We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Look Any Further!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Look Any Further!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My wife and I have family and own property in Mexico. we wanted to sample somewhere secluded and elated we found Posada Luna del Sur. This facility far exceeds $$$ all inclusive resorts (i.e. Dreams) which should be called "Nightmares". Lunda del Sur is by far the best place to bed down and enjo cool comforts and 5-Diamond service from Jack & Janet. We would need much more space to tell anyone reading this that Luna was clean, safe and well lit for security (including the hot water heater light....gotta go to witness this fun feature). We are proud to say that we departed after our 5-days culturing a long term friendshiop with Jack and Janet which will last far into the future. The hotels on the beach were just that and mucho $$$. Get a bike, smartcar,m rent-a-car and take the 5-minute ride to the beach. The beach is beautiful and tropical. Luna del Sur is more beautiful and warm and friendly. We truly mis our mew best friends and plan to return soon.

TE AMO-our amigos!!

Cordially,
Los Jarochos-Bruce&Rocio Brown (Texas/Veracruz)

  • Liked — The owers and clean
  • Disliked — No ice machine
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Houston_TexasJarocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    100
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
69
590
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

My boyfriend and I just spent 4 nights at Posada Luna del Sur at the beginning of September. We had a great time! The room was spacious, sparkly clean and wow was the bed huge and comfy! The hotel was quiet, super cute and right around the corner from a grocery store so you can fill up the fridge in your room with drinks and goodies. Our room also had a little outside area and hot water! This is not always common in Mexico.

Janet and Jack were super nice and had great recommendations for things to do that were not overrun with tourists. Janet arranged for a friend of hers, Manuel, to pick us up one morning morning and we spent an awesome day together. It was just the 3 of us so the excursion was very personal. Manuel took us first to the nearby Yal-Ku Lagoon where he took us snorkeling. Simply beautiful. And then we were off to a private cenote where we went snorkeling again...in a cave...with flashlights! It was awesome! You should check out their tours. It's called Manzanos Expeditions. Look them up online.

And it's pretty easy to get to the ruins and the beach. Just catch a cab or collectivo van. It's super cheap. Also, the beach is public so you can bring your own drinks and food.

But we had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great room, great people, great time!
  • Disliked — ...We couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BonitaLanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

The owners were incredibly helpful and nice. Rooms were big, quiet, and clean. It was a pleasure to stay there. From there, we were close to the Tulum temple and the Xel-Ha park.

  • Liked — the owners were amazing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anca-Andreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

The room was the cleanest among all the rooms we visited during our holidays in Mexico, and it is well furnished too, with all things you could need.
They gave us breakfast included and it was good and rich.
Janet and Jack are so nice, helpful and attentive, they give a lot of useful information to live your vacation in the beast way.
Thanks also to Jesus for his beautiful towels sculptures!

  • Liked — room, staff, good value...everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vally81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This hotel is a jewel and Jack and Janet were absolutely the ultimate hosts! After our arrival at the hotel, we were promptly greeted and taken to our room. The room was super clean and wonderfully decorated... we immediately felt right at home. Jack and Janet gave us the best recommendations on places to visit and eat. We've been to Mexico 8 times now and this has been the best hotel we have stayed in and it was definitely our best trip yet!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justinsgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My Wife and I just spent the last five days staying at the Posada Luna del Sur, in Tulum Mexico. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jack and he immediately made us feel at home, then Janet came down and gave us a map and the scoop on where to eat, what to do and what to avoid. They place the recommended for us to go the beach was unbelievable, we nearly had the beach to ourselves. The first morning one of my lenses popped out of my glasses, I asked Jack where in town I could go to get a new screw. Jack took my glasses and fixed it himself while I finished my breakfast, he didn’t want me to spend my vacation trying to find a screw for my glasses. The room was exceptionally clean and large; the Wi-Fi was blazing hot and the room was nicely decorated. It isn’t the Hilton but for the price for the room it has to be one of the best deals in Mexico. The first three mornings was still in high season so they had coffee, fresh fruit and bread. Jack and Janet met us for breakfast asking if there was anything they could do for us that day. One of the things that impressed me the most was the protectiveness they have over those who stay there. One of the couples was going on a tour that day and was going to pay by travelers checks. The tour guide was going to give them an exchange rate of 9.5 pesos to the dollar. Janet sternly begins to tell the man in Spanish that he would not “cheat” any of their guests and that he would give the couple the exchange rate of 10 Pesos to the dollar or else. I didn’t want to know what a Janet “what else” is nor did this tour guide. The towel art by Jesus will put a smile on your face when you walked in…Even the last two days when it wasn’t high season we asked for a coffee pot to be put in the room. Jesus brought us a coffee pot; coffee and even put two coffee mugs into our room.
Thanks Jack and Janet for a good time in Tulum!

  • Liked — Jack and Janet hospitality
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Walker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at Posada Luna del Sur for our recent trip
to the Yucatan. It was a great location from which to
explore the neighboring areas (Coba, Tulum Mayan ruins,
cenotes, etc). The place is immaculate, safe and secure.
The proprietors, Jack and Janet, were super hosts and provided
all the info we needed to explore the area. They even helped
us setup accommodations for the next leg of our journey. We
truly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Green Hotel in Tulum
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing