Cenotes and Playa del Carmen.From our place, even though we provide such a natural feel, you are conveniently located just 15 minutes away on a bus from Tulum Beach and just 5 minutes away walking from the Main ADO Bus Station in Town Center where it is also possible wo access the numerous interesting shopping, organizing and dining options that Tulum has to offer at very reasonable prices.We also help you by giving you insider tips on what is going on currently and point you towards places most travelers who visit the region will never know about.We are a vegan-vegeterian friendly hostel. We do provide special utensils so you can cook your meals and also advice so you can get your special food suplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Calm Cabins Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing