We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suenos Tulum is Excellent!”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suenos Tulum is Excellent!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you are looking for a private hotel away from the crowds, this is the place! The hotel is one of the last ones located on route 109 well hidden from the road. We rented a car in Cancun and in about 90 minutes we were in heaven. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly host who quickly gave us a tour of the grounds, showed us to our room, and invited us to the hotel restaurant for our complimentary welcome drinks. We stayed in Lluvia 2, a junior suite on the second floor. Room was clean and had a great view of the beach from the balcony. Our routine consisted of waking early to see the awesome sunrise, beach walk, then off to continental breakfast which consisted of various fruit, yogurt with granola, toast and baked goods, coffee and juice. Then we relaxed on the beach in the day beds. The restaurant is available only to guests so they cater to your every need. Lunch menus are brought out to the beach (I loved the tacos and guacamole!). Drinks are served throughout the day (I usually enjoy beer but their margaritas were also very good). Local artist shops are walking distance for shopping but bikes are available from the hotel as well. Dinners were my favorite part of the day as they can be enjoyed in the restaurant or at one of the outside tables under the stars. The hotel is solar powered so lights go out during the day (never really an issue though the bathrooms might be dark for someone needing to use a mirror). No outlets in rooms but the main lobby has chargers for phones, tablets, etc. The wait staff go above and beyond making your stay enjoyable. Yoga and massages available as well! We plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    28
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
160
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cordoba, spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Really special place that I would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a few days. It's very off the beaten track, as it's one of the last hotels in the zona hotelera Tulum but taxis are always available and you can borrow bikes from the guys at the hotel which we loved doing.

Rooms are clean and have amazing character, beach is fabulous, food is very good and good value from the restaurant if you want lunch/dinner and included breakfast is nice too.

Had some unforgettable times here sitting out and looking at more stars than we've ever seen, beautiful sunrises, and taking beach walks each morning. If you want to chill somewhere natural and low key, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Chatham New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Everything is a delight at Suenos Tulum. The staff is warm and genuinely helpful. The rooms and the grounds are visual delights. The ambiance is just what you would hope for in a Caribbean resort. Absolutely the only vaguely negative thing I could say, if pressed, is that it would be nice if the pastries in the morning were freshly baked--a banana bread, let's say--rather than the packaged goods that are served. But who really cares about that when you're in paradise? My wife and I would go back in a minute. It's also one of the nicest places on the Tulum beach strip because it's barely noticeable from the road (i.e. very subtly identified, with a closed gate). Make sure you get good directions before you set out, as you could easily miss it. But go!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canaanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a smallish family run hotel and it is just gorgeous in an artsy, eco-hotel kind of way. It feels very bohemian and peaceful. The three story casitas blend in beautifully with the jungle-like grounds and the location is perfect: right on a lovely peaceful stretch of beach. Everywhere you look, there is some artistic and creative natural decoration: arrangements of shells, rocks, driftwood, candles and mosaic. I stayed in a second floor room with a small balcony that could seat two, a beautiful tiled bathroom with a a hand-painted sink and even a hand-painted toilet! There was plenty of storage in a built-in cubby in the entryway, two beds with colorful mosquito netting, two tables and a desk. The best part was the big sliding door that looked out to the sea. There was a ceiling fan to keep the breezes going at night (no A/C). The bed and pillow were simple but very comfortable. I slept very well except for one point during the night when one of the family's dogs barked for a bit, and also the fan turned off in the middle of the night so I was a bit hot for a while, but then it came back on. There was a rainstorm that night and everything in the room stayed dry.
Everything here was very clean and well-cared for. The charge for the night included a delicious, fresh, continental breakfast which you could eat in the palapa style dining area or on the beach.. Free bottled water was provided in the room, as well as a safe. There is no electricity during the day. There is a charging station in the common room (also lovingly decorated in a beachy bohemian style) but no electrical outlets in the room. The grounds are gorgeous! There is a pretty little pool in the center of the property as well. The hotel has a very private but also welcoming atmosphere. You can be as social or as solitary as you like. They also serve lunch and dinner, but that is not included in the price. At night, I took a pillow and blanket out to the beach and lay in the hammock-type things and just stared up at the stars for a couple of hours, listening to the waves. It was one of the most beautiful, peaceful moments of my life. (Ps. bring a flashlight because it is very dark at night.) Any way, this hotel was one of the highlights of my trip to the Riviera Maya area. It's a unique lovely little gem of a hotel that is not to be missed.
The only negatives I can think of are: the occasional barking of the dog, the bathroom was a little dark during the day (because the lights are only turned on at night) so getting ready in the morning was a little tricky, and sometimes it was hard to find the owners. They are often not in their office and I had to go looking for one of them when it was time to check out.
Otherwise, it was a perfect and peaceful getaway. Love love love it!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private. Must face the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13ellezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Suenos Tulum was an amazing experience for my Fiancé and I over the holiday break. We are suffering from withdrawals since coming home.

* The location of the hotel was kind of ideal for us, as we heard Tulum can get very congested, especially during the holidays. But Suenos is located on the far south end of the strip. So we were in a quieter, less traveled section of the beach, which was incredibly nice. With that being said, mostly everything is about a 15 - 40 minute walk depending on where you are heading. Suenos also had bikes on location you could take out at your own will, so we used those a couple times to see some local stuff.

* Speaking of the beach, the staff at Suenos does an amazing job maintaining it and keeping it looking pristine, including raking the sand every morning.

* The family running the establishment was amazingly kind and accommodating. Took time to chat it up with you and all the recommendations were spot on.

* So to was the wait staff. We adored our server for the majority of the stay who was incredibly accommodating, polite, sweet and fun to talk to as well.

*The room we stayed in was wonderful and cleaned thoroughly each day (floors mopped of all the sand, windows squeegee, etc). We slept with our screen door open so we could listen to the waves crash as we fell asleep and woke up. Basically the way I imagine heaven.

* Everything we ordered from the restaurant there was delicious, fresh, clean and tasty. I mean Fish Tacos and Pina Colada lunches... does it get more rad?

* There was yoga many of the mornings we were there, which my fiancé loved. Yoga was run out of an picturesque space.

* We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner away from our families with the staff and some other people staying at the hotel which was a lot of fun and made our Christmas feel special. They had some live music and a little show that some locals performed. It was a very calm and fun evening.

* I found this wonderful! but if you're on a vacation and need to be attached to your email or laptop, Suenos might be a tough time for you. As our room didn't have a power outlet and wifi is restricted to the reception area. Like I said, this was wonderful for us and removed us from the distractions of our lives. But if you're a person who is never off the grid, it could prove a challenge.

* Furthermore, If you're idea of an ideal vacation is looking for "the scene" and hanging out "late night", there is probably better options north of Suenos. Another thing we found GREAT!

With all that being said, I thought Suenos was one of the more truly charming places I have ever stayed and hope to come back in the very very near future. We loved it and won't soon forget our amazing time there.

Room Tip: We had the most southern room on the ground level, and it was a delight. The only complaint was that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hillman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Arrived in the evening when it was dark. After been shown to the room we were taken to the small resident’s only restaurant area for a welcome drink.

The lighting in reception and the rooms was very dim. There were no electric sockets in the room! After the shock of that we managed to get an electrical connection to plug into the light socket. This is very necessary for us westerners with a multitude of electrical items. There is a charging point in reception which is ok if you are only staying for one or two nights but we were there for eight nights. You will need to take a torch to get around the grounds and outside if you walk up to the local shops/restaurants.

We had a master suite which was beautiful with an amazing sea view. The bed was large, comfortable with well fitted linen. The bathroom had lovely toiletries replenished on a regular basis, and the shower always had hot water. There was plenty of storage space although mostly shelves within the various units around the room. The lighting was very low and it was impossible to read at night, so slightly higher wattage bulbs would be great.

Everything in the room was kept spotless. The grounds, pool and beach area were always well looked after. Staff were constantly cleaning and tidying.

A continental breakfast was served and you could order separate items at extra cost. We thought the breakfast could be improved by having real bread for toast rather than the packet toast served and not so many sweet “off the shelf” cakes. Also local honey could be given instead of the airline packet type.

Wifi was ok most of the time closer to reception was always better.

Yoga classes took place Mon, Tues, Thu and Fri at cost of $15, the classes ran for over an hour and were excellent.

Elizabeth and the other staff were always cheerful and helpful and made the stay perfect. We enjoyed the family run feel of the hotel.

Taxis have a monopoly in Tulum and are plentiful; they charge 100 pesos or $10. The dive centres are not allowed to collect people from the hotels. In the end we hired a car as it was much more convenient considering the amount of times we needed to go into the town centre which was a 15 mins drive.

We thoroughly recommend Pro Tec dive school on Satellite Norte in Tulum town, they were professional, friendly and well run.

As vegetarians we didn’t really find any restaurants that had good food so no recommendations apart from “La Londa” which served freshly cooked tasty pizzas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I just want to for myself!!
Great rooms, with a great view!!
Great staff and great food!!
Friendly owners and beautiful grounds!!
Wonderful beach and even a pool to cool off!!

Stay away!! I want this place for myself!!

Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#9 of 95 in Tulum
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#21 of 95 in Tulum
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Property: Suenos Tulum
Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing