We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream”
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Beach Tulum
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel online looking for something a little more exotic and relaxing than the big resorts in Cancun. What we found was a tropical paradise. AMAZING! I was skeptical as to whether the website photos were going to be true to the real thing. In reality, you can't capture the beauty and serenity of this hotel. It's a fairly new hotel. We stayed in a superior room for 4 nights. It was spacious and serene. I loved the simple beachy spa like decor. The bed was a little firm, but I liked it. Sleep in the hammock if you don't like firm, this place is a dream. The first thing we did every morning was open the patio doors so we could slowly wake to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. you could literally run 20 feet and jump in the ocean. The water was warm and clear and the sand was soft and white. The staff was amazing. The response to everything we needed was, "no problem." The concierge will be your lifeline especially if you don't speak Spanish. They helped us with everything. Definitely use the car service that the hotel mentions on the website. It's convenient, safe, and reliable. The restaurant was convenient and delicious as well. Breakfast is included with the room as is a bottled water everyday. It was perfect. The staff in the restaurant was also amazing. Be patient bc not everyone speaks English, but rest assured that they are getting someone who does. There were many beautiful resorts along the beach, but I didn't see any that gave each room their own beach entrance like the rooms at this hotel. We walked the beach home every night. This hotel and beach reminded me of the place Bella and Edward stayed on their honeymoon in the Twilight movie. Also, bring PESOS. The hotel accepts credit card, but the tours and restaurants throughout the town do NOT. And if you can, bring smaller pesos like hundreds because getting change was the only inconvenience I encountered on this trip. We walked everywhere and rented a bike one day, but taxis are an option and they rarely had change either. You'll find this vacation relaxing, fun, and full of culture. Tulum will change you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review. Thank you for sharing your experience and for describing our Hotel & staff so well. We are really touched by your words and enthusiastic to hear we exceeded your expectations, especially as this was your first time in beautiful Tulum.
Hopefully we have the pleasure to see you again in the future and show you more of our Mexican hospitality.

Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed at The Beach Tulum after 3 nights in Cancun. We felt relaxed and welcome from the minute we arrived. Both reception girls were lovely and extremely helpful. We booked a Superior room and we were happy with the space, facilities and most of all the view and closeness to the beach. We didn't use the roof terrace as it wasn't shaded and was too hot The only problem we encountered was the air conditioning didn't work for the 7 nights we were there. One reason we chose this resort was the air conditioning and we were advised that it was working at 80% but it wasn't working at all. Management recognised our disappointment and made amends for this. The rooms were spotlessly clean, all facilities were great and nothing was too much trouble. Barbara the bar tender was great, such a warm friendly. It was the sort of place that you could use as a base to explore and experience the region or you could stay at the resort and do nothing but relax. A fridge in the room would have been good.

Room Tip: I would chose a superior room again as it was more private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytraveller5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Beach Tulum and for taking the time to share your experience with others potential Tulum travelers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Unfortunately, we could not foresee the technical situation of the air conditioning but we are glad you reached out to us while you stayed with us so we could find a solution. Your feedback helps us improve and make corrections.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future here at The Beach Tulum.

Thank you

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here the second week of June. I had agonized over picking the right hotel, and finally picked this one. So glad we did!! We actually stayed the first 3 nights at Cabanas Tulum next door, and then moved to the Beach for 5 nights. They were both excellent. The staff at both places were really great, genuinely friendly and full of helpful suggestions. When it came time to switch hotels, we packed up our bags, and upon check-in at the Beach, our bags were in our new room.

The breakfast every morning was really good. What's better than eating breakfast on the beach every day? The breakfast is included with the room, and is a full breakfast, including coffee, juice, and whatever you want to pick from the menu, which has so many different options. And it's served until noon so you can sleep late. We had lunch at the restaurant once, and recommend the fish tacos. If you like tequila, the tequila tasting is a great deal. $20 USD for tasting of several different tequilas, three different margaritas, and lots of great information.

At Cabanas Tulum, we chose a beachfront room on the ground floor. The room was quite large, with our own little patio including two chairs and a hammock, and a little water basin at the front to wash the sand off our feet. The bathroom was also very roomy and nice. The room is simple, but just perfect for us. We don't want to watch tv while on vacation! We had checked in very late (around midnight) so the receptionist was gone, but the security guards took care of us and got us set up in our room, along with a welcome letter that explained everything we needed to know.

At the Beach, we chose a beachfront deluxe top floor room, which was really fantastic. We loved the way the room is set up, with an opening between the bedroom and the shower so that you can look out at the ocean while you shower, and while you sit in bed. We enjoyed spending time on the balcony, which had a hammock, chairs and a table, and a nice bench with a cushion. At night, we sat on the lounging bed on our private roof deck and watched the stars. The only thing we didn’t like about the rooms (at both hotels) was the pillows. I’ll bring my own next time, as they were not comfortable at all. The beds, however, were comfortable, and we liked the luxury of a king size bed.

The best part though, was the staff. From Aubrey and Adriana at Cabanas to Mariana and Silvina at the Beach, Barbara the bartender at the Beach, and the bar manager (whose name escapes me), who also hosted the tequila tasting, everyone was incredibly friendly and nice. While we were there, another couple was getting married, and we saw the staff preparing their room with rose petals, and towels in the shape of swans kissing. I joked that we didn’t have that in our room, and we were on our honeymoon. My husband mentioned this to the girls at the front desk, and when we got back from dinner the next night, our room as fully decorated as well. They made us feel so special the whole time, always remembering our names (even the bellboy!) and always smiling. I couldn’t have imagined a better honeymoon!

Room Tip: If you can splurge on the beachfront rooms, do it! And the top floor is great because you get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow what a review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others and for your positive feedback about our Hotel and staff. We are overjoyed to hear that you spent such a wonderful honeymoon at our Hotel.
Thank you so much, we make sure your high chorus of praise will reach all staff members. Hopefully see you again in the future!



Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at The Beach Tulum for a wedding weekend back in early May and it was a fantastic experience. Air Conditioning at night was a major bonus (most hotels don't have A/C), complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's was a generous portion with a full menu of options, and the customer service was top notch. After talking to many other wedding guests, it was clear that we got the best deal for our money since many others paid twice the amount for similar luxuries.

One last added bonus: 2 for 1 Happy Hour every day at Ziggy's!

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter and off the beach from the foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that you had such a good time with the wedding group. We are so happy you felt so much at ease with our staff and could fully enjoy our amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience here with other potential Tulum travelers.

Gracias

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Beach for 1 week in late May and from the moment we arrived we had the most magical experience. The location of the hotel is second to none but what really makes the place are the staff. Every member of staff was so attentive and constantly smiling. They made our stay memorable and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your your recent stay at The Beach Tulum.
Your feedback and your beautiful description of our Boutique Hotel and staff made everyone very proud and happy. It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to your return visit on our beaches

Thank you

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location on beautiful sandy beach, 10 meters away from sea. Stylish rooms albeit looking a little tired towards end of season, but spotlessly clean. Very helpful and friendly staff, food at next door ziggy's could have been better in quality and more varied, but plenty of eating alternatives nearby.

Only criticisms were that all pillows were like lumpy rocks and need replacing and difficult to access wifi in rooms or on beach.

We would return however.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Smersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Boutique Hotel and for your helpful feedback.
We are actually working on a better WiFi connection in all our rooms and appreciate your comments about how to improve the sleeping quality of our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and show you all our improvements.

Thank you

Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were married in Isla Mujeres but had our honeymoon in Tulum. I agonized for months via TA trying to decide on which hotel to stay at in Tulum. I kept coming back to The Beach Tulum but remained undecided for along time. Finally I bit the bullet and booked the room at The Beach Tulum.
Now, I can not figure out what took me so long to make up my mind! What a great place! It had everything we could want in Tulum with beautiful ocean front rooms, roof top terrace for star gazing, wonderful beach, AC and pool. The one thing it lacked was a refrigerator as my husband had a medication that need refrigeration. But this was easily solved as Geronimo our wonderful bell man found us a nice cooler to replace the cheap one we bought and daily drained it and filled it with ice.
The thing we were most impressed by was the attention to detail. Nothing was left undone or unkept. You can tell that all the staff was well trained from the lovely hostess at the front desk, to Barbara our mixologist running the bar to Geronimo. No request was too small or too large for the staff to handle. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we had a fantastic honeymoon. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Tulum!

Room Tip: We had the superior deluxe room whiich had the pool entrance off the bathroom, the beach front off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum_TB_CT, Public Relations Manager at The Beach Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Beach Tulum for your honeymoon destination in Tulum and congratulations again on behalf of the whole team.
It was our pleasure having you as our guests and providing the best comfort and exceptional service on this special vacation.
Hopefully we have the pleasure to welcome you back here in paradise for your first anniversary celebration.

Thank you
Your The Beach Tulum Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 98 in Tulum
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 98 in Tulum
822 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £397 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 28 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer ground floor Deluxe rooms, Rooftop Jacuzzi rooms and Junior Suites with private heated plunge pool. All rooms have 1 king size bed and are beachfront. Enjoy complimentary breakfast at Ziggy's or Fresco's, free use of our bikes to tour Tulum, daily on site yoga classes available, on site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing