We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ditto to all the amazing previous reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
British Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ditto to all the amazing previous reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Can't agree more with every one of the previous wonderful comments about this property and the three terrific Canadians who run it.. We enjoyed our stay and would without a doublt be pleased to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    99
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
572
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willows, Ca
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Sarah, Garreth, and Marty, work hard to provide excellent value, good service, and a pleasant environment. Their Hotel meets all the criterion of a #1 ranked facility.
Please feel free to contact me for details regarding our experience at Posada Luna Del Sur.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I hesitate to even write a review. Quite frankly, the many recent and overwhelmingly positive reviews written by fellow travelers attest to the excellent qualities, particularly in terms of service and value, offered by Posada Luna del Sur. It would probably suffice to simply say "ditto", but here are a couple of quick thoughts.
Service: I have never stayed at a hotel that can match that which is provided by Marty, Sarah and Gareth (and the rest of the staff). From the moment of arrival until the dreaded departure, guests are treated like close friends (as opposed to travelers from which to siphon dollars/pesos). Without fail, every restaurant/bar, cenote, side trip, beach spot, etc. recommended by Marty was spot on. It is evident that the proprietors enjoy the area and are excited to share its many qualities with their guests.
Value: For the price, you cannot find a better value. Or, if you can, please let me know about it.
We look forward to making a return visit soon. Many thanks to Marty, Sarah and Gareth for making our visit one we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeBaseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I can't say enough about how accommodating, helpful and friendly the owners are and what a gem of a small hotel the Posada Luna del Sur is. They serve an excellent breakfast on the roof deck under a beautiful palapas and have comfortable couches under the sun which can be used any time of the day or night. The rooms are large and all have a kitchenette area and balcony.
I preferred being in the town where there is a much better selection of reasonably priced restaurants than found on the beach. And it only costs 40 pesos to take a taxi to many of the beach clubs for the day if you want to go there.
Congratulations to Sarah, Marty and Gareth for running such a great place and I would go back there in a flash.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagodagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Canadians: Sarah, Marty and Gareth have maintained the warm, caring and welcoming atmosphere on which the reputation of this small, cosy hotel is deservedly based. The rooms are clean, spacious and come with all the facilities you might require. The hotel is well-situated in the downtown area and it's only a 40 peso taxi ride to the beach. Don't pay more! The complimentary breakfast is nutritious and plentiful. Juice is freshly squeezed and the breads freshly baked that morning. The hotel is very secure and in a safe area. We had no safety concerns. Charlie's restaurant, which we feel has the best food at the best value in town, is close by. Why stay elsewhere when you can stay with friends?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariposaOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Those fortunate enough to find their way past the numerous "all inclusives" between Cancun and the town of Tulum could easily find a new home away from home at the Posada Luna del Sur. Charming, yet authentic are the only ways to describe this amazing gem in the middle of the magical little, one stop light town, of Tulum. The family that runs the hotel make you feel like you are guest in their home from your arrival to departure. Tulum is a modest, though, very genuine place that welcomes strolls and lots of stops into the local establishments. "Posada" is perfectly situated to accomdate...Don't miss and stay longer than you plan...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

In planning our trip to visit the Yucatan peninsula we tried adhering to Trip Advisor recommended hotels and in most cases we were very pleasantly surprised. In Tulum, Posada Luna del Sur was by far the best of them all. This quaint little hotel ( i believe they have a dozen or so rooms ) very well situated within walking distances from shops and typical small familly run restaurants and only a short drive to the beach. Tulum feels very secure and we never felt threatened at whatever times of day or evening we chose. We noticed a fair amount of new buildings popping up everywhere so this situation might change as the town grows. Our advice, if you want to visit Tulum do it now before it is too late and it becomes ( like Cancun and Playa del Carmen ) a tourist trap with all its ails.
The rooms at Posada are large, airy and come complete with remote air condition, fans,remote cable TV ( for people who like to watch TV on their vacations ???? ) large fridge,coffee maker and coffee,safety box, and king size beds. Absolutely spotless and very secure. Breakfast was included and it was what every breakfast should be. Filling and healthy.
They have set up a meeting-breakfast place on the roof of the hotel with a palapas covering half of the large space. It's a place where you can go and read quietly or chat amongst fellow travellers and exchange experiences. While we were there, we met people from many areas of the world including Japan, Sweden, Denmark, Malta, Croatia, Scotland and a familly from San Fransisco, all great people with great stories to tell.
But what made the difference between Posada and the others. as far as my wife and I are concerned, is in the care that the three owners ( we found out later that they were Canadians ) have for their guests. From the time we arrived, Sarah, Martin and Gareth went '' beyond'' the call of duty to make us feel important and welcomed. Things to do, places to go, restaurants, bars, all three were there to answer our questions and arrange our activities. I know ,this is all suppose to be part of their jobs, but in their case, it seemed to come naturally and genuinely.
While writing this review i notice that they had been rewarded by Trip Advisor as ''Best Service '' winners for 2010. Well we are not surprised, as they ''enchanted'' us from the time we got there. Fantastic stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junkie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#9 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.9 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Property: Posada Luna del Sur
Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#4 Green Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing