We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant in an amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Ranked #25 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in an amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We love this restaurant!

Delicious simple fresh Italian food. Something for everyone and great drinks. The design of the restaurant is gorgeous shabby chic with the best view of the beach. Candles everywhere and a good atmosphere. Staff were very nice and friendly particularly to our children. Gets super busy so get there in good time. Considering they are rammed and people often queuing we never felt rushed / rudely treated in the 3 times we are there.

Its not cheap... but Tulum beach isn't and this was the best we found. Expect city prices in rustic beach setting. Chi-chi cool crowd and great people watching

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    64
    22
    15
    27
See reviews for
67
321
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Overpriced pasta. Nice ambience and setting on the beach. Mexico is generally very good value but this place definitely isn't. Waiters and staff helpful. But couldn't get away from average horribly overpriced pasta......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Amazing food...beautiful surroundings...good vibe...cash only is annoying and it is very expensive for the location (Mexico) but it was the best meal I have had in a long time....I will return. The owners were a bit cold but the staff is helpful. It doesnt even matter, the food was so good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATIEPR212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin tx
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location, really romantic and quaint environs and the beach was perfect out front. The service was hit or miss, but the location really worked out great for us. One thing to note, with a room or in the restaurant, cash is the only form of payment. The rooms were really cute and had a great patio. No A/C is common in the area, but not always ideal....but it was worth it to stay at the beach! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leightx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Posada Margherita is a treasure. I have now had the unique pleasure of staying there two times and have eaten there countless times. From the moment you arrive until the minute you leave, everyone is warm, welcoming and gracious - the perfect hosts in every way. Even though we'd been there well over a year prior, Francesca remembered us and gave us big hugs, such a lovely way to start a visit and shake off NYC stress!

The property is utterly beautiful - lined with plants and splashes of color, vintage and soft candles. Everywhere are reminders, little signs, that you are in paradise. The rooms are generous, chic and charming, all have private or semi-private outdoor spaces - my friends stayed in gorgeous room #8, which has its own roof deck, ideal for sunrises and sunsets - strong recommend.

The hotel's position on the beach is perfection, plenty of well-shaded spots (and un-shaded) on super-comfortable beach lounges and chairs. Possibly my favorite part of staying at Posada, though, is the mornings: after watching the sunrise with the house labradors (the best pets ever!), we'd pick one of the low tables that face the Caribbean water, enjoying one of their killer fresh juices (I could drink the Green Juice all day long!) and a good, rich espresso. And the food is heaven. Every lunch and dinner starts with a huge platter of focaccia and lightly marinated cauliflower (yum!), with chunks of cheese. The pastas are straight out of Italy - al-freakin-dente. Fresh, delicious, generous portions. The seawater-poached fish, a house specialty, melts in your mouth. For breakfast, a favorite is the pancake: it's literally a cake made in a pan - we got that two days in a row, it was so addictive. I wanted to take it back to the Bat Lab and have it analyzed!

I'm praying they put out a cookbook (hint hint).

Every last person who works there is buttoned up but super-chill and friendly. As a guest, you feel more like family. That's the vibe. It's encouraged to just relax and take in the environment. Every late afternoon, it seemed like a Posada group activity to have a light crisp glass of rose - or a ridiculously good margarita - on the beach as the sun went down. Pure bliss.

Also noteworthy: Francesca recommended Carolina for a massage, which I did. Trust: DO IT.

Ok. Now, having read one or two of the less positive reviews from around New Year's, I'd caution those reviewers to try Posada again NOT in the middle of ugly high season, when (having been in the area at the same time several years in a row) all of Tulum is flooded with angry NYers, tightly-wound fashion types and high-maintenance celebrities. Tulum has gotten out of control during that time of year in only a year or two's time. I watched guests be incredibly rude, snappy, snide and impatient - it was overwhelming and awful to witness. People seem to forget that the Riviera Maya, Tulum in particular, is a magical place - somewhere to completely slow down, take in the beauty and shake off all things crazy, urban and fast-paced. Come later in the year and leave the city fever pitch at home.

I'm already trying to sort my next trip to this wonderful little getaway. Many thanks to everyone at Posada Margherita, especially Alessandro, Francesca and Lorenzo, you made our trip like another very special and VERY serene home.

Room Tip: #8 has a private roof deck, great for couples. #1 is spacious with a wonderful porch that is mostly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB_NYC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Awful service, overcooked and overpriced bland pasta, beautiful setting. So disappointed in this place. If they put 1/2 as much attention to the food and service as they do to the decorations they might have something.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had dinner here last night.
The salad we shared was really nice. The pasta dish I had was very tasty, except I think if something is promoted as being with pine nuts, there should be pine nuts plural in the dish.

My husband was less thrilled with his shrimp main course, although, to be fair, he knew the shrimp would come with shell on, and he knows he doesn't like battling with shell on shrimp. And he didn't know they were coming with heads on, which is worse than shell on. Is there a reason for this, besides a chef that can't be bothered? The dish was supposed to be served with potatoes...does 3 little pea-sized potatoes count? Also with rice...does a 1/4cup qualify? Better than the potatoes I guess.

However, the main issue was the service. Horrible doesn't begin to describe it. There were lots of servers, or to be more specific, lots of different people that would give you stuff, or take things away. But nobody dressed as a server, in any way distinguishing themselves from the guests at the restaurant (incidentally, it was packed, so maybe they were caught off-guard-offering them a small excuse). After a bit, you really had no idea who was supposed to be serving you. I even saw one guy, he may have been a server because I think he took something from our table, anyway, he was barefoot. And wearing a ball cap. How far do you extend that beach side ambience?

The result of the bad service was water glasses that never got any water, wine glasses that were empty before the main course arrived (did I mention it was slow?) with no refills offered...and once the main course arrived, we were not offered any more service, such as it was. No dessert was offered, although I'm sure dessert was available because we saw one of the servers (I think he was a server) eating some at the next table. Of course, we were ready to leave the chaos by this point. No interest in dessert. But finding someone to settle the bill was another story as well.

Wow. Just a bad night? I guess we'll never know, since we'll never go back. Did I mention also that the meal was not cheap? 1200 pesos.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#49 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
#65 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Property: Posada Margherita
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing