We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Ranked #4 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

For what we paid - relative to US and Mexican prices - this was quite reasonable. ~$100 per night. We had the ground level bungalow room that's closest to the beach (right on/in the beach if I'm being honest). It's comfortable. No AC. But I think that's standard of the area. You need to leave the door open at night to let the air through. One word of warning....if you can't stand cockroaches, this place is not for you. Fabio and the guys running the place are super helpful at removing creepy crawlies...but if you're like my room mate who can't even stand to think that one had been in the same room as her...it's not worth it. One thing worth mentioning is that the guys prepare breakfast every morning and set it out in front of the cabana.

You need to pay cash on check out! Bring US dollars!!

I loved this place. Thing you should realise about Tulum, is that there isn't a "centre" along the beach...so unless you're comfortable with your partners thoughts...or your own for that matter, maybe consider Playa Del Carmen. As it stood we were 2 single girls looking to break loose. Granted - we did uncover a local rave in the Tulum Cenotes....so don think you have a place necessarily figure out from the get go!!

We did a tour to Chichen Itza using iTours in Tulum. DO NOT DO IT!! If you must, get a private guide. It was a complete waste of time. We got no information whatsoever about the ruins. It was a whole day long and brutally disappointing.

Spend some time to see the ruins in Tulum. We did it on our last day and I wish we'd done it sooner.

Some great restaurants in the area...Casa Banana, le zebra and Hartwood...being just 3.

WIFI is available in the cabanas for free and there are 3 different banks in the town if you need to withdraw cash.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Hongkongfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The good:
- Fabio and the staff are very nice
- The beach is incredibly nice in this area
- The included breakfast was good
- The rooms were cleaned every morning
- They provide coolers to keep beverages cool during your stay

The bad:
- During our stay we went two days without hot water and the shower was little more than a trickle, whether it was hot or cold.
- The room doors do not lock. A little concerning when you are out seeing the sights and don’t want to have to think about the stuff you left back in your room.
- There are no light fixtures in the rooms, just bare light bulbs on the end of electrical cords sticking out of the wall.
- After a morning of sightseeing we came back to the hotel looking forward to spending the afternoon on the beach only to find about 12 people taking up all of the beach chairs and the seating in the palapas. The hotel allows the use of the grounds and beach by tour groups.
- The beds were hard and the seating provided in the room was not comfortable.
- There were rust stains on our wall and our screen door needed some repair.
- Much of the outdoor seating needs replacing or at the very least a good scrubbing.

For the price we paid the place was a bit too rustic. We have stayed in cabanas in Nicaragua for half the price which were twice as nice. In our opinion, this place needs some improvements for the price they charge or they need to lower their cost to make it worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caesar1pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had such a lovely, relaxing time staying here for a week with a large group of friends spread across a few of the rooms.

All the basics are covered (although we did only have a shower curtain for a bathroom door, which took a bit of getting used to) the rooms are clean, tidy and serviced every morning. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Fabio who arranged breakfast every morning and seemed to appear out of nowhere the minute we had any questions or needed a hand with anything.

We woke up to a beautiful view of the sunrise, had a relaxing breakfast on one of the sets of chairs and tables dotted around the beachfront, followed by a swim on the beach before we decided what to do with the day. It didn't have a restaurant or bar, but there are lots of options up and down the beach nearby and it meant that the only people on the property were the ones staying there.

If I return to Tulum, I would definitely go back to Playa Xcanan Cabanas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the moment we arrived to Playa Xcanan, I knew we had found paradise. Even though this is one of the less expensive places to stay (especially in low-season), I truly believe it's one of the best in Tulum. Unlike most of the other hotels, the beachfront doesn't have an excessive number of tanning chairs/beds, so it never feels packed. The rooms aren't luxurious, but they're cozy and clean and everything you'd want out of a cabana in paradise. The location is perfect – central to everything, yet also very quiet.

Owner Fabio and his staff were warm and attentive hosts. Coffee awaits you outside when you wake up, promptly followed by an array of goodies for breakfast. Yet I have to say my favorite feature would be the three dogs that live at Xcanan (lucky things) – Jimi Hendrix, Playa and Chuck.

Wifi WAS a bit spotty, but you can pick it up in certain spots to check email, ect. intermittently. We found a sweet spot in our Cabana towards the end and were even able to stream movies at night.

Thank you Fabio! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was here for one night in January. The feeling is more of a bed and breakfast as the owner, Fabio, lives there and is is wonderful and always there to help. The room was large with an open bathroom and the most fantastic porch and view. Tulum is wonderful for certain people but is not for everyone. If you require luxury, including air conditioning, it's better to go to a resort as you will likely not enjoy Tulum in general. However for a simple room on the beach with an incredible view Xcanan is perfect. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingstupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The owner fabio couldnt have been more amazing and hardworking and helpful. He made sure that our entire trip went as smoothly as possible. It felt like we were staying with a family but with our own privacy.

The beach view is stunning and the hotel grounds are the soft powdery sand itself. Only problem we had was with the wi-fi, which shouldnt really matter when you're in that beautiful a setting!

We are absolutely going back to this hotel and look forward to seeing fabio again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a great set up Fabio has made of this place! 6 bungalow/appartments on a beautifull stretch of beach, white sand from your front door all the way to the waterline, little private lounge seats where a great breakfast is served. Fabio makes you feel at home soon after your arrival and looks after you during your stay. A large cooler with ice to cool your brought along wine/beers will be arranged in no time. The rooms are spacious with 2 good size-double beds, warm and strong shower, and above all atmospheric. There's a dive shop 100m further on the beach, and plenty of restaurants (Fabio only serves breakfast) within a few minutes walking

We can certainly advise everybody to go there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum

Property: Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
Address: Km 8, carretera Tulum - Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing