We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet & Jack are the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Just a quick one to say Posada Luna del Sur surpassed our expectations. It was like staying at a family member's home. Janet is so kind and helpful, Jack is laid back and fun, and the place itself is clean, functional, and excellent value. We recommend it to anyone vacationing in Tulum.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishcheer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2008

Me and my girlfriend went to Tulum last week and we had the pleasure and the onor to meet Jack and Janet and we stayed in their Hotel.

Few words just to say: "Posada Luna del Sur is the perfect place to stay in Tulum. It's is like a family".

Thank you so much Jack and Janet.

Also we would suggest to the people, if they are interested to discover the amenities of Mexico the "Manzano's Expeditions" tours. GREAT!

Mario & Michela

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Keisuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

After having read all the positive reviews of Posada Luna del Sur was there really a choice? The place lived up to its expectations and then some. The owners, Janet and Jack, are what make the place special. The place feels like home and the owners are more than willing to accomodate you in every way. We had a family tragedy back home in Massachusetts on our third day in Tulum, and Janet and Jack went above and beyond their duty to keep us connected to our family members. We ended up using their computer to email and call relatives in the U.S and never did we feel as though we were a bother to Jack and Janet. They were simply wonderful and we remained at the hotel for the remainder of our vacation knowing that we were never out of touch with home because of our gracious hosts! We will never forget their generosity and hope that anyone who plans on staying in downtown Tulum will stay at this fabulous place. Staying in town is the real Tulum and mixing with the locals is what makes it worthwhile. You will not be disappointed by the Posada Luna del Sur and you will come away feeling refreshed and more positive about everything after you've experienced the beautiful people who own this gem of a hotel!

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank pmonachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The Yucatan was itself enough but to have such a peaceful and comfortable place to stay each night made it the most memorable vacation my girlfriend and I have ever had. The Inn is located off of the main road in Tulum and is within walking distance to food, bars, and shops. The room was always clean and comfortable and our housekeeper (Jesus) was truly charming with his amazing towel creations (see some of the sample pictures posted by others). Although you don't get a beach front view since it's located in town, this seems to give Posada Luna del Sur a more endearing persona. You're in the midst of Tulum and its local residents which, if you have an open mind, allows a more intimate experience with the town and its history. Even so, all the rooms seem to have access to the Inn's quaint courtyard, where the Inn keeper's have colorful plants and garden decorations (perfect for a lazy evening on your room's outside patio). Speaking of the Inn's owners, their should be pictures of Jack and Janet next to standard definitions of gracious and hospitable. They were not only extremely helpful in outlining where the best places to eat, drink, dance, and simply lay on the beach, they genuinely care for all their guests and treat you as if you were friends or family.

If you're adventurous and want a great guide to the area's vast and diverse ecosystem, Jack and Janet can introduce you to Manuel Galindo. This gentleman is both funny and extremely knowledgeable in everything you could possibly want to know about the Yucatan's environment. He will pick you up and give you a great personal (or small group) tour which includes snorkeling in lagoons and private cenotes (flooded caves).

There's not enough space in this review to fully describe how happy we were to stay at Posada Luna del Sur and how much it added to our experience in Tulum.

Thanks Jack and Janet!

Huu and Elizabeth.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank b00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Luna Del Sur - we stayed 4 nights

Good Points -

Tulum has an amazing awesome beach.

Wonderful Ceynotes for snorkeling and swimming are a short drive away - you can arrange a bike trip/snorkeling trip thru the B&B which takes you to this incredible underground cave / pool

Easy day trip to Coba

Inn keepers are great conversationalists and highly educated. One is a doctor of pathology. Also, fellow guests were very outgoing.

Inn keepers want to make your stay as nice as possible. Help you book activities, locate places to eat. etc.

Tasty, morning breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, bread and coffee. Complimentary.

Rooms were nice, clean, and had towel sculptures. The maid creates sculptures of elephants, girls, swans with your towels.

Bad points

To get to the beach is about $5 US cab ride and thre are no transportation alternatives.

The area surrounding the hotel (pueblo Tulum) is not the most beautiful. While perferctly safe - we walked around late at night, you definitely get a view of native life. After getting over the initial feeling of "surprise", we ended up finding it interesting.

Bottom Line:

I highly recommend the Luna Del Sur and would absolutely stay there again. Its a huge bargain compared to the beachside hotels, probably 1/5 the cost. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the staff friendly.

Best,

Marc & Brauna

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcandBrauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We used Tripadvisor to research accommodations for our 3 day visit to Tulum. Contacted several places at the beach hotel strip and in town, and once we had all the info booked Posada Luna del Sur. We are thrilled we did! The hotel is a wonderful little gem in town, and staying here is an experience unlike any we've had. The beauty lies inside this small and lovingly cared for hotel. Perfect beds with towel sculptures and pure white soft linens. Safe and welcoming. Immaculate rooms with A/C. Tasteful décor and lush little gardens full of orchids and tropicals. Janet and Jack were always available to help with our questions (and we had lots), and their humor, warmth, and guidance for eateries, beaches and activities was absolutely fab. They arranged the most awesome excursion to a lagoon and a hidden cave and cenote with Manzano Expeditions (sp?) (will post a separate review) that was one of the highlights of our trip. In short, a classy sweet little place definitely deserving of its top place. Thanks Tripadvisor, and thanks Janet and Jack for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sucu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Call us adventurous but we (my lovely Girlfriend and I) turned up on Posada's door step asking for rooms on a balmy May Evening...

Janet greeted us and looked a little worried for us as she only had one room left which she wasn't overly happy about, she graciously took us to this room and let us make our minds up there and then.

We agreed, and being in the luxurious position of standing in the room when booking it, we couldn't possibly complain about the place itself! In fact we really did like it. Clean, interesting and peaceful.

The town of Tulum is a real spit and sawdust type of destination, get yourself off the main drag on a Friday and Saturday night and spend some time in the town square near the bandstand or watching some local sports people, it's real immersion and great people watching!

Being in the town means being right in the thick of all those amazing fruit and veg places, the Mangoes blew my mind!

To wrap this up, Posada is just a room, we don't make a habit of chilling out in our room or on hotels premises except when staying all inclusive, so to me the AC, TV, Hot Shower, Clean Sheets did exactly what they meant to, plus the place had charm.

You will be about 1 block from the end of the town which is walkable in about 15 mins from end to end.

It will cost you 40pesos to get to the beach and if you meet people maybe 20 to get back.

We did think about a Cabana but an extra 80 pesos a day to come back to the above and be in a real authentic Mexican town was worth it.

Thanks Janet and John, we had a lovely experience with you.

Ben & Liane.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjimagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#19 of 100 in Tulum
623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
910 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 100 in Tulum
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 100 in Tulum
470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 100 in Tulum
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#5 Green Hotel in Tulum
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £100 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing