We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, noisy and smelly, couldnt bring myself to even stay there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weary Traveler Hostel
Ranked #22 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly, noisy and smelly, couldnt bring myself to even stay there.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I had heard a lot of 'good things' about this place, and I really wanted to like it.
Upon walking in and saying hello, the front desk person, a young mexican girl, seemed to feel like she was doing me a huge favor by acknowledging my presence, and she seemed either tired or stoned and either way she was completely apathetic.

I asked to see the room for myself and my friends, on the way to the room there were about 30 young folks partying it up right outside the room she was showing me, which I acutually wouldnt mind too much as I am also young and like to party although i would have preferred that it wouldnt be so close to the room.

The room smelled horrible and stuffy. The beds seemed worn out and the sheets were barely on the beds. Im writing this review because I believe that it will save some other people as sensitive as I the time and energy it took me to check this place out. Best of luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OffTheWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    93
    67
    49
    47
See reviews for
4
79
103
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel is 2 minutes from the bus terminal so nice and convenient. They have good services such as free transfer to and back from the beach and fresh water. However we were in a dorm with a fan and it smelt horrible of damp and the bathroom had bugs running around every time we opened the door. The electricity kept cutting out the night we were there which meant we had no fan at all and it was horrible! Other than that this is a fun place and good for socialising.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

very nice place. the double room we stayed in was very small. and the bathroom even smaller. but the place has a good vibe - you can cook in a mutuale kitchen and they offer ingridiants for breakest .
the hostel also provides salsa lessons

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The breakfast is not good as in the guide. You have to cook it and choose what you want IT IS NOT A FULL Breakfast. If you have pancakes you cant have milk, milk is just for cereals. When people shower the steam stays inside the room and it gets terribly hot. The kitchen is good, the food is expensive and you cant bring your own drinks. You get a key for everything its not very personal service. There is a good bus to the beach twice a day.

Its nice to meet people,nice lockers very big and very close to the bus station.

Overall: Its to expensive for what they offer. The internet was never working well. I found a better much cheaper place in Tulum.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and overall found it a pretty good hostel. Very close to the bus station. Has a large communal area, so great for meeting other travellers and the onsite bar provides fairly cheap drinks. Provides a free shuttle bus to the beach - although only twice a day (leaving at 9am or 1pm) - and it's a long walk or expensive taxi ride if you miss it. Breakfast is a fairly meagre affair and, as with dinner, if you want anything cooked (e.g. eggs at breakfast or burger at dinner) you have to do it yourself in the kitchen area. My room was clean and perfectly adequate. They have an electronic system for checking in and out and buying food/drink - it's a bit odd at first, but you soon get used to it and someone can normally explain how it works. They are very helpful for arranging tours for you - diving, snorkelling, cenotes, nature etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here because my cousin recommended it. The breakfast was awful. My room seemed infested with mosquito. I couldn't sleep the first night. I literally had to buy repellant and spray it all over the room. The staff is not that friendly. It's about 100 feet from the bus stop. I met GREAT backpackers though. I really loved Tulum so decided to stay two more nights instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Oh dear god. Someone must have the Lonely Planet on the pay roll for this place. Weary is indeed the word! Against all my better judgement (had been forewarned) I stayed at here; purely because 'Jardin de Frida' was full and this place is right next to the bus station - surely the only thing propping this place up. That and for some godforsaken reason a decent review in the LP.

It is noisy, dirty (roaches and moldy food in fridge - which is not even cold), the people who congregate here are your irritating backpacker types (personal choice but there we go) and the general ambiance is just awful. The rooms are tiny and woefully prison-cell like and even the ones with air con are like saunas . The breakfast is pitiful. Seriously, and so ungraciously given. The electronic tag system is also a joke.

Ok, ok I've stayed in worse places but its only because I'm so outraged at the price and that it's in a guide book when there are FAR better places only a stones throw away. Jardin de Frida is about five minutes further up the road and for same price you get big spacious cool room with plenty of fans and a NICE bathroom. Lovely garden that is cool and relaxed; well equipped clean and orderly kitchen and a decent breakfast.

Mama's House is two blocks in the opposite direction and has air con room for same price and MEGA breakfast, all given with a smile and has a lovely ambiance.

I guess the other only slight pros to location are free transport to beach (only twice a day, and only 7 pesos anyway) and free pasta or rice if that's what you wanna cook.

That is it. Do yourself a favour and muster up the strength to walk a little bit further that first day and stay somewhere decent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PebblesPoontang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 116 in Tulum
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 116 in Tulum
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#28 of 116 in Tulum
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#10 of 116 in Tulum
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#24 of 116 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#29 of 116 in Tulum
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Property: Weary Traveler Hostel
Address: Calle Polar | con Calle Beta Norte, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Weary Traveler Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum was started by backpackers for backpackers back in the year 2000. The hostel was built around what they themselves wanted to find in a good hostel when they were traveling. A good social vibe A book exchange A bar with backpacker prices Communal Kitchen (loaded with free spices, salt, pepper) Full Cook Your Own Breakfast Free Rice, Pasta and lentils for dinner Good Advice on Tours and Activities Some aspects of the Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum appear to be unique but they are not. Many of them came from other hostels where we had stayed long before we dreamed of opening a hostel in Tulum. For example the Burn Your Own BBQ was inspired by the Bondi Beach Hotel's incredible steak barbi setup inside the bar. Huge, beautiful cuts of beef were in a display fridge that was part of the bar. You would say, "Yeah, give me that one!" and huge chunk of raw red meat came at you on a platter. It was your job to cook it how you wanted it. The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum has changed, evolved, gone back to our roots and changed again and again over the years. We have always tried to evolve as a hostel, stay ahead of the competition and anticipated the changing needs and desires of our guests. So welcome to The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum, mi casa es su casa! John, one of the originals from way back when. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing