We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for independent travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Ranked #20 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for independent travellers”
Reviewed 30 November 2006

We chose Tita based on reviews on this website. All in all, I think it was perfect for us, but some people may not like it. Here are the positives:

-Beautiful location on an absolutely immaculate and gorgeous beach. It is far enough down the road to be away from the larger properties, and so you really do get that "end of the world" feeling when you first step out onto the sand.

-Perfectly good restaurant on site. The breakfast was particularly tasty.

-Clean and comfortable cabanas with 24 hour electricity.

If that is what you are looking for, as we were, then you can't go wrong with Tita. Needy travellers should look elsewhere, however. The cabanas are not bug-proof, so you should be prepared to sleep under the mosquito net at night. This is the kind of place that is not constantly in your face to offer you tours, or tell you about stuff that's going on, or recommend activities or anything like that. There are only 8 cabanas, so there is not a big social scene at this place either. You will want your own rental car for sure. We like doing our own thing and exploring, and so Tita was perfect for us.

Some other recommendations: Mezzanine and especially Posada Margherita for dinner. Little places in town are very good for lunch, like Don Cafeto's, Charlie's, and any of the grilled chicken joints. The food at Zamas and Ana y Jose is dull and overpriced. Tulum and Coba ruins are worth it for sure. We got a massage at dusk at Coqui Coqui one night, and the mosquitos were so vicious it was impossible to enjoy it. Book any spa treatments for during the day.

Tulum is AMAZING and we highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Liked — Beach, serene environment, beauty.
  • Disliked — Water in the shower is brackish and very low water pressure.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a cooler and some ice at a store and buy your own beverages, it will save you a bundle.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2006

My husband & I just returned from Tita Tulum..stayed 4 nights & it was truly heaven! We arrived at night, which was alittle nerve racking driving from Cancun. There was road construction so it was alittle intimidating for our first driving experience in Mexico! But..when we pulled into the entrance to the resort, we couldn't have been more "enchanted" by the whole ambiance of the setting! The tiki lights & the sound of the ocean & nobody around but the waiters at the outside restaurant! We were escorted to our beachfront cabana (#5) right on the beach..with flashlights & left to ourselves for the next days. The room was cleaned immacuately every day & we used the hammocks on our front porch & walked the beach & relaxed. The restaurant was abit pricey for dinner.. but average as we found around the area..$50.00 for wine & dinner for 2.. We would definately go back & take friends or family..maybe take over the whole place for a week!! Just hope the Tulum beach area doesn't change from the laid back atmosphere it has.

  • Liked — the privacy & the beach front access
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing!
  • Tips/Secrets — #5 is a great room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank farmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodega Bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

If you want to escape the "Vegas" scene in Cancun, Playa del Carmen, and Cozumel, and truly want to live on the beach in a simple, but wonderful palaba, then this is the place.

One would have difficulty finding a more romantic south seas location. The beaches are safe and friendly, and the whole area is somewhat "hippie chic". Beaches tend to be clothing optional, water warm, and people friendly.

Tita offers wonderful food. Try the brochetta. . .the service is excellent and the stay is relaxing. The only thing I would do differntly is come in the Spring. It was very hot and rainy, and the bugs were present at night. None of this happens during Spring.

I have traveled extensively around the world and I recommend Tita's as a true vale and experience. And, although I mentioned it was clothing optional, there was no pressure to anyone to either wear or not wear bathing suits. It was very comfortable.

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — wrong time of year to truly benefit from Tita's.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great plade to let go. You might bring mosquito repellent.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Bodegabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed at Tita for a few days in August 2006.
What a dream place, the view from the cabanas is fantastic, palm trees, white sand, blue caribbean sea, and if you are lucky you might get to see the turtles laying eggs at night.
The room was very clean and comfortable, there were mosquito screens and mosquito nettings over the beds, but we still managed to get bitten during the evenings sitting in the restaurant, but hey! this is the jungle you are staying in.
The beach is miles of pure white sand, with very few people around, so it seems you have it for yourself. The water was so warm and calm it was fantastic. The most difficult decision of the day was whether to sit under the palapa, go for a swim, swing from the hammock, read a book, or sit under the palapa.......yet again!
This is a very romantic place to stay, for total relaxation and get-away from it all. The staff is friendly, the food in the restaurant is good. All you hear at night is the sound of the waves.
You won't regret your stay here, it is simply fantastic.

  • Liked — peace, quiet and the sound of the waves
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — just go!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pizza&salsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

I just wanted to add this comment to all the typically positive comments about the beauty of the beach at Tita Tulum and the generally excellent facilities at the hotel. I could not agree more with these opinions. But what made our stay of two weeks all the better was how easy it was to work with Ricardo. I booked by e-mail and paid the deposit by PayPal. When we arrived Ricardo met us and showed us our room. When my wife asked if we needed to register Ricardo shrugged his shoulders and said we could take care of that when we leave. We miscommunicated in our e-mails about a move from our first scheduled room near the restaurant to a location closer to the surf. Ricardo could not give us the room we thought we had reserved because of a booking conflict but he reduced the price we paid to make up for it. The room we had, while the furthest from the beach, still had a pleasant breeze. Afterall, it was only about 50 meters from the beach. When I paid the final bill by PayPal from an internet cafe in the village, I screwed up. Ricardo let me use his laptop to get it right. I would return (soon I hope) any time.

cheers,

rb

  • Liked — relaxed nature of the staff; cleanliness; world class beach a stone's throw away
  • Disliked — lack of kitchen facilities or at least a work space for preparing sandwiches, fruit, etc; the bathroom sink did in a pinch, though
  • Tips/Secrets — use PayPal for bill; saves the hotel's surcharge for credit card payments and eliminates the need for large cash sum
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank brownprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#12 of 96 in Tulum
809 reviews
2.4 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#43 of 96 in Tulum
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico

Property: Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Address: Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila km 8 | P.O. Box 98, Tulum 077780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing