We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hornet's Nest”
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hornet's Nest”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family and I just returned from a four day stay at The Beach in Tulum and this hotel is not a good value. There are much better hotel options in Tulum at a lower cost. One of the biggest negatives of The Beach is uncomfortable rock hard lounging "beds" on the beach with no beach chairs or chaises. The other huge problem is that the restaurant Ziggy's has a major infestation of hornets. Every time we sat down for breakfast we were swarmed with hornets and wasps. The staff is very pleasant and nice, but the hotel is just not worth the money. The rooms are drab, dark and barren, and the beds and linens are not soft and inviting. We have been to Tulum several times and love it, but we would not stay at The Beach again. The rooms were expensive and not worth it. No senior management is on the premises and no one ever asked us if we were having a good experience. Very disappointing for a $600/night room rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry if your recent stay at our Beach resort was not your liking and welcome of course
any feedback which help us improve our service and standard.

Our bed loungers with beach pillows are usually very popular among our guests, so we feel sorry you have not found them as comfortable as other Hotel guests do.

With regards to Ziggy's, it is true that there are many bees in this time of the year but no hornets nest has been detected. However, we know out of experience, that the bees are attracted to sweet spreads like honey and marmalade especially during the breakfast hour. We understand that seeing the bees each morning might have created an inconvenience for you, however they do represent an environmental resource to the whole ecosystem this why we have never considered fumigation to solve the situation.
We are happy to read that you were pleased with our staff giving information and recommendation whenever you needed it.

We are sorry you did not forward your wish to meet our Hotel Director personally when you were here. We are certain he would have been delighted to meet you and speak to about your stay at The Beach Tulum.

Best regards,
The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    72
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
454
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel was a terrific introduction to Tulum. As someone who is used to 5-star travel I wasn't quite prepared for other Tulum full-on hippie/yogi accommodation, but The Beach might be considered hippie-luxe, appealing to those who are used to going to Ibiza or Bali, for example. Clean, modern, minimalist yet casual at the same time - completely lovely.

The front-of-house staff were so gracious and accommodating, answering all of our questions ranging from where to eat, eco tourism, habits of the locals, etc. The restaurant food is fabulous. There are lots of non-stinging wasps who like to try your jam, however! Be sure to try the chaya juice. And the fish tacos. And the molten chocolate dessert!

Our room had the perfect ocean view and roof-top terrace for sun-bathing, star-gazing or mediating. No phone. No TV. We relaxed SOOO completely.

Recommendations: be sure to bring all the bug defence you can - spray, arm bands, plug-in thingys, etc. We got eaten up at every restaurant we went to. Bring your favourite sun-screen, as it's hard to find good stuff nearby.

Highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your lovely words and for being our guest at The Beach Tulum.
We feel honored and happy to read that you had such a relaxing time with us and that you could enjoy Tulum so much.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Thank you again y muchas gracias!

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Most of the glowing words of adoration I could pour forth regarding The Beach have already been shared by other reviewers who had wonderful experiences - a testament to the staff and establishment (I've also never posted anything on TripAdvisor, but The Beach was so great that I had to do it!)

My wife and I could not have envisioned a more perfect place for our honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Tulum previously and The Beach truly welcomed us and made our stay something we will treasure forever.

Highlights:
-Rooms: huge, spotlessly clean, beach access (also: we could spend a whole week sitting on the rooftop patio watching pelicans and other assorted ocean birds cruise back and forth along the coastline with the trees rustling)

-Location: Convenient for Ziggy's (great food) and other restaurants (Recommendations from The Beach staff to check out Hartwood and Simple did not disappoint). The water the property fronts is perfect (bonus: the fresh water springs that bubble up just off shore)

-Staff: Always 100% ready to help with a smile - recommendations, explanations, stories. (During our stay Neri, Silvina, Juan, Abraham, Leonardo and Jose Luis all really made impressions!)

Randoms:
-Crabs crossing from the mangroves to the ocean through Ziggy's during dinner kept me absurdly entertained (I admit a level of simple-mindedness, but I attribute my bemusement of the nightly crossings to my level of relaxation). Perhaps not as majestic as turtles laying eggs, but hey- those crabs got personality!

-Don't forget your sunscreen: we were lazy and decided to purchase it from Ana y Jose. Pricey mistake.

-Don't skip a Cenote tour.

Thank you thank you thank you to everyone at The Beach...we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristopherDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for spending your honeymoon with us and for leaving such a wonderful review. It makes our day to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you had such an memorable time at our Beach resort.
We hope to welcome you back next year for your first anniversary or whenever you can come back to beautiful Tulum!

Gracias
Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at the end of December, our first stay in Tulum. Although we had a great experience, (for the most part), the "high season" room rate price hike left us feeling a bit let down, in terms of "value for money". First, the good; rooms were nice, bed was soft, and bathroom was huge. The covered patio, (2nd floor deluxe room) was great for getting out of the rain, but remaining out-doors. The beach area was clean, every day, and the staff was helpful in getting our bearings, this being our first time in Tulum. The hotel is easy to access with a nice sized parking area for taxis & such, and is "close" to several nice restaurants. Wifi was handy, though a little unreliable. Now, the bad; breakfast = wasps. They were ever-present and persistent which really ruins the outdoor dining experience. Never had issues with wasps at any other hotel in Mexico. Next, service at Ziggy's is SLOW. While you may say this isn't the hotel's fault, they are affiliated, and thus share some of the blame. It would often be an hour, or more, from ordering drinks or food to receiving them, particularly on the beach. Speaking of the beach, this hotel seems to prefer beds, instead of chairs. How about having some nice chairs, like other next-door hotels. Air conditioning... we knew it ahead of time, but the whole 7:15 pm - 7:00 am thing can be a little frustrating. The AC had a habit of turning off throughout the night, requiring someone in bed to have to get up and turn it back on, again. A small mini-fridge would have been nice, given the lack of ability to get (or keep) anything cold in a timely manner. At nearly $500 per night, I expected a lot more. Would I go, again? Not at that price... perhaps for half that price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobMu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Beach Tulum and for giving us your feedback about the service and our amenities. We will consider your suggestions and forward your comments as well to the restaurant manager.
As far as the rates are concerned, you stayed with us during peak season, which is Christmas Holidays. Please check our website for our high season or Summer rates and Special offers.

Thank you

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel was different than any other place I have ever been. There was a luxurious, yet rustic feel to our time there. No TV, limited air-conditioning, limited wifi, comfortable bed, breezy beach, wonderful service. Would love to go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on second floor have an additional deck with bed and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and lovely comment about your recent stay with us. We are flattered to read that you had such a unique and wonderful experience at our Beach Hotel and that we fulfilled all your expectations.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon and be of your service again her in beautiful Tulum!

Thank you and muchas gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second time staying here. First time was great, so we went with them again. The staff were more than accomidating, they will do anything in their power to help you. We booked all of our excursions (Coba, Snorkleing) through the hotel, and every excursion was unforgetable. All we had to do was be in the lobby at the agreed upon time, and there would be someone waiting to pick us up. Our room was cleaned spotless everyday. Breakfast menu from Ziggy's has lots of delicious meals to choose from, which is great if you are breakfast people like we are. It really makes it easy knowing that a great breakfast is right there, included, especially if you have an early excursion, no early morning decisions.
Only thing is, for the price, they should have wi-fi in your room and terrace. I like to "unplug", but I didn't want to go to the lobby everytime I needed to use it, like checking trip advisor to choose a new restaurant or activity.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iforgetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

we are honored to read about your second experience at our Beach Hotel and are so happy to receive your feedback again. It is our commitment to create a memorable atmosphere to our guests. Moreover, our staff is always aware of the different needs of our guests whose satisfaction and enjoyment are paramount to us.
Again, thank you very much and hopefully see you again in the near future.

Best wishes and muchas gracias,

Your The Beach Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had booked a stay at Cabanas Tulum, I was not happy with the bed situation (we were 3 ) so Dan, the most kind and helpful manager moved us over to The Beach with an increase in price, but I was willing to pay it for the more satisfactory room..
The room was directly on the sand, it was quite comfortable , the outdoor area was nice, a hammock, table , chairs and a day bed.
Breakfast was included and the choices were great. They had a variety of fresh juice drinks, smoothies , coffee etc..along with all kinds of egg dishes.
You could eat at table right on the sand which was lovely ..if you do not like bees, they do tend to surround anything sweet you are eating, I used an open jam packet to lure them away .
Ziggys, the bar beach club was always busy , but, the service was great the waitstaff very
helpful.and the food came out quickly.
We ate lunch there a few times and I really enjoyed the Panamian Ceviche made with grouper .
Their chips and dips were super and at happy hour all drinks were two for the price of one.
The room was kept very clean and each day a wonderful towel creature would be placed on our bed.
The beach was kept spotless, something you would appreciate as if you walked down the beach in some areas the seaweed was thick on the sand and the collection of plastic caught in it was appalling. We did see crews picking out the plastic and sorting it to throw away? recycle? I am not sure, but, it really is sad to see ...another reason to avoid plastic products and be aware of where they end up if not recycled.
the hotel fronted a beach with many palm trees that provided shade and enough loungers and beds to choose from, so you did not have to worry about where to place you towel for the day.
The waitstaff walked up the beach with menus and you could order and the food would be brought to you.
The hotel was run like a 5 star resort , but, it had a casual and semi rustic atmosphere , not a lot of bells and whistles. I appreciated this, and chose Tulum because there are no large resorts in the town.
Also, in this particular hotel, no small children are allowed to stay, but kids are allowed at Ziggy's Beach Club so at times there was a crowd of people with small children there.

The staff was incredible, the front desk very helpful, everyone had a smile on their face and you felt it was genuine.
Taxis were plentiful, in fact , we had planned to rent a car, but changed our minds. We did go into Tulum Pueblo two times, once for dinner and once just to look around..
We stayed a week , enough time to see some sights, enjoy good food and just relax..
Some of the staff that made the stay memorable:
Alfredo
Sylvania
Roman
Jeronimo
Leonardo
Jorge
and Dan, the manager
However, they were all professional and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, but I would say that further away from Ziggys would be a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to read about your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Boutique Hotel. Thank you also for your special chorus of praise about our staff members, everyone has appreciated it very much.
We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future and will make sure you feel our Mexican warmth and sincere hospitality.

Best wishes and muchas gracias

Your The Beach Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Property: The Beach Tulum
Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 28 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer ground floor Deluxe rooms, Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms and Junior Suites with private heated plunge pool. All rooms have 1 king size bed and are beachfront. Enjoy complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free use of our bikes to tour Tulum, daily on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing