We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, beautiful spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We loved everything about Ana y Jose. First, its setting on the beach is beyond beautiful. Our room (Arenas) was great - very spacious and comfortable and had its own beautiful pool and outdoor sitting area). Breakfasts were fantastic in the sand-floor restaurant. No shoes necessary! Service was lovely from reception to waitstaff, etc. This is a great place for a romantic getaway and appears to be the must luxe of all the Tulum beach strip accommodations (BeTulum looks really nice too but it's probably more hip to Ana y Jose's more private and cozy). We'd highly recommend Ana y Jose and would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCExplorer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    145
    42
    41
    35
See reviews for
139
277
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

First at all, I have to write that we stayed at three hotel in Tulum, so we had the chance to compare a little bit. Ana y Jose is a nice spot with clean beach and a swimming pool. Rooms are big with aircon (not easy to get in Tulum), clean bath and minibar. The staff at reception is very friendly and professional (especially Ignacio). The food at the restaurant is very good (so my experiance and I am not very easy). With the staff at the restaurant is a bit more complicated. Some guys are super and pay great attention to the customer, others less, which is sometime disappointing. Especially considered the room rates. A beach front room is rated around $350. Which is a lot if you are used to hotels in this range located in Asia other even other part of Mexico. The problem is that Tulum is an expensive spot...to expensive in my opinion. Anyway, to things more: as couple we didn't expect so many families in the hotel. So think about that you will have a lot of children. If the hotel nearby will have a marriage expect loud music in the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directview, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your comment, we attend all our guest with love and detail also. We look forward to see you again in Tulum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great place to scape from reality. The ambience is right and the food is fresh, simple and very tasty.
It was here where we had the best Ceviche de Pescado and the best Mojitos in our latest trip to Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

The room was really charming and clean
The hotel is nice, quiet, not a lot of people, perfect for romantic adventure in tulum
The beach is amazing qnd the mqssaes are really well too

The only concern could be the service : they are not really speed
But it makes you more quiet also
Really nice place to stay ( I don t understand the negative comments : wind is not an Ana y Jose issue : it is the weather )

I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassis21082007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Visited this location for lunch and the beach. Well of course the beach was GREAT. Just gorgeous. The beaches all along this area of Tulum are just incredible...a must see. Now for the food...it was just OK...nothing to write home about..haha. And over priced. For three of us it was OVER $750 pesos. the food came to about $650 pesos, then the 11% VAT (typical for the area) and then there was another 10% Service tax...and then they expected a tip. We asked of the 'service' 10% and was told that it was a 'tax' for all the employee!! WHAT??? (and this was not a misunderstanding as our friend is fluent in spanish!!)...so now add the tip....you do the math. Needless to say, the beach clubs can be expensive but this was crazy. Again, beautiful place, beach etc....but beware of food prices.

Room Tip: again, was only there for the view and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookyM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at Ana y Jose for 4 nights with a girlfriend and had a lovely time. We reserved a garden suite (these rooms are huge), but were upgraded to an ocean-front cabana for our final two days. As instructed, we packed up our stuff on Day 3, and when we returned to the hotel that evening after an excursion, our bags were already in our new room (didn't have to lift a finger). Our ocean-front cabana was small, but lovely - 5 steps away from the beach, with its own porch and hammock (great for reading and napping when you wanted a break from the beach). Note that there are no doors separating the bathroom area from the rest of the room - which might be awkward if you are traveling with someone you haven't known for very long.

This place was on the more expensive side as compared to many of the other beachfront properties in Tulum (A/C and 24 hr electricity were a must for me), but it was worth every penny! The details are what make the difference -- and Ana y Jose did not disappoint. Full breakfast was included in the room rate (and it was really good). The staff was fantastic (particularly, Ignacio, who was instrumental in planning our excursions).

I have no complaints whatsoever, but we did notice that the cabana had hot water issues in the early evenings (busy shower times, I guess). I also thought it would have been nice to have additional lighting in the garden suites (these rooms got less natural light, given the position of the building).

Overall, stellar experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Loved the spot, as hotel is located in a gorgeous beach in Tulum. Also loved the breakfast, as food is delicious and served by helpful and coruteous staff, in the restaurant which has a beautiful view. On the other hand, believe that rooms are outdated and run-down and need some renovations. Also, during our stay the hotel had issues with running water, as one of the pumps was damaged. As a result of this problem, our room had no water for almost a whole day. The situation was poorly handled by employees, as no one provided clear explanations nor practical solutions to this problem, also we did not get any visibility on when they would be able to solve this problem. While I realize that the area does not have conveniences of any big city, would expect a more professional reaction from hotel staff in this price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulum
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 96 in Tulum
809 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 96 in Tulum
865 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#43 of 96 in Tulum
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
680 reviews
3.8 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#25 Family Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing