We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Luna del Sur
Nearby Hotels
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
US$651
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$607
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$616
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$576
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$558
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$791
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
833
109
17
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
109
17
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom's mapdetailed mapyucatan outdoorsrooftop patiogave us a mapcoffee makersitting areapurified watertowel animalshotel ownerevery morningsmall balconymexican breakfasttulum townair conditioningtaxi ridesecurity guard
Filter
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We recently returned from our second stay at this fantastic hotel. It is definitely our home away from home. Jack and Janet will take you in and make you feel as though you are family and make your stay a great experience. They are warm and helpful and fantastic hosts. The hotel is beautifully decorated and immaculate and the "towel sculptures" that Jesus makes are great to come home to after a day at the beach. The rooms look out onto a relaxing and sweet garden. Each has a sitting area and kitchenette. Its not only a great bargain, its also a very nice, quiet and safe place to stay. Although this is not a room-service hotel, it has tons of charm and the owners are wonderful people. I would recommend this hotel to any seasoned traveler.

It is a 10 minute drive or so to the beach, however, we feel staying in the town gives you a more flavorful experience and there are some great shops, restaurants and cafes in the town (just give it a chance after the intiial impression and explore it a bit). All the locals have been wonderful and friendly.

If you get the opportunity ro go to Tulum and visit its beautiful beaches and fantastic restaurants, Posada Luna del Sur is the ideal place to call your "home away from home". We definitely will!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank archnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Luna del Sur is an excellent value for an economy lodging choice in the Pueblo. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The air conditioning and ceiling fan kept the room very cool. The proprietress made efforts to be helpful and accomodating even though we seemed to have arrived at an inconvenient time for her.

We completely disagreed on her restaurant recommendations but that is a matter of taste. The web site mentioned a free continental breakfast but it was never mentioned to us on site. Internet connectivity would have been very useful and if it was available, it too, was never mentioned to us. Overall, a good value for an economy lodging choice in the Pueblo.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ziglivitbshtoonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetjackPLS, Owners at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2008

Hi Shtoonk,

Many thanks for your critique and for sharing your comments. Indeed, we offer "free continental breakfast", which is delivered to our family of guests precisely as described in our website. However, careful reading of our website might have helped to reach the (obvious) conclusion that breakfast is offered during the time periods encompassed by high season and holidays. WSYIWYG, and often more.

With respect to Wi-Fi, we appreciate that the vast majority of our guests come to our Posada and Tulum on vacation (many interpretations here), and infrequently remain connected once tuned to the rhythm of Tulum. We are sorry that we are unable to divine all the needs of any one member of our family of guests. A brief query is all that was required to make available in short order the Wi-Fi network key, and apologize if this expectation remained unfulfilled.

We are very pleased that your particular tastes were satisfied with some restaurants in Tulum. We thank you sincerely for the opportunity to learn your views, and for having welcomed you during your brief stay in our Posada.

Best wishes,

Janet and Jack
Owners
Posada Luna del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Wonderful place to stay! Clean and quiet with the most gracious of hosts. Close enough to the Pueblo to walk but without of the noise of the town. Just far enough from the beach to avoid the party crowd, and yet only a few minutes away. Extremely secure facility and beautifully maintained grounds make this the perfect destination spot.
Jack and Janet made us feel more than welcome, shared with us the best places to eat, gave us the heads up on expected costs for transportation and goods and even booked a cenote tour with a local guide for us.
Posada Luna del Sur be the only place we stay on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilsonch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This was our second trip within the last year to this hotel. The beaches of Tulum, especially El Paraiso, about seven minutes by car from this hotel, are some of the most beautiful beaches I have been to. The green blue water, baby powder sand and warm temperatures make this such a special place to go to. And it is so affordable if you do it right. Even if you don't, it is, but there are ways to make this even more magical than I can even describe here.

I can't say enough nice things about Janet, Jack and their sweet little place. We chose to live in the town of Tulum instead of at the beach because we wanted to be able to afford a long vacation. We spent nine days our first trip and eight our second. And although this is not on the beach, I think you get a lot more for your money. Most of the hotels out at the beach don't have air conditioning which for us, is an absolute necessity. You will also pay much much more for your accommodations and unless you want to be spending between 300 - 450 a night, which I really don't think they are worth, this place is all one would need.

We like this place because it feels safe and clean and quiet and cool. It is decorated with a great sense of style. If you really look at it you will see that everything seems to be chosen for a specific reason. Little details, like the banana trees in the garden, the way your towels each day are transformed into the shapes of swans, hearts and little dolls and your bed strewn with flowers. Or the way each night as you enter through the gate, Jack has an incense burning in a little bowl that contains various coins that perhaps people have made wishes into in hopes of returning to this special place. It has wonderful air conditioning, nice big comfortable beds with great linens, a little balcony that overlooks their charming garden, and everyday after you come back from the beach, the place is immaculate.

Janet and Jack couldn't be more helpful and kind and they really do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Although in my eyes this hotel has everything I need, it is not the type of place to go to if you are expecting room service, people to carry your luggage, ironing boards, hair dryers, your laundry done, etc. Of course Janet and Jack will help you with anything that they have and will do anything they can for you. Nor is this place the type of hotel that you will pull up to and think Wow. it's once you are inside that you discover its magic. The town of Tulum might to some seem poor or a bit rundown, but honestly, if you embrace it, there are many kind shopowners that make great coffees and little sandwiches and couldn't be more helpful.

Tulum is really a place to go and kind of get lost and relax. And even though we stay in the town of Tulum, the bottom line is that we are really only there to shower and sleep. We pick up a cafe con leche to go in the morning and head out to the beach to have breakfast on the sand. We spend every other minute swimming or reading under trees at El Paraiso beach until about 5 pm when we walk along the sand to the local beach hut and sip a corona while swinging on the bar's swings and watch the sunset.

In the evening we try all of these terrific little romantic spots along the beach that are so affordable, considering the fact that you are sitting at candle lit table some of which are on the sand listening to the ocean with warm breezes blowing accompanied at some restaurants by live Latin music. You could also eat in town, but there is something special about the ocean breezes at night with all the candles lit. I think it is much more special.

A couple of places to keep in mind to eat at are Mezzanine for either breakfast or dinner, the views are fantastic, Zamas directly on the beach too again for either breakfast or dinner, the back deck of Piedra Escondida (not sure on the spelling but it is right by Zamas) and on Sunday nights, and only Sunday, the outdoor bar at La Zebra on the beach is a great place to salsa on the sand. Don't miss it if you are there on a Sunday.

The bottom line is that you will hopefully make Tulum your own special place. Just make sure you like the water and the sun and slowing down to listen to the wind and to look at the stars and you will be fine.

Thank you Janet and Jack for always welcoming us back "home".

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CADWALDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

I had done a LOT of research prior to booking my vacation to Tulum and I had spent a LOT of hours on TripAdvisor trying to make sense of other people's reviews. When I stumbled upon Posada Luna del Sur's page, I was skeptical that it was really as good as people write about. Our first step into the hotel Janet welcomed us as if we were long, lost family members. She sat with us with a map of Tulum and highlighted places to go, places to eat, and things to stay away from. Both her and Jack deserve a lot of credit for our fun, relaxing, and adventurous vacation. We would 100% recommend Posada Luna del Sur to friends and family and will hopefully return again soon. We were sad we had to leave after 4 nights with them. It was great to stay in town and not a problem to not stay right on the beach. The beach is a good 10 minute drive and I definitely recommend renting a car... the walk can be brutal and you will more than likely get a major sunburn in the process. Not only for driving to the beach, but a car is helpful if you plan to go to any cenotes, diving spots, or other towns in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VTHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews