We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, awesome WiFi, & hot showers!”

Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya
Ranked #54 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What more could a backpacker want? When we arrived we were planning to stay at a hostel, wanting to stick to a lower budget but we popped in to reception at Hotel Mundo Maya and were greeted warmly and shown a private room that had its own bathroom, AC, fan, tv, and fast internet. We got the room for 5 nights and paid 400 pesos for the room per night. We met another couple looking for a place and we decided to share the two beds in the room and it made for a very affordable and comfortable stay. The rooms were cleaned for us daily, new sheets, toilet paper, soap, etc. It felt like a mini-vacation amongst our months of traveling. They do not have a restaurant at the hotel, but it's on the main strip so you can find a ton of great options nearby. Our favorite breakfast (and dinner) spot was Rincon Chiapaneco and then be sure to stop for a paleta or scoop of gelato at Flor de Michoacan! Love the city of Tulum; can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If available, try to get a room upstairs so you are closer to the WiFi connection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazYamorMyCoTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

We found this place just walking down the main street in Tulum, after seeing some terrible rooms in Weary Traveler Hostel.

For 400 pesos a night we got a huge room with AC, bathroom and TV, room cleaning and new towels and sheets daily, strong wifi. It was great! It is close to everything, 7 min to bus station, it has restaurants and dive shops nearby, the supermarket Chedraui is about 15min walk away. The owner is really nice and is always on the premises (just don't believe him when he says that it's 80 pesos for a taxi ride to the ruins, you can get there for 40 pesos or maybe less).

For awesome food (and terrible service) go to El carboncito (on the other end of Av Tulum), for great icecream and popsicles go to Flor de Michoacan, right in front of the bus station. And go diving or at least snorkeling in the cenotes, it is pure magic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is further from the main street as it is pretty noise out there until late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarisaN94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gibran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Liliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HERBERT-Ubajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#43 of 98 in Tulum
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coco Hacienda Tulum
Coco Hacienda Tulum
#23 of 98 in Tulum
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 98 in Tulum
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ContainME Eco Chic Hotel
ContainME Eco Chic Hotel
#74 of 134 in Tulum
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#29 of 134 in Tulum
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Hotelito
L'Hotelito
#60 of 90 in Tulum
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hostel Mundo Maya

Address: Av. Tulum / Beta y Orion, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £20 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing