We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one”
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Ranked #48 of 93 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I just had dinner at this awesome restaurant and really enjoyed it. The owner comes to your table and discretely sits down to read you the menu. They have home made pasta, fish and shrimp. He will offer you some combinations of these last combined with olive oil, zucchini, mushrooms and tomato of course. The hotel's philosophy is to have less options in the menu to keep the dishes always prepared with recent and fresh food.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank lajuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Not bad and not great food. We had the fettuccine pesto with large shrimp. Fantastic service though. Friendly waiter! I'm referring to the Italian restaurant in the back. We stayed next door at the Posada Lamar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jennytee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We didn´t stay at Posada Margherita, but went there couple of times for drinks and one day for dinner. I´m writting this as a way to thank you for the hospitality and such great offer from Alessandro, the owner.
We couldn´t withdraw cash during the day (that is something REALLY hard to do in Tulum, we walked for many many miles under the heat, but all the ATM were out of order) and since they wouldn´t take credit cards, we were about to leave or just have drinks. Realizing our situation, Alessandro told us to stay and enjoy dinner, that we could pay later through a wire transfer or go to their another restaurant in NYC (I live in NY). That offer we couldn´t refuse, since he kept talking how everything in Tulum wasn´t about Money but receiving well the visitors and make them feel at home. Sooo sweet :)
We had an AMAZING dinner, with pasta and giant shrimps. Very yumiii
Besides the quality of food, it is such a nice environment, we always picked the places facing the ocean, with the breeze, candle lights. Super romantic.
And the posada itself looks really really nice. I would stay there for sure.
Nice location too.
Go to the restaurant even if you are staying somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Achados D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Posada Margherita has the best stretch of Tulum beach, both naturally and situationally. The rooms are tasteful and pleasing, and reasonably priced. The service is perfectly attuned, at once attentive and careful yet familiar and easy-going. The drinks and meal offerings will surpass your greatest expectations.

Margaritas and focaccia. I believe in this combination and, upon staying at Posada Margherita, so will you.

Room Tip: You cannot beat room 8. It has a roof deck with a 360' view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KokoMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Went there for lunch yesterday. Shabby chic deco with reclaimed wood and hippie vibe. Would suggest they play some music to add to the atmosphere. The crowd on their beach was mainly the so-called "trendy" or wanna-be. We had fun watching them trying to out do each other. The food was amazing. Hubby had the pasta with tomato sauce. Simply divine. I had grilled prawns that came with small portions of salad, baby potatoes and fried rice. Highly recommended. Big portions and good. After you order, they will bring you a huge appetizer platter that is complimentary. 3 types of Italian bread, cauliflower with sea salt and pepper, pistachios and cheeses. That alone was enough for lunch! Take that into account when you order. Great wine list and the sangria looked delicious. Would definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Ultra trendy shabby chic. Clearly the coolest place in town to be seen. So cool in fact that prices for most things are not displayed and the bill is alarming in its unexpected size. The rooms were clean and comfortable but airless and outrageously only one power outlet so no possibility of fans. One of our rooms fused so no overhead fan and there was no apology nor discount.The food is clever and well presented but expensive and better value, and just as nice, not far up the road in the string of restaurants or indeed in Tulum itself. The beach is excellent, clean sand and enough beach chairs for all. The hotel resident cat and dogs make welcome company. Sadly the owners themselves do not. From the minute we arrived we felt they were doing us a favour. No welcoming smile, just a feeling we were invading their space and that we were just there to pay them enough to live the life they wanted to. Friendliness costs nothing. We escaped for one evening meal and didn't take second breakfast there but found somewhere we were greeted with a big smile. Not highly recommended unless you really don't mind being ignored although the ethos is to be commended (solar and wind power exclusive). Someone please tell the owners how to smile.

Room Tip: All are airless and hot. Check the overhead fans work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeliaDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Posada itself is very cool and well-designed from re-purposed wood in all types of imaginative ways. Alessandro's garden is fantastic & creative and every night it is carefully light with 100 small candles. Aesthetically, its unique and pretty terrific. The rooms are simple and clean. The food is fantastic , always served on chic square plates with big portions and if you need a snack while on the beach, they are happy to get it for you. The beach setting is fantastic. The negatives are the bathrooms (at least in our room) which is old, cracked and very small with a shower that makes the floor constantly wet. Not to the same standards as the rest of the posada at all. We also usually had to reuse our same few damp towels because our towels were rarely replaced. Also, the rooms do not get a breeze at all as they are blocked from the sea breeze by other buildings and by trees. The fans help, but know that you will not have any ocean breeze at all and Tulum gets muggy and HOT. If the bathrooms were renovated and somehow they added more fans (which we could not do as there was no outlet at all in the room) this would be 100% terrific!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the ocean - DO IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5travelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
3.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#7 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 93 in Tulum
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing