We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beachfront bungalows”
Review of Poc-na Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poc-na Tulum
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The bungalows were awesome!!! We had cabana #1. The beauty of the rooms were their simplicity. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean was amazing! The view from our room was like something off a magazine cover. We enjoyed napping in our hammock on our patio and viewing all the stars at night from our patio chairs. The housekeeper Griselda left us neat towel creations every day, that we looked forward to coming back to find. Our only complaint was the restaurant staff weren't attentive, so, we chose to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaseyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

My partner and I, having a seriously flawed first few days at Adonis (see other review) came here to salvage the vacation. We should have started here! The front row of cabanas immediately facing the ocean have aircon, and privately reserved palapas on the beach. The cabins are clean, but they are basic with the minimum of what you need. A comfortable bed, night stands, a closet, and a bathroom with shower. No TV, but look out the window or sit on your porch and its better than a movie.

Beach service is great. All the servers genuinely care that you are taken care of. Prices are reasonable. The restaurant is an Italian theme, and the food is fabulous. Give their pizzas a shot...really good. Or even better, find Angel (through the hotel workers) who will arrange to take you out fishing and snorkeling. Bring back your catch and have the restaurant serve it up to you! Nothing better.

If your looking for a Four Seasons, the entire region is wrong for you. If you're looking for good accommodations, fronting some of the best beach and ocean I've seen anywhere, come to La Vita e Bella! But please!!!...don't take my cabin!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TTJanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I just stayed at La Vita E Bella from July 13-17,2013. What a wonderful time we had there. We drove up and down the beach road visiting the fascinating resorts, restaurants and unique shops. We stayed in Beach Bungalow 1. What a great location. Privacy with the sand and sea feet away. And the water so warm but refreshing at anytime day or night. There was no a/c but the fans and windows open was plenty of ventilation and coolness. The room is funky but oh so much fun. The cleaning lady was superb. The breakfasts were fine and the sand restaurant was neat. Walking up to the Mezzannine for margaritas 2x1 from 1-4 was fabulous as well as their unique Thai food choices. Walking down toward the Tulum Ruins on the beach made for some fun eating at Paraiso (shrimp quesadillas). Salsa dancing a little further down and plenty of other activities you can do (kite flying, snorkeling on boats nearby, etc.). What a fun and beautiful beach to live on at La Vita E Bella. If you get a chance go to Yal Ha lagoon and do some fun snorkeling. On the way back from the lagoon stop at Buena Vita for some fabulous margaritas and food. Loved our stay here unforgettable ! Paul and Anne Vista, Ca.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had my pre-wedding dinner for 50 people at "La Vita e Bella" restaurant, and it was much better than expected. Great service, food, place, ambience! The manager, Michel, really went out of his way to make it an extraordinary night, and I'll always thank him for that!

"La Vita e Bella" is a must go when in Tulum.

Andres Bolotner

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ABolotner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Unlike the previous review which is very dubious here is how I got on in la vita e bella.
Stayed here with friends in early July and on first impression I was looking forward to our stay here. The positives - Location is excellent, room was small but right on the beach and restaurant staff are very friendly and accommodating.
The negatives - way overpriced. The nightly rates are too high for the level of accommodation you receive, you also have to pay 30 dollars extra for air conditioning which myself and my friends were not told about over the phone. Breakfast consists of three options and on each occasion I had to order more because it was so limited. The food in the restaurant is very expensive and only decent. There is a better Thai restaurant down the road. Finally you will see a man who must be a manager or owner walking around giving out to staff and never once willing to acknowledge any visitors when you pass him by. The front desk may appear more genuine but all you receive is lies about 24hr reception, events taking place in the hotel and their inclusive air con.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egans6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

You can't help but unplug, breathe deep and just love life here. I have been back many times, each time welcomed "home" as if I'm family. Even 3 years after my last visit, I went last week for lunch while staying in Playa del Carmen for a wedding and was welcomed with hugs.

This is not for the traveler who needs complimentary bathrobes and slippers. When you arrive at La Vita e Bella, you will take your shoes off and never need to put them back on. The baby powder like sand is your carpet, from room, to beach, to fantastic restaurant. Being off the grid and far from the bustling, noisy mega resorts to the North, the waves are the soundtrack to passing carefree, worry free, blissful days.

I love the rooms and their high, thatched roofs. They aren't super fancy, but they are romantic and private. I'm a big fan of the windows in the shower, just lovely looking out to the ocean while taking a nice, hot shower.

Food here is some of the best in Tulum. My other favorite is Zama's on the other end of the beach. Given the ex-pat Italian background, pizzas are super tasty and the wine list is top notch. Breakfast is my favorite meal here for sure but really, I can't say a bad thing about a single thing I've eaten.

If you're okay with rustic, or willing to give it a try, La Vita e Bella is powerfully charming and seductive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Positives - The location. The friendly staff in the restaurant. The cleaning staff.

Negatives- The price. We were told a different price over the phone to the price charged on arrival. Be careful of 30 dollar per night charge for air-conditioning. This was not mentioned to us on the phone while making the booking, in fact we we were told that air-conditioning was included. We argued upon check out and eventually the price was reduced however the manager was extremely ignorant - he wouldn't come out from behind a door to talk to us directly and allowed the girl working at reception to take the flak. It was laughable from a manager of a resort that bills itself as top-end (which the prices certainly are).

The restaurant, while serving good food, is also way overpriced. The breakfast is terrible and the reception is not 24 hour. We came home one night at 2am. Our key would not work in door and we waited at reception for over an hour. Nobody showed. Eventually we got our door open at around 4am.

We spent 600 dollars for 3 nights for accommodation, there is surely better value around Tulum.

Summary- go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpSweetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 100 in Tulum
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#83 of 100 in Tulum
319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-na Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-na Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum, a Boca Paila, km 1.5 | By The Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £58 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poc-na Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the beauty of our hotel, "Pocna" (A mayan name for a Hotel according to my neighbor), a handcrafted place in the middle of nature, located between the jungle and the beautiful beach of Tulum, Mexico, created and designed to soround you with the exotic nature that only Mexican Caribbean can deliver. Come find the natural beauty of Caribbean Sea, virgin beaches, jungle flora and fauna, all mixed in a rustic blend, but with all the comfort of an exclusive hotel, designed to let you enjoy a vacation in paradise. We are located in the National Park of Tulum (protected area), just 1 mile from the Mayan Ruins (Walking distance to the Ruins) and right in front of the powder white sand and pristine Turquoise water of Tulum! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vita e Bella Hotel Tulum
La Vita e Bella Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing