We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Stay in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
“Honeymoon Stay in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were married in Tankah Bay on 11/12/2013 and decided after our wedding to stay at a resort in the Tulum area. We have been coming to area for many years and decided on The Beach Tulum based on reviews, location, and the amenities. We were not disappointed. Our superior room included a great rooftop with outdoor tub and sensational views. Staff was friendly. The rooms were nice and clean everyday. The breakfast was great. The energetico smoothies were a favorite of ours every morning. Only downsides were the rainy weather and our stay was only 3 days. I would recommend this for travelers looking to get a nice relaxing break away from all the stress that life can bring.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrockuni04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Tulum! On behalf on all the team here at The Beach Hotel, we wanted to say Gracias for being our guests and for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are so happy to know that we met your expectations and that you had such a wonderful time with us even though tyhe weather was not the best!. Thank you again for your lovely words describing our hotel. Look after yourselves and hopefully see you again on your next trip to beautiful Tulum.

Muchas gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    71
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
447
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The place is wonderful.. the reason I rated it as average because I think considering the comparative price of the superior rooms, it's only average value for money.. Beautiful rooms.. spotlessly clean.. although did smell a very damp on days when it was very humid. We had a superior room which comes with a roof terrace that has a stone bathtub and beds on it.. amazing for relaxing under the stars.. We were on a honeymoon and the red petals and bed decoration was wonderful so we left a great tip for the maid) We had a patio that lead right onto the beach and a jacuzzi tub for two.. It's these little extras that make it quite expensive.. however it's just about worth it. Friendly helpful staff, beautiful setting.. lovely pool.. although we had no use for that with such a wonderful ocean outside our door. To make this place truly value for money I think the following improvements could be made -
Patio furniture needed on our patio as well as little standard tables next to the beach beds.. ( I ordered drinks and felt uncomfortable as I had no place to set it down).
The hot water in the room didn't get hot enough.. on a few occasions we had lukewarm showers.. and when it was chilly in the evening this just wasn't good enough (I returned home with a cold)
The hotel could offer activity programming options such as morning yoga or meditation for a fee.
The sheets weren't very comfortable.. not nearly soft enough and the pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable
Ziggy Restaurant needs much better food, drinks and lighting - I wrote a separate review about that.

Having said all this I did love our big room, fluffy towels and jacuzzi tub.. it's beautiful here.. and I wold come back for sure... especially if these little improvements are made.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon at our Beach resort and taking the time to write a review. The whole staff always appreciates our guests' feedback which helps to understand where to improve or where we have done a good job.
We are certain that on your next visit to our Beach getaway you will see many improvements.

Best wishes and gracias!

Your The Beach Tulum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Beach Tulum in November with my parents and brother, and it was an amazing vacation, at least partly thanks to this wonderful hotel. The location is excellent, on a beautiful beach. It is quiet and all you can hear all day and night is the ocean - no traffic or loud music. The service was overall excellent, and especially Gabriella in the reception helped us out a lot. The restaurant staff were also always very friendly and helpful. The food at Ziggy's was very good, especially the breakfasts (which are included)! There are also lots of other great restaurant options along the beach. The pool area is beautiful, and very well maintained. The rooms are neat and clean, with beautiful views (we stayed in an upper floor deluxe room), and the only negative was that the wardrobes (at least in all three rooms that our family had booked) give off an awful, mildewy smell... The rooftop terrace (the upper floor rooms come with a private balcony and terrace) was beautiful, and the shaded balcony even better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaY-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you has such a good time with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Following a recent cultural tour of the Yucatan Peninsula, we rounded our break off with a stay at The Beach. We couldn't have found a better place for relaxing at the end of our hectic trip.

The resort of Tulum is not for everybody - but, if you are after relaxation and getting away from the crowds, this is your place. NO casinos; NO water parks; NO tower blocks; NO 'tacky' souvenir shops; NO pushy street-sellers - just small boutique hotels, a few bars and lots of sand.

The rooms at the beach were very cleverly designed, with wonderful sea views and excellent beach access, though furnished a little spartanly. Also, the Air conditioning was only available during the day, leading to some humidity issues.

However, overall our stay was enjoyable and we would like to say special thanks to the masseuse, Veronica and the beach-waiter, Gregorio.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience here with other travelers.
We are pleased to know that you had such a relaxing time at The Beach. Your feedback is the best compliment for us to keep up the good work and we are going to share this with all staff members. Thank you again and hopefully see you soon here at The Beach Tulum!

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at The Beach Tulum for our honeymoon and absolutely loved.
The room was clean, spacious, decorated for our honeymoon with flowers and we got a champagne as courtesy, the bed was really comfortable, very polite staff and also very helpful.
The breakfast is amazing and the location is perfect.
We had a massage on the beach with the main masseuse of the hotel and it was wonderful. We also did some day trips with the people that the Dan at the reception recommended and loved.
They organised a transfer to pick us up at the Cancun airport and also to take us to Holbox Island (3 hours away) and pick us up from there as well.
We don't have any complaint, except for the shower, the water could be a little bit more warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy you has such a good time with us and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Beach Tulum for 7 nights in mid November for our honeymoon. The hotel itself and the beach was beautiful! It was very classy but yet laid back which I adored. By the second day most of the staff knew our names which impressed me very much. Upon checking in we were given a fresh juice cocktail and they took our bags and showed us the room. Very minimilistic which was perfect...no distractions. I could usually pick up wi-fi on my phone in our room and on the beach but some people could only connect in the restaurant or in the lobby. Each room has a hammock and we stayed in the superior room that was right on the beach which you could see full view of the ocean either while laying in bed or in the bathtub or shower which was incredible. We also had a rooftop deck with two lounging beds and a soaking tub. It takes a while to fill and isn't very hot but it was nice. Breakfast is included at Ziggys (the restaurant at the hotel) with your stay and everything was great. You get a choice of one hot drink, one cold drink, and an entree. We ate lunch at Ziggys a couple of times and the tuna nachos were PHENOMENAL!! Seriously I will day dream about the nachos. The burger however was quite awful, the meat was formed different than a normal hamburger and tasted a little off. Greg, one of the waiters, was so nice! He, and others, would walk the beach during the day and take orders. The first time he came to our beach bed he introduced himself and shook my hand, so sweet! Happy hour is from 4-6 in the bar which we always took advantage of. Try the coco loco!

Now for the not so great things. The room, sheets, pillows, and everything else in the room was always damp. We tried putting the fan on high, leaving the screen door open to get a breeze and we still couldn't get anything to dry completely. It just makes everything uncomfortable. I know there's not much they can probably do about this but it's worth noting. The floor is always slimy and no matter how much you (there's a broom in the room) or the cleaning staff sweep there is always sand everywhere. Hot water is a hit or miss, sometimes there's none and sometimes there's plenty. We had went to dinner one night and brought back a bottle of wine that was half full and the cleaning staff took it the next day while cleaning! I was so upset as it was a nice bottle of wine. My husband went to ask the front desk about it and was told that they must have thought it was trash. I also had a massage from veronica who they work with at the hotel. She came to the room and I had the massage on the front deck. It was nice but probably the worst massage I've ever had. At $100 for 90 minutes I expected t it to be a little better. And last but not least when booking our room back in early summer I requested the honeymoon room decoration that they list on their website. (If you read the reviews it includes champagne, and flowers on the bed) I was really excited about this and didn't tell my fiance about it until we arrived in Mexico the day after our wedding. When checking in the lady asked why we were visiting and I told her it was our honeymoon, she said that they didn't know that and jotted it down. Of course when we arrived in our room it wasn't decorated. We decided to wait until later in the week to see if they would do it another night, when they hadn't by late in the week we went to ask about it. We did get it but it wasn't as special when you have to ask 3 or 4 times to make it happen. I had mentioned repeatedly in our correspondence that it was our honeymoon. It rained really bad three of the days we were there and the cleaning staff was pretty busy with leaks and whatnot so come 4 p.m one day we had to request for them to clean our room.

All in all it was a great honeymoon but I can't say that we would go back to The Beach Tulum.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all congratulations again on your marriage and thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are very sorry your honeymoon did not result in a perfect stay due to some situations we are about to verify with our housekeeping and front desk staff.
Unfortunately, the heavy and incessant rain we had this season in combination with the tropical heat created high levels of humidity, more than usual . Alas, it rained for weeks not allowing the heat and moisture to dissipate which resulted in the sensation of dampness you described in your review.
Again, we apologize if we did not meet your expectations but hope you will give us the opportunity and visit us again in the future hopefully with more sunshine than rain to see all our improvement.

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a really nice time here but the room, bed, blankets, pillows were all damp and musty and the tables and chairs were terribly dirty. Surprisingly the towels smelled fresh and were fluffy. There is a certain expectation that the room may be a bit humid in a tropical climate but it was really uncomfortable. The breakfast each morning was amazing. We enjoyed our dinners at Ziggy's but didn't love the selection. Everything was sweet on the entrée side. There was also a bit of a push to order more. The front desk staff was perfectly nice and the ladies who served breakfast were great. The water temperature in our room and on our roof tub was hit or miss. Sometimes we had no hot water, sometimes tons. It really depended on the day. All in all it was a great stay but again, the room just lacked a certain level of comfort.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get the room right on the beach. It feels like your own private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Beach Hotel and for your feedback.
Unfortunately, it is true that due to the incessant rain falls we had this season and the adjacency to the sea the humidity was felt everywhere, indoors and outdoors. Although our housekeeping staff has been doing all possible to keep the rooms ventilated and clean, mother nature has been inclement with us, this is probably why you could not fully enjoy our beach rooms.
We hope you will come an visit us for a second time when there is nothing but sunshine. Thank you again for all the nice words about our staff.

Muchas Gracias

Your The Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Property: The Beach Tulum
Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 20 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer 8 Deluxe Superior rooms with 1 King size bed 12 Deluxe rooms with 1 King size bed (6 Ground Floor & 6 First Floor) All Deluxe Superior/ Deluxe rooms are beach front and have access to a tropical garden & pool area. Enjoy free breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free bikes to tour Tulum, on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing