We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!!”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2006

WOW!! My husband and I have traveled to Tulum annually for the last five years, and found Suenos to be the hands down winner of any place we've stayed. With its romantic elegance and inviting staff, you simply cannot go wrong here. We already knew that the Tulum beaches were the best of any place we've ever been to, so once again, we were not disappointed by the gorgeous sand and water. We were lucky enough to arrive during a full moon, which made the evenings that much more beautiful. Our rooms were fantastic, and as my husband and I stayed in three of them, we have a pretty good idea of how they all are! Due to our late booking, we needed to move a couple of times during our six-night stay, as most of the rooms had already been booked. Although, you would hardly know there was anyone else around. It really felt like we had individual attention from the staff. We were traveling with another couple (first time visitors to Tulum) who were equally in awe of this place. Alan, George, Elizabeth and Julio (and the dogs) made us so comfortable - felt like family, really. We headed to Playa del Carmen for four nights after our six nights at Tulum, and were in shock by all of the crowds! I think that will be our last stay in Playa del Carmen. And Suenos will be the only place we'll stay in Tulum. It's everything you could ever want in a true getaway vacation. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AlisonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2006

We stayed at Suenos for the last 4 days of a 2 week trip and it was a dream. We had stayed in Playa for the first week which was nice but the beach was busy - at Tulum you could look as far into the distance on the beach in both directions and only see around 10 people. The beach at Sueonos is wide and beautiful, the rooms superb as were the bathrooms, with hot water - something you dont always get at tulum. We were travelling with our 2 year old and she had a fantastic time playing in the sea and sand - she even had her first crush on Alan. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to be back someday.
The restaurant is simple only one choice of main meal each night - so you put your name on the board if you want dinner - we thought we'd try it the first night then eat out from then but the food was so good we ate there every night

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scubagoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2006

I must admit when first making our holiday vaction plans ( back on Feb 05), our first choice- Shangri-La in Playa del Carmen was sold out( our 6th time there), I was devestated. So it was time to try something new...Suenos Tulum looked like it would fit the bill.

Suenos Tulum is a magical beautiful place. Alan, who greeted us first, showed us to our room, which was chic, clean and sparse, with a very cool Mexican tiled bathroom. We were traveling with another couple , and even though it was 6:00Pm and dark- we knew it was pretty unique. I loved the fire torches surrounding the resort- very romantic ! The no- electricty factor was a nice added bonus, no TV, hairdryers, newspapers, a true vacation.

The beach in front of the hotel is one of the best beaches that I have ever seen, wide, white sand , clean and hardly a person to be seen. Tulum beaches have raised the bar- as far as ever going back to Playa del Carmen, or any where else for that matter.

Every morning we were greeted by Julio with a smile and fresh fruit, yogurt and a bread basket. Alan, was fantastic and arranged a wonderfil tour of the Bio Shere for us ( a must do!) and a massage.

The only negetive that I have about Suenos is , due to our vaction time ( Dec 27th- Jan 4th) which is the busiest and crowed- there didn't seem to be enough
lounge chairs or beach beds available to the guests. If you didn't wake up by 6:45 and put your towels on the lounges and beds , you were left with none. These desired seats were needed due to the lack of shade on the beach, and husband is fair and in need of shelter of the sun.
There was a large family that were there and seemed to "take over" a lot of the facailties.


However, that did not dampen our holiday. I would highly recomend Suenos. And am dreaming of returning.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Susanmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2005

My wife and I were overdue for a honeymoon, and were not able to get a cabana at La Cabanas Conchite (booked up) but the travel agent had just stayed at Suenos Tulum herself and recommended it to us. We were nervous because of all the recent hurricanes but it turned out that Tulum had only been grazed so we said OK with some trepidation. Well...

It really would have been hard to do better than this, to find a better place to stay in Tulum's beachfront hotel zone. The main 2 things with Suenos were the staff, who were just so friendly and gracious and attentive they really took care of your every need and made you feel welcome. The place is small (only 10 or so cabanas) and every cabana has its own porch and beuatiful room so the manager had time and energy to deal with every guest on a very personal level.

The site was immaculate, sand swept on the beach and grounds every day, a wonderful kitchen with dinner prepared (you had to request a bit in advance) that was just delicious and romantic - it was all of the little touches that made this place so great - maid service every morning, margaritas on the beach, candles lit everywhere at night, beautiful beautiful plam trees and a small pool, etc etc...

the whole stay was just like a beautiful dream, i never wanted it to end, i would recommend Suenos in a heartbeat! To anyone, but especially honeymooners! You can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alex76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2005

We stayed at Suenos Tulum from Sept. 5 to 8 and did not want to leave! This small boutique hotel is truly special. You can feel that the owners George and Elizabeth have their heart and soul in this hotel. They are lovely people. George's art work is all over the buildings and add a very special touch. Besides George, Julio and Allen made us feel very welcome and took good care of us. The location is fantastic. We had the Master Suite in the Selva Building and everything stated in the other reports is exactly what we found. Beautiful colors and design touches everywhere. Even the inside of Toilet bowl was painted and I had to giggle looking at the little frog everytime I lifted the lid. We loved the low voltage lighting which made it very romantic in the room and around the grounds after dark. The fan was running all night and we never were hot at night or had mosquitos in the room with the ocean breeze and sound of the waves.There where also candles and tiki torches everywhere. We found our suite very romantic, comfortable with that amazing view of the stars and ocean all night long. The grounds are kept very natural and beautiful. For 2 of the 3 nights we were the only guests and we felt like we found paradise. Alone on the beach, super private room and good conversations with the owners. And the view of the beach and jungle!!!!!! Watching the sunrise while laying in a big King size bed is the best. The Sueno's dogs are so sweet and we enjoyed having them by our side at the beach. Mali the hairless Mayan puppy is the cutest thing and so is Paamul that visits with Elizabeth from time to time. Negro and Ceiba are cute as well. The very clean pool is very refreshing and nice. The included continental Breakfast was very good and we got to spend lots of time with Tuki the Tucan. He liked hanging out with us at Breakfast and we played with him in the evening when we had wine and cheese under the dining Palapa. We love Tuki and everything else about Suenos Tulum and can't wait to visit again. We are already talking about our return visit. Next time we make sure we have George's dinners. We have been to Tulum before and had several restaurants with fond memories we wanted to revisit this time but next time we will spend more than 3 nights at Suenos. We are so glad to have found Suenos Tulum!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hoboken, NJ
111
Reviewed 20 August 2005

My husband and I stayed at Suenos Tulum for a much needed holiday just before Easter. Tulum was highly recommended by my sister and her husband for its relaxed atmosphere. We could not get a reservation anywhere and then, while surfing the web, I came across Suenos Tulum, a brand new hotel on the beach. The photos of the property looked amazing, so we booked a master suite without knowing much about it.

When we arrived, very late at night, the manager was there to greet us. Our room was steps from the beach with a beautiful view of the sea. Because they use solar energy, the evenings are incredibly romantic, with dim lights and candles illuminating the hotel. I fell in love instantly - and did not want to leave!

The beach is so pristine (they rake the sand every day), the room was lovely with lots a nice architectual details and the food they prepared was all local - and delicious. The property pays homage to the mayan gods and blends in very harmoniously with the local environment (see the photos). And the staff was great, they felt like friends we would hang out with, if we lived in Tulum.

There are so many wonderful details about Suenos, it's hard to put into words, it was a magical place and we will be returning again - and often!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

Thanks to the Jeep Liberty we got from Hertz at Cancun airport, we arrived unscathed through all the potholes on the dirt road leading to Suenos de Tulum, and bounced our way into Suenos after a very smooth fast drive on the 307, albeit, wet with the pre-storm rains. Large wooden gates dominate the wall that surrounds Suenos and while we were contemplating how to get in, they just seemed to open with a very friendly Alan there to greet us.

We had asked for one of the end buildings and were given the Selva Master Suite – like being on the edge of a tropical paradise with no one for miles! Up the stairs 2 flights and I was ready for what I had seen on the website, extremely clean, comfortable and roomy with a sea view terrace. It had everything for our needs: a very large comfortable bed, ample shelves with additional ones cleverly built into the headboard, hanging space, a very attractive and clean bathroom (hand painted toilet and very colorful tile work with a spacious enclosed shower that always had hot water) and nice towels. Bathrooms are a peeve, I require the bathroom to be impeccable and we were not disappointed. I fuss over clean floors and was very happy to notice that there never was any sand on our floor every time we returned home. No worries there, our room was clean beyond most expectations (as was the resort, with the staff always at it)! There was a constant breeze throughout and at night (with the sliding doors shut) the fan was most welcome with no need for any mosquito netting. As I am a mosquito's favorite meal, I came prepared with the Mosquito Deleto (tiny gadget by Coleman) and serious repellent. These came in handy on night's out since the rains brought mozzies and they in turn sought me out!

Suenos has a bit of a jungle like setting, green everywhere and there is that secluded feeling all around. Lit torches and low lighting on the ground help you find your way around at night. A lantern may be requested for additional room light if desired, although, low wattage lighting gives the room a much more romantic feel! In the daytime, that feeling of privacy and seclusion continues as the way into Suenos is not very visible from the beach and is unmarked (except for nature's marker!). We didn't seem to get too much traffic this part of the beach as it far south of everything. The beach was (miles and miles) of white fine sand and should any seaweed wash up on it, the staff got to it before you woke up for your morning swim. There are a couple of palapas directly in front of Suenos on the beach with nice cushioned lounge chairs, a shelter from the intense sun. An added bonus is a pool which I jumped into when it got too hot. Scattered nearby are some native designed tables and chairs between the pool and the dining area, good spot for a quick snack or drink.

Breakfast consists of tropical fruit, yogurt, a small pastry basket, juice and coffee or tea. The dining area is a nice open air palapa style restaurant, but doesn't function as such - dinner is arranged if you want to dine on site - like having your very own chef! This adds to the feeling of privacy, since it doesn't operate as a restaurant, you're only around people staying at the resort. There were only 2 other couples at the resort at any given time during our 4 day stay.

We gave George, our chef, the night off and went next door (5 minute walk) to Las Ranitas for an excellent dinner on our first night. Setting was very nice, open and colorful with friendly staff. We found ourselves there for lunch over the next days. The few dining places we ventured to were Tita Tulum (good Mexican and just a 10 min walk north) for lunch on a rainy afternoon; Mezzanine for cocktails and dinner. With us coming from NYC (and London) where Thai cuisine is rampant - or all else for that matter - we didn't have our hopes up, but it was okay, their chef being away. Something different to break up the normal fare. It is a really breath taking place to park yourself and enjoy the hip scenery and delicious cocktails. It is as visual as their website. Oh, and it is a beat away from the ruins. The ruins: overlooks a fantastic beach, we found the end of the day to be a perfect time to go - tours were leaving and seemed to have the place to ourselves.

Ana y Jose's was another lunch choice and an excellent one! Their outdoor restaurant with its umbrellas has a great sea view. They also have a very nice bar adjacent to the main restaurant – the whole place has a sand floor - they brought in the beach! We ended up coming back for dinner – we had planned on Posada Margherita but had too much fun having drinks with our neighbors at Suenos, by the time we reached Posada, they had stopped serving dinner! On the walk back, we were fortunate enough to come across a turtle on the beach coming to lay eggs. This is when our flashlights came in handy. Almost tripped over her! At Suenos, we had George's dinner one night. It was delicious: grilled fish and grilled shrimp in a light sauce. Delicious as it was, it also was the most we paid for a meal (3 course meal with beers and a cocktail, $60) in our whole trip through the Yucatan. We walked into Amansala for lunch one day, found the menu somewhat limiting and a "morning after the night before" ambience permeating the place, and walked out. I experienced an exquisite massage ($80 US, cash) at Coqui Coqui, a fairly new resort (some building was going on), next door to Tita Tulum. The resorts' rooms were done very well, (true to their website), the upstairs rooms being the preferred ones.

We ventured in to town for dinner one evening, then realized that we were giving up beach for town sidewalk and some traffic, since we weren't in Tulum long enough we decided against it. There will be another time, as Tulum is a must to come back to and Suenos is a very special place, many thanks to Elizabeth and George along with Alan, who manage this effortlessly. If you are looking for very simple comforts, relaxed, tranquil setting, great beach and lots of it, swimming in the pool and you are happy just reading a book and nothing else, then Suenos could possibly be for you.

38  Thank little_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#12 of 99 in Tulum
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
459 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#12 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £256 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 13 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach; one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. Our resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art. Each building is a work of art, sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. WELCOME TO OUR DREAM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing