We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with ample space, services not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel and property were beautiful; however, food was not as I had hoped with very few healthy options. The hotel also did not have the water turned on when we checked in. The hot water in the room took 10 minutes to come on and the Jacuzzi tub which appeared so eloquently in the pictures did not produce hot water and took over one hour to fill up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_Zieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I hate it when hotels get you on being all inclusive as a means of trapping you in their confines. Not that I mind getting out and exploring, but when you pay $400 for a room that includes your beverages and meals, it makes sense to eat at least one meal a day at the resort. We decided to go for lunch, and were disappointed by the selection of overcooked foods and the salad bar with it's flies. So we went out to get tacos on the town. The next morning, we hoped for a better breakfast buffet. Nope. Even worse than lunch. Everything was chewy and weird tasting. The room was ok. But the hot tub afforded NO hot water, which was a big let down. The rooms did stay nice and cool, which, I think, was the only plus side of staying at this resort rather than any of the other "eco-friendl" cabanas on the beach. Oh yeah, and there is no mentionable beach here. Just a man-made sand pit with sun chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Tulum for a wedding from 5/29 - 6/2. The hotel where the wedding took place, did not suit our needs, so we booked Zenserenity. What a find! Beautiful rooms with in-room Jacuzzi's; refrigerators; air conditioning (rare in Tulum); beautiful, tranquil grounds; good gym; expansive pool with swim-up bar; a great sea view, but note, it is not suitable for swimming but for sea gazing, its phenomenal; many covered lanai's; and the best part of this entire hotel: the people - they were all genuinely warm and friendly. From gardener to cook; from maid to check-in; from server to bellman - everyone smiled; said "hola" and went out of their way to provide top-notch service. In particular, we enjoyed "Gama" and "Flor" who served us breakfast each morning - such nice people. It's all inclusive, but we only had one evening meal there, which was good, not great; however, the breakfasts which were primarily Mexican-themed, were well-done, as was lunch. Not gourmet, but good, fresh well-made food. We loved the hotel where the wedding took place: very Tulum: eco-friendly; right on the beach; palapa rooms and the like; but we enjoyed coming back to the spacious and comfortable Zenserenity. A terrific value and beautiful place to call home for a few days...

Room Tip: Our room was a basic room, but it was superb: spacious bed and sleeping area; step down living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

When we checked in, the DJ by the pool was going full blast, people were making out in the pool, and sloppy drunk kids were throwing footballs into people's drinks. So much for Zen. Turns out there was a wedding our weekend, so unfortunately the other guests ruined our vacation arrival days. Perhaps hotel management should be more conscious of who they book. But Pesos talk.

Once they left, it got better, but we lost 2 vacation days already.

The room was nicely appointed and amenities were great. The air conditioner sounded like a garbage disposal when it kicked in.

Grounds are immaculate. And the best part about the whole place is the staff. Lena at the front desk is a charmer. All are were willing to do anything we wanted or needed. always witha smile on their faces...love the folks in Mexico.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rickymiabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I booked this last year when it was still Adonis.

At first I was concerned about the concept change, but we decided to keep our reservations anyway. I am so glad that we did!!!! The place and the staff are amazing!!!! The rooms were well appointed and always cleaned; the staff was fantastic; the hot tub in the room was wonderful;
the food was pretty good; the drinks were fantastic; and the spa was great!

Marco (bartender) is wonderful; Sofia (front desk) made sure that we always had everything that we needed; Flor (waitress) is just about the sweetest person ever; Guadalupe (gift shop) is a wealth of information; and then there is Jorge (room service)...

JORGE IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! The funniest, sweetest guy ever!!!!

(I know that I am forgetting people, but...)

In addition, all of the guests that we encountered were great.

There was a water issue one day, but it was quickly resolved, so instead of faulting them for the water issue, I will praise them for the swiftness with which it was rectified.

I could go on and on, but I won't. Just suffice to say that we had a lovely time.

If you go, tell Jorge and Marco that Mister Paul and Mister Eric said hello!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had the oportunity to stay at this hotel for a wedding last weekend, and I had a great time! Hotel personel are warm and welcoming all the time, beautiful sorroundings and confortable and spacious hotel rooms. Wedding ceremony at sunrise made our experience even more magical.
Taste and quality of the food was great but dinner at the wedding reception was extraordinary. Thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianabalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the resort from April 3rd to the 7th. We had a blast! We booked it over a year in advance. It was Adonis at the time and we did get notified of the concept change around November 2013. We totally didn't mind it. It was our first time going to an all-inclusive resort and we wanted a real vacation. Worry free and just relaxing.

The whole wellness and spa aspect of the resort was great. The calmness and serene environment was fitting for the concept. It was quiet, peaceful and just perfect for a real vacation. Our focus was to go on vacation and not do too much touristy things. We didn't mind that there were no activities on the resort. The yoga in the morning was awesome since my husband and I got a one-on-one class with the instructor. The pool was great. We didn't mind not having access to a beach since we're not beach people anyway.

The entire staff were great! Marco, who bartended the pool bar, was the best! He entertained us with his knowledge of tequila and his other favorite spirits. The meals were great! We didn't fret over any staff for being slow or forgetting about our drink order while we sat beside the pool. It was a vacation so no stressing over nothing.

This is the place to be if you really want to stay in a quiet resort away from kids or hustle and bustle of a party resort. It is a wellness and spa so expect it to have minimal things so you can actually enjoy a real vacation.

The room is awesome! It was cleaned every day. We stayed on the first floor and no issues. Although, the door did shake a little due to the winds blowing in and out of the building, but we were close to the beach so no big whoop.

This is the best place to go for vacation and we will definitely be coming back in the near future. We met great people there..both gay and straight.

Room Tip: If you want to use the jacuzzi, but have the room/windows open to enjoy the open air and breeze, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulum
16.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
14.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
23.9 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,137 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort

Address: Carr.Tulum Boca Paila Km 3.8 Lote 48 | Carretera Federal Playa - Tulum, Tulum 77789, Mexico (Formerly Zenserenity Wellness Resort Tulum)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £165 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort is a temple of health and beauty devoted to the fine art of indulge and relax our guests. Located in the Paradise of Tulum. Only 90 minutes away from Cancun International Airport. Is the perfect place to enjoy an extraordinary Wellness Holistic Experience where you will find the right balance for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kore Tulum Retreat and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing