We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly room, great brach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Ranked #20 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We stayed at Tita Tulum last week for three nights. Although the beach was beautiful (choppy waves, though), the room was really nothing special. It seemed more like a motel 6 room than a mayan riviera room. During this same trip we also stayed at Posada Dos Ceibas, Posada Del Sol and Cabanas La Conchita, and Tita Tulum's room was by far the worst. Just boring.

We stayed in room number 3, and like what others have written, it wasn't very private. We didn't mind, though, we just shut the drapes. The best part of the room was the patio- it had two hammocks with a great view of the beach so my husband and I didn't have to fight over who got to use the hammock :).

The food wasn't very good at Tita, and quite expensive. The drinks were great- especially the pina coladas and lemonade.

We didn't even think it was worth taking pictures of the interior of the room, because we didn't think we would ever look at them- sorry!

Bottom line- not a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CaliAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2007

The man, the boy, age 10, and I stayed at Tita Tulum April 1-8, and it couldn't have been better. Because it was Easter week AND spring break, almost every cabana had at least one child -- thus giving the boy a plethora of kids his own age to play with. But don't worry if you're heading there hoping for some privacy: I'm told that the abundance of kids was, indeed, due to spring break. There are now 10 cabanas or rooms: No. 5 is the closest to the beach, the all of them are just steps away. We were in No. 8, one of the largest, with two double beds, a sofa bed, a shelving unit, a table and two chairs, a closetlike alcove and a big and nice bathroom. The cabana was kept impeccably clean (and most days we were left towel animals). The porch had two hammocks, two chairs and a wonderful breeze. Tit'as runs on solar electricity and has power 24 hours a day. There was plenty of light for reading, but don't expect to find any power outlets. I heard generator noice, once, from next door. A pitcher of fresh water was provided daily but we supplemented that with lots of bottled water, too (We bought a cooler and kept it filled with ice/beverages) There are always plenty of hot water (it was sunny every day). The waves were large, but swimming was still wonderful. The white sand beach was cleaned daily and stretches for miles. This is the PRIMO beach spot. The restaurant was good -- lot of seafood -- and we especially liked to have breakfast there. Some of the staff spoke English well (waiters); some spoke none at all (the maid). Prices for the restaurant and cabanas were right in line with many of the other places on the beach.
Don't go here if you can't handle some degree of rustic (like brushing teeth with bottled water; slightly salty showers and no hair dryers). We love "roughing" it a bit and had an absolutely wonderful time. It made a great base for exploring the beach road, town, ruins, everything. It was great to be lulled to sleep by the waves, too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank senorita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed at Tita Tulum during the spring break week, and even though all of Mexico seemed to be vacationing, our stretch of beach was still quiet! We stayed in the much-photographed cabana 5, which is the only cabin to face directly out onto the beach. (#1 and #2 also look pretty good - close to the beach, facing it at an angle.) Hubby and I often lounged in the porch hammocks, where all we could hear was the wind and pounding of the surf. I knew that there would be no electical plug-ins, and used our rental car to re-charge my iPod.
#5 is very spacious, 2 double beds and a huge shower. The housekeeper kept our room spotless and even swept our porch daily. We were given a carafe of fresh water, since the tap water is salty. (You'll want to buy some bottled water - try the San Francisco Market at the crossroads in town. You can stock up on tequila and fruit juice there, too.) There's a little tiled basin outside the front door for washing the sand off your feet. The sand is so soft, I didn't even care if it got in bed... I couldn't really feel it!
The only downside to our week was the noisy campers south of us on the last couple days. They were right outside our window and stayed up until 4-5 a.m., screeching and hooting and singing. On the other nights, all we could hear was the surf. Heaven!
The staff and owner at Tita Tulum were very friendly and accomodating. We ate breakfast several times at the cafe.
(For great cheap fish tacos and ceviches, try Urge Taquito, a little outdoor stand on the main road right before the crossroads. Only open til 5 p.m. )
Be prepared for some topless/ nude sunbathing and for unpredictable guests in the campground next door. Also, it is helpful to have a car when staying here so you can go to town, visit the cenotes, the ruins, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pachamama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2007

Stayed at Tita's early march 2007. Owner was quite rude when we arrived, and several times afterwards. Just not a warm, helpful person. Room was fairly clean, but bad location, #3 downstairs right next to restaurant. Kitchen workers could look directly into our cabana. Also, loud guests spent all day talking, laughing on the restaurant's deck. This place is overpriced for what we got, especially compared to other accomodation in the area. It has 24 hour electricity, but no ceiling fans, just a loud stand up type fan, we had to read by flashlight, because the light bulbs were so dim. Hot water is solar, and it is kinda cold for a morning shower. Shower water is very salty, as is all the hotel water in Tulum. The property is on a very narrow stretch of beachfront, so the cabanas are very close together, and your neighbors can see/hear everything inside your cabana. The room had 2 double beds on wheels that rolled away from the wall everytime we moved (even a little!) The grounds have good vegetation, but it didn't muffle the loud bangs from trucks bumping over the big metal speed bumps in front of Tita's. Also, when we were presented with our bill, I decided to pay in US dollars because they were trying rip us off on the exchange rate in pesos, big time. Rates are quoted in US dollars. This might be a nicer place to stay if you can get one of the beachfront upper level rooms on the end, which look more private. In general, considering the minimal nature of the accomodation and the extreme lack of helpfulness of the staff, I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DaisycatWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

We booked a four night stay at Tita's based solely on the Tripadvisor comments and had a great time!

Couple of notes:

Cabana #5 - literally right on the beach - great views and your own personal lizard living in the shower! Try to get this one if possible but all of the cabanas look fantastic!

Moses - very sweet and helpful - his command of English makes your stay much easier and he's just a nice guy...

Food at Tita's was OK but there are plenty of other places nearby for other options (e.g. Maya Tulum for amazing fish tacos, Mezzanine for Thai, Don Cafeto for classic Mexican)

Pay for your room in cash if possible to avoid fees...

Although Tita's has 24-hour electricity be aware that the cabanas do not have electric outlets. Not a huge problem and the staff will let you charge your cell phone in the restaurant if needed.

Water in cabana is salt water - surprisingly fine for showers but not so great for brushing teeth (just use bottled water!)

We can't wait to go back! Get there and enjoy Tulum before the 4-lane highway extends that far enabling more of the Cancun tourists to get there easily.

Stayed: February 2007
10  Thank ajvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

I have to say that this place isn't exactly what I was expecting. The day we got there, the kitchen was closed after 2 pm (that day only). Since we didn't have a car, that was a little bit of a concern, but we did walk down to Anna N Joses and managed to find our way home in the dark. Tita Tulum is adjacent to another facility, and the next morning three men were on the roof of the next building (just 15 feet or so away from our window) installing a new propane tank. I think we both thought Tita Tulum had a little more property than it actually does.

The beach at Tita Tulum is beautiful and the rest of the grounds are equally wonderful! Our room was large, the bed was comfy enough, and the balcony with the hammocks and chairs was perfect! Tita and all the employees are friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zippingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We spent our 7th Anniversary in Tulum and have not stopped talking about the trip. A world away from the toursty Cancun. A rural destination not meant for the traveler who is looking for all the "creature comforts" of a modern hotel. The peace and relaxation you feel more than makes up for the lack of technology.
While on the beach we only ran into 8 people and 3 dogs from neighboring resorts. can not wait to get back there!!!
C.Hegeman
Cheverly, Maryland

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chegeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.6 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#11 of 98 in Tulum
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico

Address: Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila km 8 | P.O. Box 98, Tulum 077780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £104 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing