We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, relaxed and delicious. ”
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Ranked #47 of 92 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk in your enveloped with beautiful tropical plants with a mishmash of old doors and windows decorating the walls and buildings. You eventually arrive to the restaurant through a winding path. The restaurant has various seating areas that look out onto the pristine Tulum beach.
Candles provide the majority of the light and add to this romantic relaxed atmosphere.
The food is good. The pasta's exceptional and the cocktails delicious. Don't miss the pistachio gelato!
Posada Margherita is a must when in Tulum.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bgontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Clear from the start of this experience that the staff was overwhelmed. Unprofessional service, rude waiter and slightly above average food. The waiter has to "read the menu to each table". The menu consists of 3 items all cooked roughly the same; Olive oil, white wine and cherry tomatoes, gimicky, nothing special, and a waste of his time when he could be taking a drink order that you may have to wait 30 minutes for. If you want to feel transported to Abbot Kinney in Los Angeles. This is the place to go. We tried this place a second time for breakfast in hopes that we caught them on an off night and it was the same situation, forgetful waiters that couldn't deliver all the entrees, 30 minute wait and two reminders to get a cappuccino.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonlightgirl1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Expensive low quality food, they need a lesson on how to make and cook pasta. the staff / restaurant are a fraud, they try to market something special, but don't deliver, they have only 4 or so items on the menu. I have never had so bad italian

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We're hanging out in Tulum (which we love!) and decide we want to have a nice dinner. We we're actually looking for another place that had recently gone out of business, so we asked a guy on the street if he could recommend a nice place to have dinner. He suggested Posada Margherita and gave us the directions. He was SO RIGHT ON! From the first step in, we were overtaken by the atmosphere and ambiance. We grabbed a comfortable spot, with a fabulous view of the beach and ocean and ordered. As we basked in the evening glow, and open air of the setting, the food came out, appetizer's, cocktails, dinner, wine, desert and coffee. We watched the full moon rise above the Ocean's horizon (a first for me) and were really just so grateful for such an amazing experience and cap to another perfect day in paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent salads and fresh pasta made when you place your order. Good wines as well, and stellar service. If you haven't thought of having pasta while in Tulum you might want to reconsider! This pasta is amazingly tender with fresh delicious sauces.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tfb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are looking for the best place to feel lie home in Tulum, here is it: Posada has the best beach, perfect to lounge and have lazy days in summer with service when you want to be served and quiet time when you want to have it. You will feel you are entering a magic little garden when you get in...rooms are roomy and simple, I went there with my family: me, my husband and my 2 daughters 12 and 8. We got room 7 after seeing all the nice reviews and were not disappointed!
Alessandro and Daria are wonderful hosts, they make you feel like you are just friends visiting their gorg beach house. Food is fantastic, specially the breakfasts, our fave.
If you want to book, you can get it touch with Janis at Different World, she is great and helped us a LOT with all the questions we had regarding the hotel.
A MUST in Tulum!

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 5 are the best for families and second floors are best for breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarnieL523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I just had dinner at this awesome restaurant and really enjoyed it. The owner comes to your table and discretely sits down to read you the menu. They have home made pasta, fish and shrimp. He will offer you some combinations of these last combined with olive oil, zucchini, mushrooms and tomato of course. The hotel's philosophy is to have less options in the menu to keep the dishes always prepared with recent and fresh food.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank lajuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
3.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 92 in Tulum
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing