We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Paradise”
Review of La Chan Cabanita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Chan Cabanita
Ranked #21 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Paradise”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My girlfriend and I travelled to Tulum last week. I looked at and contacted over 20 different places on the Tulum beach strip but this turned out to be a hidden gem in paradise.

Moni was very helpful when booking and responding quickly to all email questions. She even sent photos of the two different room options which were available. We ended up staying in the Chan room which was awesome. It is the only room which is not connected to the others. It has two little balconies one of which we had breakfast on every morning. All of the rooms are are back from the main beach by about 100m. There is a little sandy forest of palms and shrubs between the rooms and the beach, which is really nice becuase you are not "on display" from the people walking the beach. The hotel really has anything that the other hotels on the strip have but I found for a faction of the price and twice the privacy. I think you would need to spend at least $300 to get the next level up in any of the hotels. The staff are amazing. "Pinky" makes a great breakfast, and the two guys who are always on site make it feel safe.

On day 2 of our 5 day stay, one of the reception girls said that they had overbooked the hotel with a big group and asked if we would be willing to move to another set of cabana's Moni owned down the beach about a kilometer. We were a bit sad to leave Chan but remained optimistic and flexible and moved. Not only did Moni not charge us for two nights in our new cabana but we were literally the only people in our private beach. The waves crashed 25 steps from our door and we couldnt have asked for more.

All in all, both the Chan Cabanitas and Blue Iguana are amazing. Everything you need when you go to Tulum.

Room Tip: We ended up staying in the Chan room which was awesome. It is the only room which is not connected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

like some others who've written reviews on this charming place, my girlfriend and i just happened up it by chance - it's tucked away between more expensive, touristy places. We had rented some bikes and were luckily able to coast by at a leisurely pace and discover it!

What's really great about this place is the warm, kind vibe of the people that work there - it feels very much like a family run business (Jessica is wonderful and super helpful - she is their English ambassador i think:) ).

It's also amazing that for the price (we were there in late Feb/early March and paid $120 US per night), you get breakfast included! They have a beautiful area for eating your breakfast and served coffee, juice, yogurt & granola and a plate of sliced fruit! They even brought out a twinkie with a candle in it for my girlfriend's birthday!! Jessica would often search us out down by the beach and deliver french fries or chips with guacamole.

super thoughtful and a wonderful discovery. Will definitely go back there!

Mark & Julie
Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After all is said and done, Tulum is now a destination that brings in bug names and big prices and understandably. We were concerned that we might not find a comfortably place in Tulum as beautiful as it until we stumbled into La Chan Cabanita. It was affordable and the room was wonderfully "organic" meaning feeling handmade like a palapa should feel.The space was big and colorful with a very comfortable bed. It was great and the breakfast terrific along with the staff that was truly helpful. It seals it for us and Tulum.

Room Tip: we had the Sol room that has a bathroom on the ground floor and a large space up a flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloseKess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We came across this place by pure chance. The beach here is nice and so are the cabins. We did not meet the owner and had the feeling that a few details had been neglected (possibly due to the owner's absence).

The prices here are reasonable - in conrast to all the neighbouring places which charge outrageous rates. So all in all, we really liked La Chan and would come back any time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christofaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I almost didn't want to write this review because I want this place to be my little secret :) but Moni (and her staff Javier and Miriam,) was such a great host that I felt she deserved all the business she could get! A friend of mine and I stayed in the Jade Room which is on the ground floor and faces the ocean. The ocean is about 30 feet away and at night you go to bed serenaded by the sound of the waves. The property itself is on a beautiful strip of the beach, not too many people unlike the beaches nearer the ruins, and seems to be located somewhere bang in the middle of the long hotel zone. There are some restaurants near by though you have to walk about about 15-20 minutes if you want more dining options. One tip - if you are arriving at the ADO bus in Tulum town, ask cabbies to take you to Coco Tulum which is the adjoining property. We found that cab drivers were not familiar with La Chan Cabanita but immediately understood when we mentioned Coco Tulum instead.
We went in early January when its not supposed to be humid but we did find that the nights can get slightly muggy. A fan would have been welcome, but it wasnt a big deal. Be warned, there are no outlets in the room, so don't be packing your hairdryers!! There is free wifi, but if you want to charge your phones/laptops/ipads you will have to charge it in the open reception near the gate at the front of the complex. They serve a nice breakfast of fruits, bread, yoghurt and coffee which you can eat sitting at your balcony watching the ocean. We ordered the eggs a couple of times and had to pay extra for that, but it was very cheap. There were also afternoon snacks and atleast once I remember being offered wine in the middle of the day, which is always a welcome bonus. There are beach towels in the room and tons of beach chairs and a couple of hammocks that guests are welcome to use. The only minor suggestion I have is to add a couple of extra lights in the room. Our room had just one light (other than the bathroom light) which made it a little inconvenient at night when everything around is pitch dark. I know that a number of properties on Tulum beach are solar powered so I guess thats the reason for the reduced lighting. Overall though, this was a fantastic experience and I plan to return here whenever I can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavithra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

When my boyfriend and I got to Tulum with our Australian Cattle Dog, we were so upset to find that there were NO hotels that allowed pets!!! We checked at three places in downtown, and were told by all three that there were no places that accepted dogs in Tulum. However we tried the beach anyway. We went to a place called COCO, which is right next door to Chan, and were snobbishly told that maybe they would take us at one of the resorts farther down the road (I don't recall the name; but they didn't accept pets anyway). By luck, we decided to go to Juanita Diavola for lunch (which is on the other side of COCO), and decided to try just one last place: La Chan Cabanita, and Moni accepted us. But not only did she let us in, she turned out to be one of the best hostesses ever. She was super accommodating and helpful. For example, when we decided not to take our pet on another airplane trip the following week, she helped us find a really nice veterinary who runs a kennel at his vet in town. She even drove us there the day we left. She is such a wonderful hostess, and runs her business as though each guest were part of her family. She provides you with breakfast in the morning and anything else you might need that could make your trip more enjoyable (snorkel equipment, bicycles...just ask). From other experiences at the various resorts/cabanas around Tulum, Moni's hospitality has proven to be one of the best I've seen around the peninsula. I will definitely be back when it's time for another break from our new apartment in paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

An absolutely amazing place. Moni is a great host and all her staff did their best to make us feel like in paradise. Delicious breakfast, perfect beach and a very helpful staff. It is truthly an extraordinary place and will definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 96 in Tulum
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chan Cabanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chan Cabanita

Property: La Chan Cabanita
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 6.4 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77786, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chan Cabanita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic cabins with a amazing and pristine beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Chan Cabanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing