We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A host that possibly beats out the view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #4 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A host that possibly beats out the view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friends and I stayed at Xcanan this last weekend and absolutely loved every minute of it. From the moment we arrived early with too much luggage, Fabio, the AMAZING owner, found us a lovely place in the sun, (and shade) and a safe place for our bags. The room was basic but had all you would need for a weekend stay.. including lazy hammocks and a view of the tourquoise sea.

As a note; Be sure to pack ice. There are no fridges or fan in the room. There is, however, a cooler provided and you can find ice at a near by location.

Above all, the location and a caring owner make this place truly stand out. It's nice to find an affordable, yet comfortable, spot on the sought-after strip. We didn't leave the property (because of the prime location) until 6pm on our final day. Fabio took our belongings, (in to his own home to ensure security), and happily offered all he could while we enjoyed his beach chairs and the company of his three dogs.

I will stay here again and happily recommend to others.

Muchas gracias Fabio!

Room Tip: no restaurant, but plenty near by.. ask for the casa right on the beach. lovely, lovely place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherishthejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I came to Playa Xcanan in Tulum as our first destination in Mexico, and from the moment we arrived we didn't want to leave!
We came when it was already dark. Fabio, one of the nicest people I got to know, was waiting for us and showed us the clean room with the beautiful view to the coconut trees and the sea. Since it was dark, we could only hear the waves and see the sky which was full of stars!
We woke up on sunrise then went a few steps and saw the most beautiful beach I have ever seen (and I have been to a few) :)
the amazing color of the water, the white sand and the coconut trees combining with the quiet resort and wonderful hospitality of Fabio made our days in Tulum the most unforgettable days in our vacation in Mexico.
So Thank you Fabio and hopefully we will meet again!

Room Tip: We were in a cabin in the second floor. it was isolated and exactly what we were hoping for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShokoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Each room including ground floor has a sea view. Beds are way more comfortable than any Riviera Maya hotel I tried. Electricity is 24 hrs and there are electrical outlets on the walls (rarity in Tulum!). Hotel owner Fabio was so kind - he placed wi-fi router in our room. Internet was as stable as at home. Hotel has no restaurant, but sutuated directly across from amazing Hartwood. This was by far best and most comfortable stay I ever had in Tulum, Riviera Maya and Mexico. To be honest I am hesitating to share such gem as Playa Xcanan with all of you. What if it gets too busy and I can't get back there anymore? :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert7777SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MINNESOTA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

First of all, thank you to Fabio!!! You rock my friend! We had just pulled in to the parking area and the first person we saw was Fabio. He gave a big welcome and promptly had our stuff up to our very cool room! We had the 2nd story room in the main cabana, I will refer to it as the" tiger picture" room as seen on the web. This is one of the the best rooms on the property. We were so pleased with the room and view Fabio reserved for us. The location on the beach is perfect! We have stayed on a property next door, and a couple others years ago, but this was perfect spot to celebrate 20 years of marriage and re-live the Tulum days of years gone by. We enjoyed hot water, electric service, coffee and tea in the morning(and delivered to our room on a rainy morning), and overall secure, friendly, and pleasant service on our stay. The property is again, located in a great area, with Casa Bananas, Hartwood, and many other "tourist restaurants",but good, in the immediate area. Tulum is Bohemia to the max these days but still cool. People from all over the world have found this beautiful oasis and have been populating every option, but Playa Xcanan is the real deal and what we see real Tulum beach to be. If you want a great location, room, and host, get in touch with Fabio and book a room at Xcanan! Sounds of the waves, sweet sunrises, swaying palms and cool white sand beach......what! Book it!
See you next year Fabio, thanks for everything!!!
-Slacks

Room Tip: Tiger pic room is awesome. All rooms looked to be very cool. A cup of coffee on the beach in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEXISLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hi i wanted to write few words about this place. This Cabanas is absolutely something uniq, not just because it´s super beautiful, but the owner Fabio is the most pleasent guy in the world. He really makes you feel like welcome and home. I love this place and i will definitely go back when ever i go to Tulum again. Many thanks Fabio for the great time we had at your place. All the best,Julius

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, view to the beach.. And the beach itself is really amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliusCaesarHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Tulum beach may be overdeveloped but there are still places like Playa Xcanan (dont attempt to pronounce) that offer a low key and super friendly beach recluse experience, with all the basic comforts (electricity, internet) at very reasonable prices. The owner/manager Fabio and his friend, Mickey are doing thier utmost to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. The cabanas are right on the picture perfect beach (we observed some model agency taking shots of a bikini model seated on the leaning palm tree right in front of our cabana, its that picturesque). The only drawback is the same as with all other Tulum beach places: the town is some 8-10 km away and taxis are very overpriced, so its best to come with your own vehicle (or count on Fabio to help you out...). All in all, Playa Xcanan is much better quality than other places in the same price range, and at the same time much more low-key, relaxed and "authentic" than the expensive resorts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the standalone thached roof cabana that is not available in Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were initially hesitant to stay here because there were so few reviews. After our first night here, we were able to change our other booking to stay here one more night. We loved it. Large, clean, comfortable room, hot water, and sleeping with the sound of the waves and ocean breeze was wonderful. All the rooms are on the beach; ours was the furthest back but we still could see the beach, hear the waves and get the breeze. The bathroom was also very clean with a large shower with sliding doors. The room had screens so we had no issues with mosquitos. Fabio was everything you could wish for in a host: friendly, warm, relaxed, helpful and flexible. He greeted us by name as soon as we arrived. We could not have asked for more. I hope we get a chance to come back and stay with Fabio again. Muchas gracias for everything Fabio!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gnatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum

Property: Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Address: Km 8, carretera Tulum - Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing