We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sparkling gem on the azure Caribbean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sparkling gem on the azure Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Selected originally by our travel agent for a wind down couple of days. We were immediately taken in by the location and the facilities. Beautiful beach huts, restaurant service to the water, staff who see to your every need. Nothing else that we could have asked for.

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurant area if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    135
    41
    40
    34
See reviews for
127
267
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Upon arrival i was very pleased but from there on it was down the hill. the staff was friendly and accommodating except the beach boy/man - very rude. at a glance the rooms seem nice but if you look close, mold is everywhere. by the end of our stay i discovered that the whole bathroom was covered with it. the bedroom also had mold in the corners, when i brought it up with the manger and asked for a discount he say no, it was too late to change the room since we where leaving. there is also a horrible smell in the bathroom due to the mold. there mosquito problem is huge!!! i can go on with all the problems but it just gets me very mad...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Would we go back? NO, ONLY IF...
... you sort out your generator and make it sound proof; make sure that the neighbouring bars in the evening stop playing loud music till early morning; the staff and gardeners are quiet in the morning; GET EARPLUGS WHEN YOU GO THERE, please get a shower next to the pool, not ‘miles’ away located next to the communal toilets, which the staff uses as well by the way; sort out your pestilential sewage smell next to the reception - it was nice of you to light a candle every night with the fragrance oil but it would be better that you sort out the plumbing problems; please built separate treatment rooms, three people in one large room, just separated with curtains is not good enough - I loved the sound of the sea while having a massage but the snoring of the man next to me spoiled it totally, don't serve the same bread every day mornings, lunch and evening, and mornings again just toasted, it is delicious but too repetitive...running out of time - could go on
The kitchen is excellent - never had a better octopus in my live! they also cook dishes in a wood fired oven. Beach is is wonderful, don't bother snorkelling hardly anything left
It could be a splendid place - unfortunately a lot of work needs to be done first!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RL_London2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

enjoyed our stay. nice place, excellent beach. the service is good but not great. when we arrived, our room was not ready, i would expect a free drink or something at least. staff is helpful but that dont go out of their way. pretty pricey for what you get. food is good but not great. location is a LONG walk from anyplace interesting. DONT TRY TO DRIVE TO PUNTA ALLEN

Room Tip: rooms with private pool are nice but the pool is not heated and way too cold to swim in during winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelAlot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Ana y Jose is indeed a charming hotel and the becah is AMAZING! However, I expected the rooms to be a bit more modern and thought service was slow and confusing. We stayed at a bungalow in front of the beach and it felt that it could be a bit more cleaner and modern. Maybe this is the standard that should be expected in Tulum, but we were a bit disappointed. The ffod however, was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelaNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliveunique, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you Marcela for your comments, this is the charm of tulum, we offer some extra like AC, minibar, coffee makers wifi….we will do our best to get better every day….

Regards
ANA Y JOSE
TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

In addition to the hotel rooms they have some detached cottages on the beach. This is the perfect beach hotel. We always plead with friends going to Cancun to change their plans and go to Ana y Jose instead. Try to book one of the detached cottages. The dining is mostly outside. every night at least one of us had the fresh lobster flamed in Tequilla. It is also fun to walk to the right facing the ocean and walk to dinner at the next hotel but only for one night because the food is really great at Ana y Jose. didvI mention the lobster? The area right at the hotel is a cool beach town with some great coffee shops ans stores. The atmosphere of Ana zy Jose is perfect. A great day trip is the undeveloped ruins about 40 minutes from the hotel on the road in the direction of Belize and they have a cool boat ride and hiking there. ask them at the hotel they will direct you.
I do not recommend the spa treatment where they bake you in the oven like thing on the beach it is too hot. It's a fantastic hotel and a great location. Very special

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliveunique, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you Val so much for your time in review your stay, this help us a lot to get better in our job that we do with love by the way…

We hope to welcome you again soon

ANA Y JOSE
TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Absolutely can't go wrong with Ana & Jose. Although the food isn't great, the service, location, cleanliness and facility is terrific. Ana & Jose is over priced but has parking and a great location. The cabanas are reserved for the nicer sea-side suites and the $600 (high season) garden rooms get chaises as available. Nice sofas for lounging near restaurant. Management is a little uptight for a Mexico beach vacation.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely but the beach cabanas are reserved for the sea view suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdknight87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana y Jose T, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
For your tips and review thank you so much…we hope to welcome you soon in Ana y Jose….

ANA Y JOSE
TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#21 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#35 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#25 Family Hotel in Tulum
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing