We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Ranked #27 of 85 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
2 reviews
“Don't go there”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Too expensive for that not good at all food. The pasta are overcooked and tasted nothing. For sure, they don't know how to cook... Pasta and fish were horrible and the staff don't really care about customers.
We were all disapointed (we are a family of 3).
I really don't understand why this restaurant is seem to be popular...
Please don't go there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    69
    23
    17
    29
See reviews for
73
326
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The combination of the food with the incredible view is priceless. The seafood is delicious and the ecologic style of this place is amazing! Really THE best place to have lunch (for example after visiting the ruins in Tulum).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose this place for its reputation. The setting is beautiful with a great view of the ocean. The service was good. The finest part of the meal was the flat breads and pasta that they make on site. This was top class.
The red snapper with mushroom was good but not something I would order again.
The shrimp was actually bordering on stale. It is overpriced and not a place I would go back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troj3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The idea of going to a small hotel for lunch never crossed my mind. I often visit Posada Margherita during my visits to Playa del Carmen. Why leave the beaches of PDC for Tulum? Well, Tulum is a very different experience. Think of the beach in the old Corona beer commercials.

Our typical day at Posada Margherita starts with our arrival around 11:00. We stake out our positions on the private, quiet beach, and then head to the bar for margaritas. After drinks and some swimming, we take a table for lunch. The food is outstanding Italian food. On several occasions the local fisherman arrived bearing fresh lobster. The appetizer platter is wonderful, as is the homemade pasta. After a big lunch, we walk the beach and return for a few drinks and more swimming. Around 4:00 we take a taxi back to PDC.

We have been asked by friends at the all-inclusives, Is it worth spending the time and money to visit Posada Margherita? The answer is emphatically, YES.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smurer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We love this restaurant!

Delicious simple fresh Italian food. Something for everyone and great drinks. The design of the restaurant is gorgeous shabby chic with the best view of the beach. Candles everywhere and a good atmosphere. Staff were very nice and friendly particularly to our children. Gets super busy so get there in good time. Considering they are rammed and people often queuing we never felt rushed / rudely treated in the 3 times we are there.

Its not cheap... but Tulum beach isn't and this was the best we found. Expect city prices in rustic beach setting. Chi-chi cool crowd and great people watching

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Overpriced pasta. Nice ambience and setting on the beach. Mexico is generally very good value but this place definitely isn't. Waiters and staff helpful. But couldn't get away from average horribly overpriced pasta......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Amazing food...beautiful surroundings...good vibe...cash only is annoying and it is very expensive for the location (Mexico) but it was the best meal I have had in a long time....I will return. The owners were a bit cold but the staff is helpful. It doesnt even matter, the food was so good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATIEPR212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 96 in Tulum
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 85 in Tulum
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Way Boutique Hotel
My Way Boutique Hotel
#16 of 85 in Tulum
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Property: Posada Margherita
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing