We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay ! Enjoy lots of savings and services at good price in a great ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Weary Traveler Hostel
Ranked #24 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent stay ! Enjoy lots of savings and services at good price in a great ambiance”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the weary traveller hostel.
The best point is definitely the ambiance : easily meet tons of other backpackers from all around the world.
Facilities are clean and in good state. Bedrooms and bathroom are ok.
They have a private bus that takes you to and from the beach in the morning and afternoon for free (taxi is 50 pesos).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarabe2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    89
    66
    48
    47
See reviews for
4
78
103
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

In comparision to other hostels I've seen the last month in Mexico, this is definitely one of the worst.

The staff is not really friendly neither helpful. Shower and toilet was dirty, walls could use some fresh color. The facilities are under permanent construction, so it's noisy the whole day. And because the community is sitting right in front of the door, it's noisy in the night, too. The lockers are out of some loose planks though not very trusty. There was some strong chemical smell around because some wall got some color that time (while peoply occupied the room).
The transfer to the beach is said to be free but I didn't use it. I'm not like spending all my days at the beach and when I liked to go there, the departure time was not the right or me, so I just got a cheap collectivo to the beach.
Breakfast is a mess.
This is subjective but the people weren't really my thing. After all this might be a good place to just get drunk and hang around-.

But some advantages: it's really close to ADO terminal and the dorm only took 5 beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Handy hostel for Tulum, right beside the bus terminal. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the beach which is great and a good breakfast (pancakes, or eggs etc) is included. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a really good BBQ available every night (65Pesos for a burger, salad and 2 beers!!). The dorms are ok, bit stuffy and tight for space, but decent enough, with en-suite bathrooms and fans. The private rooms are not in the main hostel but across the street as far as I know.

It's a bit noisy at night (music quietens down around 11/12) so if you're not up for socialising this might not be the place for you, however if you want to meet people and have the craic this is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

When yu come to theWeary Traveler as a couple wanting a private room, they now tell you they have them across the street; however, they end up being 3 blocks away. Number 6 had no hot water in the shower and the A/C didn't work; not counting the fact that yu had to put up 200 pesos depeosit on your sheets.forthe price of $32 usd? You can do much better at the Maya Hotel in Tulum w/hot water shower, A/C, TV, and no deposit ofr $400 pesos (25 more than at Weary traveler) If you are single and only want a dorm room, then Weary Traveler is OK for the $12 charged. But I don't recommend couples rooms in that delapodated old hotel 3 blocks away!

Room Tip: Yu can find a much better room at the Mayan Hotel for similar prices on main drag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This has to be the best hostel ever! Great atmosphere, clean, air conditioned. The back yard has a grill so you can cook your eggs in the morning and grill a burger in the evening. Lots of friendly people here and the atmosphere was really cool as well.All the staff are very friendly and helpful and theres a free bus twice a day which runs to the beach which is great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We moved from the Casa del Sol Hostel and stayed in a under maintained very basic private double in a separate building (no facilities) across the main road and around the corner. The room was not very nice and the building old and desolate. You have to carry your bedding including pillows and towels with you and return them at checkout. Our linen had cigarette burn holes and washed in big stains in it. As a double room it would have been nice if they had made up the room too, as they offered to do so! We did complain about the state of the bedding and got a discount. The ensuite bathroom was ok but the shower had no head, which they did replace and the curtain was black with mould. They also replaced this. They did not clean the room once in 3 days despite telling us to select the 'clean room' option on the PC, which we did everyday day as well as requesting in person! Breakfast is included and is good. You can cook your own eggs or French toast or have cereal. It's all computerised, including self checkout. The kitchen is huge with free pasta, rice and lentils. But the taco restaurant next door was so good we didn't really cook. The best thing about the Weary Traveller is the free shuttle to and from the beach! The beach is amazing and you can walk to the ruins which we really enjoyed. There is a good laundry near the hostel. Overall hostels in Tulum were not very good. They are great to meet people but the owners don't care and they are far more basic than many other hostels we have stayed in. Still, it's right near the bus terminal which was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This could be such a great place if the owners just invested a little more. The mattresses are really terrible with springs sticking out which make you scared to get pinched while you sleep. The bedclothes are terrible one piece thing with sheet and cover sawn together and sawn in pillow case. Very uncomfortable but I understand the benefit for the cleaner as each person removes and put on their own bedding. Free towels which is good. Very nice café next door. Free breakfast, water refill and transport to the beach. We tried dorm and private rooms. The dorms are small for the 6 people that they sleep and with some very squeeky metal bunkbeds. However the private rooms have the same kind of weird extremely high beds of metal and very bad mattress. The courtyard can get noisy hoever the fan in the room is noiser. The staff are wonderful and kind of makes up for theses things.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 123 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 123 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#35 of 123 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#29 of 123 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#10 of 123 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Property: Weary Traveler Hostel
Address: Calle Polar | con Calle Beta Norte, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Weary Traveler Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum was started by backpackers for backpackers back in the year 2000. The hostel was built around what they themselves wanted to find in a good hostel when they were traveling. A good social vibe A book exchange A bar with backpacker prices Communal Kitchen (loaded with free spices, salt, pepper) Full Cook Your Own Breakfast Free Rice, Pasta and lentils for dinner Good Advice on Tours and Activities Some aspects of the Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum appear to be unique but they are not. Many of them came from other hostels where we had stayed long before we dreamed of opening a hostel in Tulum. For example the Burn Your Own BBQ was inspired by the Bondi Beach Hotel's incredible steak barbi setup inside the bar. Huge, beautiful cuts of beef were in a display fridge that was part of the bar. You would say, "Yeah, give me that one!" and huge chunk of raw red meat came at you on a platter. It was your job to cook it how you wanted it. The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum has changed, evolved, gone back to our roots and changed again and again over the years. We have always tried to evolve as a hostel, stay ahead of the competition and anticipated the changing needs and desires of our guests. So welcome to The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum, mi casa es su casa! John, one of the originals from way back when. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing