We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of casual + luxury + Mexican hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect combination of casual + luxury + Mexican hospitality”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the end of July for 4 days and had an excellent experience. We stayed in 119 and our friends stayed in 121. Both were beautiful and well equipped air conditioning and with balconies overlooking the ocean. Both came with private bed/cabanas on the beach. The food was good (especially breakfast) and service was excellent. We rented a car for our stay (get a jeep) and went off property into town for dinners. This is a relaxing, romantic, beautiful boutique hotel where the staff is as warm as the water. We will be back. Order the fresh guacamole beachside (from Pablo if he is there). It was terrific.

Room Tip: Larger oceanfront suites on second floor are excellent. They have big outdoor tub/showers that are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliveunique, Public Relations Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your time in review your stay with us, we love to read comments that help others to choose hotel for their next Tulum vacations.

GRUPO ANA Y JOSE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    140
    41
    41
    34
See reviews for
132
274
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Skip ever considering Cancun or Playa del Carmen, in this part of Mexico you want to go to Tulum. And when you get to Tulum, Ana y Jose offers you a down to earth type luxury you want in a place located on the beach. Great service, great food, great beach, great rooms and the fact that this is not crowded makes it a sure winner!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at Ana Y Jose in June. It was amazing! From the minute we got there and were served our welcome glass of wine we felt at home. Tulum is a pretty magical place and, in my opinion, what makes it so incredible and relaxed is its lack of any corporate or large hotels which keeps the culture and raw beauty preserved. Ana Y Jose provides you the level of service of any 4 -5 star hotel, while keeping true to its roots which is somewhat of a rarity in Tulum. The beach was quiet, beautiful, and extremely peaceful as the hotel is only 20-25 rooms or so. As with most of Tulum, this isn't a place you go to "party" this is a place you go to get away and relax. They provide you with modern amenities (and turn down service at night) while letting you enjoy the raw beauty of the Caribbean. Food was fresh, Beers were cold, and Drinks were made to order! We were just looking for a great place to "get away" while having modern comforts and Ana Y Jose was perfect.

Room Tip: We paid up from the lower tier rooms for a Jacuzzi on our porch and the extra $30 a day was well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for seven nights at the end of a hectic trip around Mexico. The reception is one side of the road and the hotel rooms and restaurant the other. Our room was nice and large, air conditioning worked well we had access to a small pool shared by four rooms, but with such a fantastic beach why wouldn't you lay on a beach sunbed! The waiter service on the beach was haphazard but friendly as were all the staff we came across. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant and food was excellent along with a good choice of wines, and i felt the prices were reasonable considering you are in a top class hotel. Excellent range of cocktails in the bar again with friendly chatter. Breakfast was good though mainly egg based! The only down side was a big group of people, not all from this hotel, congregated on the beach to chat and drink which spoilt the tranquility a bit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NettyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here, and we highly recommend Ana Y Jose's Charming Hotel. I walked the length of the Tulum beach, and Ana Y Jose's is by far the nicest place. The negative Trip Advisor reviews are not consistent with our experience. Contrary to other Trip Advisor reports, the staff was attentive, and our experience at the restaurant was pleasant. I loved the white sand floors in the outdoor restaurant. The beach setting is idyllic with powdery white, clean sand, palm trees, and a gorgeous view of the aquamarine ocean. We were very happy with the quality of our room which was well appointed. The bed was high quality and furnishings were much nicer than you will find in a large hotel. The private pool was in great condition, quiet and a nice bonus to our stay. We will recommend Ana Y Jose's to our friends, and most certainly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Note: This is a dinner only experience, we did not stay in the hotel. Four of us had dinner here on a Friday night. The service was terrific and we loved the menu selections. Three feature octopus; I ordered the grilled and it was an excellent piece of fish cooked very well. The three other diners were very happy with their meals, portions were perfect, prices were fair. We were very well taken care of by our servers and the chef came out to describe our dinners-cool! Tables are in sand in the indoor/outdoor experience, no view of the water, but very lovely ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWarrior2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We just went for lunch after a good friend recommendation and found an unexpected, hidden and Beautiful setting, excellence in service, delicious and vast food, great wine selection, nice view and the best Sopa de Lima ever. Next time we will stay there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 95 in Tulum
854 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#45 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#56 of 95 in Tulum
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#25 Family Hotel in Tulum
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing