We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Every Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing Every Time”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is our second visit to Posada Lunda del Sur, and both trips have been phenomenal. The rooms are clean and relaxing, the staff are always helpful and cheerful, and Tom is an amazing resource; he tells you the best places to eat, and the best trips to go on, and can set you up with excellent guides. From everything to massages in your room, to kayaking in the biosphere, to bike rentals for trips to the beach, Tom's got you covered. Our first time in Tulum we booked massages before we arrived, outside the hotel -- such a mistake! I'm only booking through Tom in the future.

One of the best things about staying here is that you never have to wonder if the food will be good at the restaurant you selected, or hiring a guide will be worth it, or if you're wasting or time and money -- Tom's done all of that work for you, and it's a sure thing every time. You get personal recommendations, which allows you to wring as much happiness and fun out of your vacation as possible without wasting time or money. I can't recommend Posada Luna del Sur strongly enough. We're going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas_mojitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    100
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
593
61
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the second time this past Christmas, and as expected, we had a FANTASTIC time. Tom is the best host and incredibly helpful when you are planning excursions or would like a recommendation of where to eat. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Tulum. The breakfast is delicious, the rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is friendly, and the neighbourhood is lovely. Book this hotel - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was my first time in Tulum and I'm so happy I stayed at Posada Luna del Sur! If Tulum and local life if what you want to truly experience, this is where you want to stay. Located in Tulum Pueblo, walking distance from all the shops, restaurants and bars in town.
The hotel is really cute, very clean and the rooms are quite spacious! All of the staff is very friendly and the breakfasts prepared on the rooftop terrasse were all delicious. Gareth the owner is really nice and welcoming! Always ready to suggest cool spots in Tulum and around to check out, making my experience that much more authentic and amazing!
I would definitely recommend Posada Luna del Sur to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evableva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I love this place. This was my 4th time staying there and I keep going back yearly, it's just perfect really.

The price is affordable unlike many places on the beach, and you get so much value. It may be in town but it's only a short taxi ride away from the beach and right next to great restaurants, bars, and other amenities. Being on the beach is cool for sure, but I actually prefer being in town.

The rooms are super clean and have everything you need... air conditioning, hot water, a fridge, sink, dishes, cutlery, fresh drinking water, a safe and more... You're totally set to prepare food & snacks for the beach and relax there in comfort. Wifi up on the terrace is good if you need it, it even reaches down into a couple of the rooms. Being tucked away just off the road surely makes it way quieter than all the other hotels right on the main, you sleep well. What more could you ask for?

Breakfast is killer. It used to be included in the price which was even better, but it's still totally affordable and prob the best breaky in town, authentic fresh made Mexican dishes... Or you can get the basics like eggs & bacon too. The breakfast is big enough to keep going well into the day. You can ask for it spicy at your own risk, fresh habanero is so good.

More than any of that, it comes down to your host Gareth/Tom. He's just got you covered. Tips on where to go, where to eat, what to see, arranging taxis to get you back to the airport, organizing adventure tours for you, even giving you sunscreen when you run out, always checking on you to make sure you're well, and just being awesome.

Anyone he sets you up with, be it a taxi driver, tour guide or dive master, has been screened by him personally to make sure they're solid... I've only had very positive experiences on all of my excursions arranged in-house. I highly suggest you inquire about some tours/dives/site seeing, let them take care of you rather than fishing around in town, he tends to work with the same people and they're all super cool.

Any successful business arguably comes down to solid customer service, and that's where these guys take the cake, for me it always feels like a home away from home... This a great place to stay at to enjoy and discover all the beauty Tulum has to offer. I'll be back next year again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in Posada Luna del Sur for one week. The staff are very helpful and approachable, the breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms were well maintained and clean. We enjoyed Tulum immensely and our stay at Posada Luna del Sur made our travels all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teagan2o14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLDSrManagement, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello Teagan,

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and Byron in December. I am thrilled you had a great time and that the hotel met your standards. I hope you guys come back one day and stay with me!

Thanks again for your kind review,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the best place I've found in Tulum town. If you want to experience town life, which makes a good contrast to the beach, this is the place to come. Tom is as friendly and knowledgeable as everyone says, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the hotel's quietly situated just off the main street. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently had an outstanding experience at Posada Luna del Sur. The proprietor (Tom) went above and beyond to make our trip fabulous and memorable. I cannot emphasize enough that his service and hospitality were among the best I have ever experienced -- arranging cabs and other reservations for us even when we had moved on to a hotel at the beach and providing a comprehensive map of the town with his favorite shopping and restaurant spots. We tried many of his recommendations and they were top-notch! The hotel has a beautiful outdoor roof, where a delicious breakfast is served every morning -- try the huevos rancheros for an authentic start to the day. The rooms were comfortable, though not lavish, and included lots of nice "extras" for the Tulum area -- including free wifi, purified drinking water, a safe, etc. Overall, I cannot wait for the opportunity to stay with Tom at the Posada again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are lovely
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
4.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
4.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Green Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing