We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be so much better”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but could be so much better”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly let's get the positives: really nice room (master suite), balcony with beautiful view, good bathroom & shower, friendly staff, quiet and beautiful beach location. Negatives: the dining area is so uncomfortable; the dinner menu was poor (lunch was better), food heavy and overpriced. We decided to eat at the next door hotel (Hip Hotel) instead, which was more expensive, but delicious. All in all - beach is beautiful and quiet, rooms are nice, food & restaurant comfort is very poor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dion_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    28
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
160
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from July 15 to 22 and couldn't have been happier with our choice to do so. 'Being our first trip to Mexico, we looked at almost every resort in Mexico and felt so discouraged we even looked at other Caribbean Islands for the perfect place to stay, but we really wanted to experience Mexican food and culture. Every place was either sleazy (devoted to making tourists feel like they are still in America...) or outrageously expensive (+ bad reviews on top of that). We DID NOT want to stay in a huge hotel/resort with 400+ rooms to be identified by a bracelet, chlorine stenched pools, cheap mixed drinks, streets overcrowded with tourists, etc. We were looking for an uncrowded, turquoise water, authentic Mexican styled beachfront resort and that's exactly what we found at Suenos Tulum.

I could tell that a lot of love and immaculate attention to detail went into building and designing this little haven. The resort is beautiful. The room we stayed in was the Master Suite Selva. The view of the ocean is breathtaking. The lights that are powered by solar energy are turned on at night are seductive and dim. My boyfriend got plenty of reading done during the day. It did pour a few nights and water seeped onto the floor through the open balcony door but by morning it had completely dried. I never except to find a bed more comfortable than my own, so I don't have any dissatisfaction with their mattress/bedding.The ocean breeze is sure to compensate for any discomfort a troubled sleeper (like myself) may have.

Almost no mosquitos on the premises, but they are everywhere else in Tulum by the 'jungle'.

Everything about Suenos is wonderful. It's private and peaceful, the family is kind and helpful, Edouardo and Mateo were always around to cater to us, and every morning the beach was cleaned and the sand was raked. The sand is white, without any sharp rocks or gross smells. The restaurant is like a homey kitchen serving fresh Mexican food at a very reasonable cost.

Tulum is definitely a special place - romantic and laid back, with lots of restaurants serving delicious fresh fish. And, you can find real souvenirs to bring back, unlike any you will find in the generic gift shops that are all over Playa Del Carmen or Cancun airport.

- We loved our stay and would return -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lioubimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in early May. I had been plotting at stay at this place for 5-6 years and it was worth the wait. The room was gorgeous, the view unbelievable, and the service over the top. For example, we arrived after a long day of travel and although we were outside the normal dinner hours the staff made a fabolous dinner for us. The family and the staff are delightful and we thoroughly enjoyed sharing the dream that the family has created in Tulum.

Room Tip: We were very happy in Luna master suite and would ask for it again - felt very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebsterBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There are just not enough nice things to say about this wonderful spot. Tulum itself is magical and Suenos Tulum was the perfect home base to explore. We loved the combination of complete high quality but an extremely low-key, casual feel. The hoetel restaurant only serves guests, and it was the single best meal we had o our trip. Our room had a gorgeous, beautiful beach view. The staff was kind, considerate and very attentive without hovering. It was as if the wonderful Eduardo appeared magically to take care of any need you had while on the beach.

Highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the third-floor rooms for best views.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastUSAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I just returned from 5 days in Tulum. We absolutely loved Suenos Tulum. It's a special place. It's towards the end of the "strip" of hotels, so it's quiet and secluded. The room overlooked the water, the food was delicious, and the beach is pure sand and water, not a rock to be found. The hotel is not open to outside folks, so we became friends with everyone staying there. Francisco at the desk not only designed and helped to build the hotel, but was very knowledgeable on the area. One thing to note is that in the low season, there is not guaranteed yoga every morning - but many of the other hotels have yoga throughout the day. This place is really a beautiful, special place - we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have king sized beds and no mosquito nets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ets6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Suenos Tulum is a peaceful and magical place in a beautiful part of the world. The rooms were lovely, people kind and caring (Matteo and Eduardo being particular stars bringing cocktails, tea and coffee whenever) and the family a pleasure to meet.

What really sticks in my mind is the art. The carvings on the outside of the buildings, the sculptures dotted around, little things hanging from the trees. Just really beautiful.

It is so relaxing there. Whilst in the grounds or on the stunning beach you don't need shoes, just pad around in bare feet (I'm trying to remember that feeling - necessary once back in the 'day job'). Nothing is too much trouble, someone will always give you recommendations, advice or help out. The food was gorgeous... Goodness, take me back now!

I walked along the beach a number of times and did not see anywhere quite so beautifully designed as Suenos. Even walking back in the dark nowhere compares to Suenos - seeing their illuminated little planets and moons high up on the poles, guiding you back.

We went to various restaurants in the evening (and had one delicious meal at Suenos in the evening too). It was very easy to get taxis. Om bar just up the beach was great for pizzas and really relaxing. Posada Margerita was great and the best food was at Cetli in the Pueblo. We went to quite a few of the bars up and down the beach road and all were good - I loved the decor at Casa Jaguar. You may have the impression that our time in Tulum revolved around beach, food and the odd cocktail. Quite right. However, I can recommend the following: Tulum ruins, Coba, swimming and snorkeling in the lagoon at Akumal, the Sian Kia'an trip, the local restaurants and ice cream in the Pueblo and Grand Cenote. We did not think that Tulum was overdeveloped nor the beach road too busy.

Where cenotes are concerned (we swam in a number during our 3 location trip) I do add one word of warning about the cenote down the road towards Sian K which unlike the others we went in, which were more like caves, was a mangrove-lined cenote. Which I hasten to add was not recommended by the family. There is a new bar there (called Mangroove) which is managed by a lovely team. It would be good for a drink and maybe a kayak - but they suggest that people hire kayaks/paddleboards and swim in the cenote. We were just about to do this, paddling along, when my son spotted a 4 foot crocodile by the side of the water. Needless to say this put me off and my toe did not enter the water. I checked out if I was being a lilly livered brit but the locals I mentioned this to afterwards seemed to think that swimming there would be a bad idea.

Back to Suenos T. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I can find no fault (although no hair drier was a pain..ooh the frizz) at all. It is a great place to stay with children or without.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The resort is cute. The rooms are spare but well designed and extremely clean, the towels were plush, the water was salty but hot. Electricity was available most of the night. My only specific complaint for the resort is that breakfast is served late 8-10, so if you are coming from the East Coast with 2 hours of jet lag or even worse from Europe you are going to be hungry for a few hours.

However Tulum has changed. In the past 2 years the entire beach has been built up sometimes almost all the way to the water. At this point I wonder if it is still worth the high price and the lack of running water and electricity. In the past such lacks were quaint and a fair trade off for a pristine beach. Now there is a noisy generator every 100yards and water tanks constantly driving up and down the only road, making the whole place look more like an experiment in poor city planning than a tropical paradise. For the same amount of money one can find an equivalent beach, but a better resort in Puerto Morelos or in Maroma.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank StellaAlberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#9 of 95 in Tulum
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#21 of 95 in Tulum
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Property: Suenos Tulum
Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing