We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Beach, over priced, but "nice" ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular Beach, over priced, but "nice" ...”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

ROOMS: I stayed in a beach front room for 5 days in April. My room was over the bar. It was poorly lit and barely ventilated ... and the ceiling fan did not work. Luckily there was a small air conditioner - which was great as it is humid and very windy (so you cant leave the french doors open). The bathroom was nice, but water pressure was poor. A friend rented the house. It is absolutely gorgeous and he had none of the problems I mentioned... but it is near the back of the property - away from the beach and I wanted to hear the waves.
RESTAURANT: Breakfast is included. Fresh Oj is wonderful. Breakfast average. After several meals I found the eggs Benedict the best. Lunch was poor. I ordered a salad. The greens were solely cilantro. So I ordered some spinach. It was tough. DINNER on the other hand was perfect. Perhaps a different chef?
BEACH: Spotless, water clear, but REALLY big waves. Fun to watch the Kite boarders but best to swim in the pool - which is kept very clean.
Surroundings: Hippy Palm Beach meets Cape Hatteras.
Day trip: Punta Allen ~ it's the real deal.
TIPS: Often included... so be VERY careful (It took us several days to catch on). If not included add 10%
WARNING: This is Mexico. Roads and pavements are not that well maintained - even on PRICEY hotel property.
To make my point: On our last night, I was the designated driver walking along the hotel pathway to the parking lot. There wide was a step down. No problem had I seen the hole in-between the pathway, the step down, and the parking lot. As it was one foot fell into a two foot deep hole. My knee and ankle were "wrenched". My knee instantly swelled and I could not walk. It really put a damper on the evening - as I could not go out - and the trip home was painful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Sally, thank you for your time in review your stay, we find very help full all your comments.

We hope to welcome you again in Tulum

Regards

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    140
    41
    41
    34
See reviews for
132
274
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We went to Tulum on the recommendation of my son & his girlfriend
He suggested Ana y Jose as one of the hotels we should look into
They had availablity ( I did this all 1 week prior to booking a trip)
I found the hotel very romantic ..
LOCATION WAS GREAT.... EASY WALK TO EVERYTHING
Situated on a great beach
Delicious drinks great ceviche
Breakfast was OK ..nothing great
Service was fair though they tried hard
Room Desero was very nice I think a bit pricey for Tulum but we went for... it was large & had a great view of the ocean
i could have lived w/o the jacuzzi (hot tub )it took forever to fill so by the time you got in it wasnt hot any longer

we moved to another room during or stay whch had very poor lighting & they brought in a lamp which helped alot

They do try to please
i would certainly reccommend this hotel




We were totally blown away
The beautiful beaches the cool low key vibe & great restaurants made this a truly wonderfukl vacation

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolgNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank yo so much for share your experience, we love to hear that you like our service.
Hop to welcome you again soon.

Regards
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel, but visited the beach club for a couple hours on our last day in Tulum. We parked in the main parking area and locked the vehicle. While we were enjoying the beach, our car was broken into and our luggage was stolen. We only discovered this as we were leaving for the airport and had no time to file a police report. The staff seemed less than surprised and offered very little help. If you go here, do not leave a single thing in your vehicle, but be wary, your vehicle may even disappear too. This beach club does very little to assure visitors of any security. You'd think with the prices they charge, they could hire a security guard. Clearly, they do not care about their clients personal possessions.

As for the food... Another rip off. Do not order the fish tacos. You will wonder if there is even any fish in them, except for the fishy smell. The guacamole was the worst we had on our trip. I will say, however, the fish ceviche was good, just as advertised. Maybe that is the only thing they do right at Ana y Jose. Nonetheless, we will not return to this place on our next visit to Tulum. Stick with Playa Azul. Great food and drinks, wonderful staff, and nothing sketchy going on there.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Sorry to hear this unique sad story, the beach club is open to public and every ones is welcome, we love to serve all of you only with the best of us.

Sincerely
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we used the beach club and restaurant for several days and loved the services. We used the spa and the beach rentals. We ate both lunch and dinner in the restaurant over looking the beach. Food and drinks were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reenietalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your time in review our services, we are focus in get better service every time, and we are happy to know that you had a nice experience with us, I hope that you stay with us next time.

Manager
Ana y Jose Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had a spectacular suite overlooking the beach and open air restaurant in front. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the view. The balcony was in the shade with cushioned chaise longues and a hammock. Since it was cold out of the sun in mid March we used it very little. But it was lovely. The breakfast was really first class. You could choose anything and there was everything. Beautiful fresh juices, an amazing plate of fresh fruits sprinkled with granola and yoghourt and pancakes with crispy bacon and honey. A huge menu of eggs and Mexican breakfast specials with beans. In the evening the dinner was excellent too. At lunch time we had empanadas with fish. Delicious. The beach here is gorgeous with amazing fine sand and you can walk in either direction and see pelicans. We were very happy with our choice. One oddity the bathroom is open to the bedroom (behind the bed and entrance door) and the toilet is open too. We would have preferred more privacy but never mind! It was lovely. There are tons of fun restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. Its very well located.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea have wonderful views. Our suite was Encantada and had an outdoor shower as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenario34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We love to hear that you have a wonderful time, at Ana y Jose we do our every day service with love to get your satisfaction, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Manager
Ana y Jose Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days and wished for more. Rooms are lovely although quite close together so can hear your neighbours ;). The restaurant is fantastic with great tropical atmosphere. Staff are so friendly and nothing is a problem. Tulum is a so laid back and relaxing and this place fits in perfectly. Went a couple of others for meals and would rate ana y Jose the best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed in the front pool villa for our honeymoon, fantastic room and great location. Overall the hotel was fabulous. Great service, comfy bed and would stay again. The only downside were the cocktails- they need to train the bartender how to make these but that was the only complaint

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your time in review our hotel, of course we will work with the bartender today.

Hope to welcome you soon....

Regards
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#22 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#50 of 95 in Tulum
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#47 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#25 Family Hotel in Tulum
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing