We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They think of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“They think of everything!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a lovely, spotless, comfortable and marvellous hotel where your every need is provided for by thoughtful planning. The rooms are large, carefully planned, with seating and kitchen areas, furnished with large fridge and 20-litre bottled water dispenser, gas stove, microwave and sink, so guests can prepare their own meals (with careful instructions as to how to avoid attracting ants)- and beach towels, chairs in outdoor patio, air conditioning and ceiling fan, well-provided bathroom. The pleasure of the cool crisp sheets on the bed and refrigerated water in your room! The roof terrace offers very comfortable seating under shade with WiFi access where you can sit and read or and listen to the neighbours singing and the birds chirping. Tom is available to offer all manner of help: without his guidance we would not have known how to access the beach, since there is hardly any waterfront visible through the thicket of hotel entrances. Non-residents can just enter one of these entrances, buy drinks and rent a lounger. Hints on what to do, where to go and where to eat were also really useful. His recommendations for locations beyond Tulum were also great. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts spectacular, well worth paying for. This is an exceptional place to stay, to be comfortable and relaxed in a funky little town in a spectacular location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor. It's possible that guests having breakfast on the roof terrace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    101
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
72
593
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This Hotel really is a special place. You will enjoy your stay.

My wife, and I stayed at Posada Luna del Sur for four days. We were exploring Tulum while returning to Canada through Cancun after an extended stay in Belize. This is a very nice, very clean Hotel. The location is convenient to restaurants, shopping, bars, and still very quiet, and serene.
The rooms are well appointed with everything you could want ... Kitchenette, Cable TV, King size Bed, a little sitting area on a pretty little court yard. Everything was clean, and well kept.

The hotel has a great sitting area, restaurant on the roof, and has free wi-fi up there too. It is a great place to sit and have breakfast, and afternoon beer ( from your fridge ) , or evening coffee after a day at the beach. The staff, are very good, very polite, and good at what they do.

The owner lives right at the hotel, and is a fantastic resource for finding out which beach to go to, where to eat, what tours to go on. He can suggest, or arrange what ever it is you would like. This hands on management, care, and service makes this great little Hotel a very special place.

As we go back and forth from Canada to Belize we will now be making Posada Luna del Sur a regular stop.

You will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ground floor, as it opens on to a nice little courtyard great for coffee in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice, clean, large room with our own filtered water tank and fridge! It's a short walk to everything in town (restaurants, stores, etc.). We ran into the owner once, who was very pleasant and friendly, and his map of local recommendations was really helpful and great to have. There's a nice space to hang out on the top floor with travel books and couches, and our room had its own little balcony. Only missing a star because I think breakfast should be included for the price -- we stayed a lot of places for a similar price in the Yucatan/Riviera Maya that did include breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and enjoyed my time at Posada Luna del Sur.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I recently stayed at Posada Luna del Sur for the second time this year and I cannot wait to go back! I love everything about Tulum and Gareth's quaint, cozy and super clean hotel. Tulum is a place where you shut out the busy money chasing life that many of us are accustomed to and just take in the amazing mexican experience and chill. Posada Luna is a small ride away from the jaw dropping beautiful beach and the town has wicked eats and cute little bars. Posada has all you need! Comfy big beds, AC, wifi access on the patio, wicked breakfasts, friendly staff and the man that knows everything good about Tulum, Gareth. He helps all his guests out, sets you up with the places that really need to be seen whether it's a true chilled out mexican experience (his specialty) or where the hyper hipsterati hang out. Posada Luna del Sur has become my Mexican pied a terre. I cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquismtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Posada Luna del Sur for a week in mid February as part of a three week stay in the Yucatan and this was the best part of our trip.This small and friendly hotel is highly recommended for a relaxing and comfortable stay and is a great value.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.
The bathroom and shower were perfectly adequate and there was plenty of hot water.
Breakfasts at the rooftop palapa were delicious with excellent coffee and juices for well under ten dollars.

The owner Tom is terrific. He's around the breakfast area every morning and goes out of his way to help guests with tours, taxis and just about anything you want to know about the town and the nearby beaches. He has local maps with valuable tips on getting the best value and experiences. He went above and beyond helping us arrange our accommodations in Mahahual even calling the hotel there for us when we were having problems with our limited Spanish.

We're looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studentparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We toured the Yukatan/Quintannaroo for a month and found Posada Luna del Sur our absolute favourite accommodation. Perfect location just off the main street with easy walk to the restaurants and shops and a bike ride to the beach areas. Good value with many little extras in the room, ie, fridge, kitchen area, safe, hairdryer, and toiletries. Room was spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. There was also a roof terrace to enjoy (and where breakfast is served as optional extra).

Tom the proprietor bent over backwards to help us, giving us maps, recommendations and advice to ensure we got the most from our stay and even helped us after we had left his hotel.

Highly recommended. Book early to avoid disappointment!

Thanks again Tom

Matt & Linda

Room Tip: All the same top quality. Perhaps avoid Rooms 1 and 2 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at Posada Luna Del Sur the third week of Feb.
The small town of Tulum is one of our favorite spots on the coast, nothing seems to change much from year to year. The people of the town are very friendly and in the evening families with young children stroll the sidewalks and park/church areas enjoying the cool evening air.
Tom is a most gracious host, his hotel and staff are wonderful. Thank You for everything Tom, we look forward to seeing you, Posada Luna and Tulum again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
4.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#9 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 96 in Tulum
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#4 Green Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing