We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Days of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Luna del Sur
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My girlfriend had discovered this charming hotel in August of 2009 and she was very excited for us to go back. We returned in May and spent an amazing 10 days in Tulum and Posada Luna Del Sur was once again, the perfect choice for our stay. The beach is close enough that we sometimes went twice a day and it was great to have this hotel as a home base. When the sun was too much, we would spend the day on the rooftop terrace playing games, reading and listening to music, all provided by the hotel. Perfectly located in town, every evening we walked to restaurants and shopping. We usually ate breakfast in the room and the mini kitchen and fridge we were able to stock a few key items, there is a grocery store a stone throw's away. The owner's, Sarah and Martin, recommended this great snorkeling where we even got to snorkel in caves. Incredible! Great value, great hospitality and I can't wait to return to this little gem in Tulum.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickLanglois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

You two and the people who work for you are the best. Thanks for the accommodations. We loved our room. And that early breakfast in the roof was fabulous.
Note: We are still going crazy trying to find that delish coffee from Chiapas. We miss it in the mornings.
It was J's first time to Mexico and he was enchanted by every thing. We hope to see you definitely very very soon with the whole family.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graperalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you are looking for a agreable and quiet place in the center of Tulum and accept not to be directly on the beach, it is the place.Sarah and Marty are so kind, you will come back! Don't miss the super terrasse on the roof.
Les parents d'Élise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoco100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I did not actually stay here Yet but I can tell they are professional just from there email response. We are traveling to Tulum in July I appreciated your informative email and thoughtful response.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrylsells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My husband and I spent an all-too-short 4 days at the Posada Luna del Sur...... we decided to add it on to a trip to Belize and, as we had anticipated, we wished that we had allowed ourselves more time there.

We were thrilled with the Posada.... with the quaint atmostphere, the convenient location, and the friendly and personal attention. Marty met us upon arrival and showed us to our room and where the breakfast is served on the rooftop deck each morning. He gave us a brief intro to town with some personal recommendations for restaurants, shopping, tours and local points of interest. He immediately made us feel welcome, at ease and excited to begin our adventure the next day.

Breakfasts were fantastic and one of the Posada's stellar features; not only was the food delicious and we were able to start our day on a full belly, but it was a great opportunity to meet other guests to compare experiences.... who did what and went where the previous day. And, in between brewing hot coffee and squeezing fresh orange juice, the the hotel owners/hosts were available to answer questions, give advice, set up tours, etc.

There is a cozy sitting area up on the roof with candles and twinkling lights in the evening.... beautiful, so peaceful. A nice way to relax after a long day of touring ruins, snorkelling in the cenotes or playing on the beach.

Our second-floor room had everything we needed and more... it was a large room with a king-size bed, spacious shower with hot water, lovely little balcony overlooking the little garden area, a kitchenette including a full-size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, full sink, all the dishes and cutlery we needed, and a huge bottle of water which was replaced as needed. It also had air conditioning but we didn't find that we had to use it.

The only drawback that it might have.. in the smallest way... is that it isn't on the beach. A few dollars and a cab ride later, though, and there you are! The Posada is in a very convenient location in terms of being close to shops and restaurants. It is just around the corner from a convenience store and just down the street from the bus station.

I just can't say enough good things about the Posada Luna del Sur and I don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Marty, Sarah and Garreth are receiving such glowing reviews from myself and many other travellers on this site because they work so hard at making their guests stays as perfect as they possibly can.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jl2000mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Posada Luna del Sur in early June. Marty and Sarah are fantastic hosts and really make it their job to give great suggestions on restaurants and places to see.

Here's the lowdown: This is not a luxury resort, it is a small hotel in a "local" area, and people who want a resort should look elsewhere. BUT if you want a simple, bright clean room, with AC, excellent beds and a nicely sized mini kitchenette with a fridge, sink and utensils, this is the place. The owners run a great establishment, and they themselves go over and above to ensure you have a great time. That said, no one is in your business; you can be as independent as you want and have your solitude as needed as well.

The upstairs patio is great, even though breakfast isn't served this time of year, you can hang out and have a drink up there, and the owners had a little bar set up by the time we left. A really nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Are you sick of the all inclusives? Cancun and Playa de Carmen too much like Las Vegas and Miami Beach? Don't want to pay for things you don't need or want on a Vacation. Disappointed in the craziness/commercialism of Cancun/Playa de Carmen and other big resort areas around the Carribean? Intimidated with 'going out on your own' and finding you dream vacation? Want an extremely safe/comfortable place to enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in Mexico? Well, Posada Luna del Sur is the has everything you'll need/want to call home while you soak in the Mexico you're really looking for.

Sara and Marty are completely dedicated to your comfort. The rooms are spotless and perfect with a little kitchenette, excellent bed, AC (nice after a day in the Sun). They have a roof top sitting area under a palapa with a conversation area for interacting with the other guests of the hotel - great to share experiences, places to eat and see. The location in town is perfect as you'll find a grocery store right around the corner and is at the head of the town where you'll find great shopping, resturants and the nicest people you'll find south of border.

The beauty of Posada Luna del Sur is the incredible value. Though there are no meals served there, you have every possible meal within a 5>10 min walk. And, the food is excellent and more than reasonable. No need for a pool as you have the most beautiful beach in the world at your finger tips and the Beach Club Puerto De Cielo is the only beach club that offers a fresh water pool. The club is free.

My wife and I have been traveling to this area of Mexico for nearly 20 years. We have always stayed in all inclusives. But, for years now, we find ourselves renting a car leaving the resort everyday and exploring what the all inclusives don't offer. A down to earth Mexico experience that can be enjoyed to the fullest for 1/2 the price with 10x's the reward. If you are looking for a pampered vacation, then all inclusives are for you. If you are looking for the freedom to enjoy Mexico at your own pace and comfort then Tulum and Posada Luna del Sur is for you. After a long day having fun in the sun and exploring, it is simply a perfect place to call home.

Advice:
> A rental car will save on Taxi's and give you additional freedom to explore. Driving in Mexico is safer than the US. Don't be intimidated.
> If your a backpacking type, there is a bus depot in town that can get you anywhere you desire.
> Parents - want to take the family? Kids? no worries..........experience Mexico safely without exposure to the drunken pool bar scenes at the resorts. Give your family a valued vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoBuffsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 99 in Tulum
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#13 of 99 in Tulum
596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Norte 5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#6 Green Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £104 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Luna del Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or twin beds sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited complimentary bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hot spot, hot water, 24 hour security/bellhop, concierge services, tour desk, and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams! Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We have won multiple TripAdvisor Traveler´s Choice awards throughout the years; our most recent in 2017 for the best ¨value¨ hotel. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing