We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weary Traveler Hostel
Ranked #20 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My original reservation was with another hostal, which was dismal. The manager there graciously suggested Weary Traveler as a possibility. In the positive: the crowd there was relaxed and helpful, there was a separate non-smoking lounge area, the pool was clean and a welcome escape, wifi worked and the private room was large and came with much needed AC. On the downside: the shower was a mere trickle, the kitchen was forever filthy and it was noisy at night. The breakfast offered a lot of variety and was a cook-it-your-self deal. Good coffee!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    95
    67
    50
    47
See reviews for
4
81
104
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as everywhere else was full. It has apparently recently moved location- there were men still finishing the roof (!) and the pool was filthy and not in use.
We had a private room with a slightly separate bathroom in the corner- when we tried the shower it didn't even work!!
The staff were helpful and got it working, it was nice and warm.
We left our key with reception for the room to be cleaned (quite dirty) and when we returned from our day we found that our room had been left open?!! Luckily our valuables were locked in the locker they provided so nothing was missing. But they were not apologetic at all.
The only saving grace of this place is its location and the amazing breakfast of cereal, toast, coffee, eggs and pancakes which you make yourself.
Otherwise I would avoid this place in favour of the several more highly reviewed places in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllyLabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice relaxed chilled out vibe. Kitchen with good facilities and free breakfast which is brilliant- variety of cereals, eggs, toast and coffee to help yourself to.
Rooms basic but fine and air conditioning was great.
Brilliant location just off the main road and not far from the beach and cenotes- can get cheap collectivo, rent bikes or even just walk (half an hour or so to beach).
Pool not really in use which is a shame but the hammocks were cool to chill in.
Man in reception called Angel was really nice and helpful! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ne0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Placed has moved to a even worse place! It is still unfinished dirty not organized at all! In helpful staff. Filthy unorganized kitchen and pool as well!! Breakfast is help yourself and make your self ! LOL!! Fine!! I stayed in dorms, thanks god it had a window and a fan! mattress where old and dirty but covered by a mattress cover that was never changed! They just give you a sheet attached to a pillow that may have gotten washed before your use! The shared bathroom looks like an old master bath with big oval tube under construction!! I think they ran out if money or they simply don't care!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We went to this hostel based on the positive reviews we had read online. Some of them were even dated recently. I know the place recently relocated and perhaps that accounts for this, but this place is a joke.
Their website is completely false. No shuttle, no bike rentals, and their rates are higher. The pool was disgusting. The staff was fairly friendly, but not helpful. There was construction going on all the time. Our shower didn't work. Our room was windowless. It did have AC, and if you turned it off the room would be 90 in a matter of minutes.
Oh did I mention there were ants EVERYWHERE.
I can't put this more plainly, do not stay here. Within a few blocks there are several other places to stay, cheaper and cleaner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimNJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Really friendly hostel. Amazing hosts that couldn't be more helpful.

Really relaxed. Close to main tulum street.

It's not a posh place but has everything you need including a pool in a nice courtyard. Not sure if I was just lucky but the clientele are all like minded friendly but not too friendly. Big clean kitchen.

A diamond!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I really liked it here. The beds were comfy, and the rooms were clean. The included breakfast was unlimited, although you had to cool it yourself. But they supply eggs, pancake mix, oil, cereal, bread, and a ton of seasonings. The pool was a nice touch, especially being so far from the beach. They also give out free rice and pasta. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 117 in Tulum
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#16 of 117 in Tulum
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#9 of 117 in Tulum
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#90 of 117 in Tulum
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#22 of 117 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Property: Weary Traveler Hostel
Address: Calle Polar | con Calle Beta Norte, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Weary Traveler Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum was started by backpackers for backpackers back in the year 2000. The hostel was built around what they themselves wanted to find in a good hostel when they were traveling. A good social vibe A book exchange A bar with backpacker prices Communal Kitchen (loaded with free spices, salt, pepper) Full Cook Your Own Breakfast Free Rice, Pasta and lentils for dinner Good Advice on Tours and Activities Some aspects of the Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum appear to be unique but they are not. Many of them came from other hostels where we had stayed long before we dreamed of opening a hostel in Tulum. For example the Burn Your Own BBQ was inspired by the Bondi Beach Hotel's incredible steak barbi setup inside the bar. Huge, beautiful cuts of beef were in a display fridge that was part of the bar. You would say, "Yeah, give me that one!" and huge chunk of raw red meat came at you on a platter. It was your job to cook it how you wanted it. The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum has changed, evolved, gone back to our roots and changed again and again over the years. We have always tried to evolve as a hostel, stay ahead of the competition and anticipated the changing needs and desires of our guests. So welcome to The Weary Traveler Hostel Tulum, mi casa es su casa! John, one of the originals from way back when. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing