We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as advertised”
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Thanks go great reviewers and excellent communication from the hotel staff WHENEVER I sent an email, I felt "pretty confident" when I booked this hotel for my husband's 50th. Since I was also booking for our close friends to join us, I had fingers crossed that it would be good. We had a blast. The room photos on this site look exactly like we experienced. The staff is very nice. We used the suggested firm "Cancun Cheap Transfers" and they were well-priced, accommodating and timely. Ziggy's food was great, we even had some good wine!
I would add a few tips:
1-Bring your own refillable water bottles. They really limit the plastic consumption, which is wonderful, but you'll be glad you brought your own to refill in the lobby after some delicious margs at Mateo's!
2-The beach is wonderful, just mind the sharp rocks in a few spots.
3-There are very few places to get that pharmacy item you forgot...pack thoroughly
4-Pack lightly on clothes, super casual, and happily so!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

I really couldn't be more positive about this hotel. A great hotel with an authentic beachy feel, with amazing staff and a wonderful restaurant.

Amazing rooms that have a wonderful and full view of the sea (we woke up to amazing sunrises while we are there) that are spacious yet intimate.

The staff and very professional, friendly (but not overly familiar) and are so willing to help at every opportunity.

The restaurant has food that's among the best I've EVER had (and my home city of London has a pretty good restaurant offering), so good I dont think we bothered trying anywhere else.

I could go on and on and no, but ill keep it brief to make a point.

Just. Book. It.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

No TV. No phone. No all inclusive food courts. No kids. Perfect! If you would miss any of the above this is NOT the place for you. If you are seeking tranquility, disconnecting from the world, sand between your toes and sound of the ocean most of the time, this is it!
Beautiful, small hotel minimalistically yet tastefully decorated. But you can find nice hotels all over Tulum and the area. It is THE STAFF that makes this hotel exceptional! Wonderful staff! From the reception desk, through the Ziggy's wonderful waiters all the way to the gentleman who maintains the pool and garden and folks that clean your room. They are Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen! Can't name them all but they are ALL amazing!
Also great food and service at Ziggy's restaurant and wonderful massage from Veronica. This is the very first hotel that is on our list to return to. We will definitely go back to The Beach Tulum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first visit to the Yucatan, and we looked long and hard for the perfect city and hotel for our stay. We were looking for a beautiful, quiet paradise, and we certainly found it at The Beach Tulum. We had not taken a long vacation in a couple of years, and The Beach Tulum was the perfect place for us to rest, relax, and enjoy each other. The beach is absolutely stunning, there are plenty of daybeds to lay on and enjoy the sun, and the staff will make sure to accommodate your every wish. Gabby at the front desk was able to take care of all of our needs, and the staff at Ziggy's (the restaurant) made sure our stomachs were satisfied and our drinks were always full. The rooms are big with lots of natural light, the bed was large and comfortable, and the porch had a lovely sitting area complete with a hammock. The rooftop terrace was also a nice place to hang out and watch the sunrise/sunset. All in all we had an excellent trip, and I would like to personally thank Angel, Gabby, and the rest of the staff for making it such a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in #7, a deluxe room on the second floor. It was the closest room to the restaurant/bar, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEisenharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We just came back from a week at the Beach Tulum in Mexico. The staff was not only friendly and accommodating, they went out of the way to make sure you had the best experience every day. I can't say enough about Leonardo and his dedication to his customers. We looked forward to his warm and upbeat personality every day. You can see the pride he takes in Ziggy's Restaurant and it shows in the food and service. Jose made sure our drinks and lunch got to us every afternoon at the beach. Abraham was the most charming server in the evening and the ladies at breakfast always started our day off right. Dan at the front desk went the extra mile to get my earring out of a small hole that it fell into on our headboard!
The location is superb. Open your sliders and step out onto the sandy beach. The best sunrise is right there. We are already talking about our next visit there.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior deluxe. All rooms are on the beach but these have a roof top terrace and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Hotel is very beautiful, the Rooms are Big and clean. The Servicepersonal is more than friendly and One of the best is Gabriel from the reception! She is allways friendly and helps us in each situation.
The Food was all the Time fresh and delicate.
It's a Specialy Great Feeling there, we only get positive emotions.
Also the Trips in the nature are Realy Great!
Thank you alot for this Great Holiday!
Agata and Monika

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagnerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I feel like I need to tell our entire story so others can get an idea of what to do. We are in our 26's and we both had never been to Tulum or drove a car in Mexico, luckily I speak Spanish so this was relatively easy. Using a map and researching Mexico helped us easily find our destination and avoid any kind of scam we were brainwashed into believing. I highly recommend renting a car with EasyWay as they include the insurance in the overall price and all other car rental companies do not. I cannot stress enough how helpful it was to have a car in Tulum because all the traffic from the taxis and other cars make it dangerous for pedestrians and bicyclists to get around.

Anyway,
We stayed at the Beach Tulum Oct 14 to 20 and we booked on booking.com, our reservation went through and I emailed the hotel to verify they received the reservation months ahead of our vacation. While we were there the weather was spectacular. We expected a rain-shower every day but it never rained. Our favorite days were the ones were we just laid on the beach and swam in the ocean. The hotel is on a tiny road full of other similar looking hotels however, despite the street looking busy the beach in front of our hotel was very secluded and rustic, it truly felt like a relaxed paradise away from a busy city like Dallas. We heard in another couples conversation that our hotel was fully booked (20 rooms) which was weird to us because we never saw that many people on the beach. At the most we would see maybe 10 other people on the beach in front of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor which was disappointing at first but we ended up loving it because it was more private than the 1st floor rooms. Our room was simple but comfortable the bed was big and the patio was awesome as well as the roof-top balcony. You can see the ocean from the shower! We didn't miss having a TV or wifi in the room, Wifi is available in the lobby and Ziggy's which helped us keep in touch with our family. Also, I picked The Beach Tulum because it has A/C from 7pm to 7 am, it was perfect because that was the only time we were in our room. We didn't hear any loud children the entire time except for one day that some people stopped to eat at Ziggy's restaurant which is right next to the hotel, They seemed like they were staying in Cancun. Ziggy's restaurant was so delicious, breakfast was included with our reservations which was a big plus and one of the reasons we chose The Beach Tulum... because who wants to wake up and have to find a place to eat while on vacation. The food is made fresh when you order it, no buffets...The staff is so friendly. We cannot say enough great things about The Beach Tulum, we cannot wait to go back next October or even in January or February!

If you like open air restaurants with fresh ingredients, where the floor is the sandy beach then you will love Tulum! We enjoyed not seeing Wal-mart, Starbucks, McDonalds, traffic, and crowds.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12, did not hear any construction, put lots of sun-screen, my boyfriend burned his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
430 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 98 in Tulum
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £326 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 28 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer ground floor Deluxe rooms, Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms and Junior Suites with private heated plunge pool. All rooms have 1 king size bed and are beachfront. Enjoy complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free use of our bikes to tour Tulum, daily on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing