We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front view with sandy beach close to other Tulum options”
Review of Poc-na Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poc-na Tulum
Ranked #62 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ocean front view with sandy beach close to other Tulum options”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent 3 nights in a ocean front cabana (probably #6) Sept. 14-17. I would stay there again. In terms of my room, I found the bed firm and the linens clean. I didn't need air conditioning as the ocean breezes and ceiling fan were sufficent to make the room comfortable. Similarly, I didn't need to use the mosquito netting, and I did not encounter any bed bugs etc. The hotwater in the shower was more than ample for scrubbing off sun-bloc and washing sand out of hair etc. It was the rainy season with periodic winds and heavy rain intersperced with cloudy periods where I could enjoy the beautiful warm water covering firm sand with virtually no sea grass. The beach was comfortable for ample walking or running. I enjoyed having a deck with chairs as well as a hammock to just read while absorbing the oceans' sounds. The Mexican breakfast was ample and tasty, and I didn't get bored with it, but I was there with friends who occupied another cabana, and they like the other breakfast options too. We also had dinner there the first night, and the cheese pizza was very satisfying. My friends praised their fish entrees. We would have eaten there again but explored other options in Tulum as well as the excellent Thai offerings at the nearby Mezzanine. One suggestion I would offer the Front Desk is to keep a reservoir of 20 peso bills and coins to make change for 100 peso notes so guests can tip restaurant and cleaning staff appropriately. No hotels or restaurants seem to do this, so in mind, it would count as a true guest service!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 357joc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    158
    67
    39
    38
See reviews for
86
310
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent a long weekend at La Vita e Bella in mid-July. Arrived in the middle of the night, but they were expecting us. We reserved a room w/o air conditioning. While it was warm the waves from the beach were cooling enough.

Each beach front cabana gets it's own beach chair and umbrella. The beaches at the property are great.

Service is great in the lobby. But in the resturaunt 50/50 some great others ignored us (ie. the cashier). They hooked us up with a boat straight from the beach front to a good snorkling area. This guy was super!

Location is on the northern tip, so if you want a lot of resturaunt selections you need to go to the southern area. But we had a car and could easily drive 5 mins to super market and other resturants. Taxis are plentiful and also as useful.

The onsite resturuant was just ok. Breakfast was common. Ate further south and that was yummy. We went for long, long walks on the beach at the southern tip.

Room Tip: Cabana at the beach is a must have in the summer. The beach waves and no foot traffic make it a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here in Easter 2012 on a 12 day trip down driving down the coast; this was our highlight by far as the hotel offered a chilled out atmosphere, good italian food as well as a quiet beautiful beach- one of the best beaches I have ever seen. We had the cheapest room type which was very basic but good value. I would recommend a suite on the beach with AC as it can get quite stuffy. This is barefoot luxury as opposed to resort luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband & I recently returned from our week-long stay at La Vita e Bella in Tulum. Overall, we had a really enjoyable stay, and had a lovely week relaxing on the beach. We've been very lucky to travel all around the world, but this was our first trip to Mexico - and we were pleasantly surprised. Tulum area is still a bit "touristy" but no where near as crazy as Cancun or Maya Riviera areas. Tulum is quieter, a bit more bohemian feeling but you're definitely still paying higher "tourist" prices.

Our experience:
- Getting There: Very easy drive from Cancun airport, about 1.5 hours on a main road. We were unsure at first whether we wanted to tackle driving & worrying about a rental car, but we're so glad that we did. The area was very easy to drive to, and the rental car enabled us to go down the road to the grocery store (to avoid help counter-balance the high restaurant prices in the area) and we could also drive ourselves to the ruins (Coba) and cenotes on our own schedule. Rental car was only about $140 for the week with Hertz (we passed on the extra insurance as we already arranged for extra travel insurance via Amex before we left) and well worth it in our opinion.

- The Beach: the staffers really did a nice job of keeping the beach clean & tidy. The water was beautiful, most days it was as clear & teal blue as a swimming pool with soft, white sandy bottom at your feet. They have reserved lounge chairs for each bungalow, so you don't have to worry about fighting for space, and plenty of shade if you're not a sun-worshipper.

- Tulum Ruins: within a 20-25 minute walk from La Vita e Bella, and very pretty. The ruins are on the cliff-edge overlooking the ocean, and a fun half-day trip. Get up early to arrive when they open at 8a and avoid the large busses of people that daytrip in from Cancun. So glad that we did, as the morning there was very peaceful. Remember to pack a swimsuit as there is a private beach at the ruins for swimming. About 55 pesos each for entry fee.

- Hotel Bungalows: literally just a few feet from the beach & ocean. It's so nice to fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves. The bungalows are simple and perhaps even a bit rustic, but we'd take being close to nature over a large luxury resort any day. It takes a bit of time for the shower water to heat up, and it can get pretty hot at night without AC (they charge an extra $30 daily for use), but overall we were comfortable during our stay. The cleaning ladies will come daily and we'd usually leave a $2-$3 US tip each day. They did a great job of removing sand, and we enjoyed the creative towel art that we came home to each day. We stayed in Bungalow #1 and it was our favorite. #1 and #10 are the best and most private because they are at the ends. With that all said, the rooms could use a little updating. Mostly in terms of bedding and mattresses. We overheard another couple at the front desk complaining about bed bugs in their bungalow. We did not have that problem ourselves, but did experience a slight "BO funk" smell with the mattress. I imagine this is due to AC use not being encouraged, so sweat tends to soak into the mattress padding. We stayed in early October and with the fan on high, there was just enough breeze to keep us comfortable sleeping without AC at night, but if it were any warmer outside, we probably would've had to run it. While I usually prefer to not use AC whenever possible and was able to stay comfortable at night with just the fan, we were only able to do so by not using any blankets/sheets and the temps made cuddling near impossible. :( But overall, we enjoyed our stay just fine. No wifi in the rooms, but they do have it at the restaurant so we'd usually check our emails once a day while eating breakfast.

Hotel Restaurant: The food here was decent, mostly italian which involves a lot of carbs and pasta (which we try to avoid), but in general the restaurants in Tulum are pricier than we expected. Salads start around $10 US and lunch/dinner entrees can be around $15-$20. Margaritas/drinks also around $8-$10 each. Cervesas were decent at about $3 ea, but after a few days in and noticing how much money we were spending on food & drink, we deciding to go to the grocery store to stock up on some food neccessities (like beer/liquor, juice, snacks, fresh fruit, pb & jelly, bread, etc). There's a large Chedrau right down the road and the hotel allows you to keep a cooler in the room (you just can't bring it out to the beach). Breakfast was included in the room fee, which was generally yummy, but after staying at the hotel for 7 days, I was getting a bit tired of the 3 choices. One is mexicano (scrambled eggs, guac, beans, a few small slices of fruit, & fruit juice -which we got most days), another is american (pancakes & fruit juice - which we try to avoid sweets for breakfast) and the other was continental (a plate full of carbs - toast, croissant, muffin, fruit juice and a few small slices of fruit). I tried all 3 which were good but the mexicano seemed the healthiest. Just got a bit tired of eating it after a few days, I think if they could offer just one more (simply a bowl of fruit with some yogurt/granola on the side) it would have made breakfast much more enjoyable for me. Sometimes I simply opted for a pb&j sandwich in my hotel room since I was growing tired of eating the mexicano.

Staff: All very friendly and willing to help. We only know a little bit of Spanish between the 2 of us, but we were able to get by just fine. Not all staffers spoke English, but if our Spanish failed us, we could always manage to get what we needed just fine. The front desk employees do speak English. The young lady named Carmen at the front desk was amazing. She was so helpful with anything we needed, whether it be driving directions, or scoop on the best cenote to visit, or favorite restaurants. She was genuinely eager & happy to help. We looked forward to talking to her every day. Another gentleman also worked the desk at times, who was nice as well, but every time we spoke with him we always felt like he was trying to sell us on something - a daytrip, a massage, snorkeling, etc. We started to avoid him after a while. The front desk had a bottled water-fountain, which was a huge help, so that we could refill our water bottles for hydrating each day. Cleaning services would also give 2 small water bottles in the bathroom but we generally used those for brushing our teeth etc. So the drinking water at the front desk was much appreciated.

Lots to Do Nearby: We woke up early one day to make it to Coba by 9a to see the ruins (about a 45 min drive from the hotel). Was able to climb to the top of one of the largest, and get some great pictures. The busses with hoards of tourists start rolling in quickly though, so the earlier you can get there, the better. Once inside, pay the 35 pesos each for your own bike to get around - it will help you see everything quicker & beat the crowds. The ruins are quite spread out and covers quite a large ditsance. We stayed there for a few hours, lunched at La Paramide (something like that) which had an all you can eat lunch buffet for 120 pesos each which was very yummy. Suggest bringing a swimsuit with you to Coba as there are many cenotes you drive by on the way back to Tulum, to help cool off. Once back at Tulum, we also spent 2 hours snorkeling with the gentlemen who lives next to La Vita e Bella - Anhel I believe it was. Very sweet guy, big smile. ~250 pesos per person. We saw lots of great fish and then went to a neat spot where a fresh-water cenote river was emptying in to the sea. It was really amazing to see & try to swim in (strong current!).

Food Recommendations: The Mezzanine hotel next door has a 2 for 1 happy hour on margaritas from 1-4p. The margaritas were sooo yummy (passionfruit, pomengranate, raspberry mint, etc.) and very strong. We usully stopped here every day to take a break from drinking cervesas. The food is really good too but expensive as well. We tried the panga appetizers, the chicken skewers, the fish curry, fish tacos, and the chicken pesto wrap all of which were very good. La Tebano is 10 minutes down the street but also very good menu of food - our most expensive dinner out for the week though. Near Tabano, Matteo's has great fish tacos and a wonderful sunset view on their top balcony. Our favorite though was across the street at Piedra Escondida. The garlic fish was delish, and they also had 2 for 1 mixed drinks from 1-4 (although not as strong as Mezzanine would make them). Piedra patio though has a very lovely private beach cove & view, and so cute at night with the lit candles. They also had a $15 US 3-course special which I wish we had found sooner (included coffee/tea, salad, fish or chicken entree, and gelato for dessert).

Room Tip: #1 or #10 were the best & most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelersFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Honeymoon! After staying for a week in a mega resort in Playa Del Carmen we were fed up with the lack of freedom and "feeling trapped". We went a bit south to Tulum and found this amazing spot our Lonely Planet. Oh man was it amazing!! Right on the white sand, bungalows, incredible food and drinks and absolutely top notch service. Every day our house keeper made our room feel incredibly welcoming, and left us different animals made from bath towels. Absolutely incredible! We left with an amazing impression, but we will for sure return... With loads of friends! Everyone needs to oh check this place out!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Let me start by saying is not the place to go if you are looking for luxury. But this place has everything you might need for a few days in one of the most beautiful beaches of Mexico.
We stayed in a room with ac (important in the summer) and ocean view.
You get your own lounge chair and umbrella so you have nothing to worry about.
Food is good, most of the times. If you like fish make sure you let them know you want the catch of the day. They also offer lobster at a reassonable price.
Service is good and is one of the reassons why I like to go there. Everybody is so friendly, they will make sure you have everything you need. Just understand where you are, this is a secluded beach in Mexico, smiling is mandatory.
So if you want to relax and connect with nature and yourself, this might be the place you are looking for.
Don t forget to go for a walk on the beach at night. Just amazing!!!!l

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedeuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The bungalows were awesome!!! We had cabana #1. The beauty of the rooms were their simplicity. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean was amazing! The view from our room was like something off a magazine cover. We enjoyed napping in our hammock on our patio and viewing all the stars at night from our patio chairs. The housekeeper Griselda left us neat towel creations every day, that we looked forward to coming back to find. Our only complaint was the restaurant staff weren't attentive, so, we chose to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaseyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#76 of 96 in Tulum
300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#17 of 96 in Tulum
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#22 of 96 in Tulum
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poc Na Tulum
Hotel Poc Na Tulum
#39 of 83 in Tulum
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Paraiso Tulum
El Paraiso Tulum
#15 of 83 in Tulum
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poc-na Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poc-na Tulum

Property: Poc-na Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum, a Boca Paila, km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poc-na Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the beauty of our hotel, "Pocna" (A mayan name for a Hotel according to my neighbor), a handcrafted place in the middle of nature, located on the most beautiful beach of Tulum, Mexico, created and designed to soround you with the exotic nature that only Mexican Caribbean can deliver.Come find the natural beauty of Caribbean Sea, virgin beaches, jungle flora and fauna, all mixed in a rustic blend, but with all the comfort of an exclusive hotel, designed to let you enjoy a vacation in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vita e Bella Hotel Tulum
La Vita e Bella Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing