We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'Dream-like' Romantic Escape”
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suenos Tulum
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington area
245
Reviewed 11 February 2006

We drove down from the first leg of our stay at Aventura Spa Palace on February 3rd - arriving at Suenos de Tulum in the early afternoon on a lovely day. The property entrance, with its stone perimeter and a big log gate feels like a scaled down version of a Jurassic Park entrance.

Once we pulled up in front of it, the gates magically opened (we soon figured out how they knew we were there as they have a few charming and unobtrusive dogs on the property, which were very good company while we were there). Alan, the do everything fellow, was there along with Elizabeth (the feminine half of the ownership team) and both greeted us very warmly.

The charm of our conversation was much like we were there by personal invitation. The familiarity was instant. We felt so welcomed and Alan helped us with the embarrassing amount of luggage we took (we truly packed for two vacations – our opulent first half and our ‘escape’ in Tulum as well as an extra suitcase full of school supplies and clothes to donate a nearby library for the local children).

Entering the ‘resort’ was like entering an artists dream – thus the translation for the ‘suenos’ in its name as it means ‘dream’ in Spanish. The buildings are well constructed yet rather unconventional in design and had Jorge’s Mayan inspired sculptures adorned to the walls in the approach to all of their 12 rooms.

We were on the third (top) story of the Sol (translates to ‘sun’) building and had a miraculous view. To be above the palms and so close to the Caribbean on what has got to be one of the most spectacular beaches in the world (travel channel listed Tulum’s beach as #2 in this year’s top 10). There is no doubt why it is so glorious as there is so little development here we felt fortunate to be in this area before it gets fully introduced to the masses of travelers seen to the north in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen.

The room was sparsely decorated with a king bed, high ceiling and rather efficient fan, grass style screens, artistically painted and had a fully operational uniquely tiled bathroom that had hot water at all times of the day. Even the sink and toilets were painted with seahorses. Soft eco-friendly nighttime lighting and torches made for an exceptionally romantic setting. We took advantage of the amazing star gazing opportunities!

Looking out off our balcony, there is a small pool, a dining palapa (with its kitchen constructed underneath) and a small yoga - massage - viewing deck, palms, several day beds on the perfectly groomed white sandy beach as well as the glorious Caribbean Sea all within view.

Since they are located down the ‘coconut’ road several miles from the access road that also is several miles from the highway, there is a definite feel of seclusion even though there are several other eco-friendly resorts and restaurants close by. Each of these is rather unique in their own way and vary from funky shacks to modest guest villas.

The kinds of people who are attracted to come to this area are themselves rather attractive people in personality and friendliness. There still is not a tremendous amount of mixing with other area visitors as the enormous size of this beach south of the Tulum ruins and north of the Sian Kan biosphere is approximately 15 miles and the total amount of guest rooms may total less than 400.

Other visitors seem so few are far between while on the beach. Even at the peak of the day, if you look to the north, you can see about 2-3 miles of shoreline and it may have 10 people on it that you can make out with the naked eye and to the south even fewer. There are certainly more just relaxing on the properties they are staying at but unless they are at the shoreline or in the water, they are not seen. Walks up and down this beach are truly a heavenly experience – VERY romantic.

The ruins and the biosphere, as well as jungle adventures and cenotes (fresh water river caves) as well as the snorkelling nearby are all fantastic reasons to come even if this particular place had no charm, which it does in abundance. The shopping in Tulum pueblo was also a fun and friendly experience.

The food – each meal was simply delicious. This description does not do the flavors justice as they were exquisite however it is the perfect description since the presentations were simple and delicious tasting. We had fresh tropical fruit with yogurt and granola each day for breakfast along with yummy breakfast rolls and a sampling of other dishes by special request (French toast, banana pancakes, Mexican eggs – with rice and peppers as well as scrambled eggs).

We had lunches and a few drinks prepared for us while we were on the beach and nearby there are several wonderful funky little restaurants that are worth sampling but don’t miss out on Jorge’s fantastic dinner offerings while you are there. We had grouper prepared ‘a la Diabla’ just as he would for his family and another dinner with fish done with a Mayan recipe called ‘tixnix’ (i know i have the spelling wrong) that is also a red sauce that is quite possibly the best meal I have had in my life!

With the location being between the dunes in front and the jungle behind you it makes sense there are screened doors out to your balcony and attractive nets over the beds - but surprise! There were fewer bugs than in our Seattle area home. We sat out on our balcony at all times of the day and evening and even very early a couple mornings. No bites or even attempts.

Speaking of the balcony, Jorge has built these wonderful benches to relax on made completely out of beach wood. They add to the funky dream-like flavor of the surroundings. Other furniture including the dinning room is similarly constructed.

The open-aired seaside location for yoga and massages was a wonderful setting for my two especially enjoyed massage treatments. Alvaro (one of the two practitioners serving here, is proficient at deep tissue, Reiki and Reflexology massage offered his healing hands and skills for a very reasonable price. He too, is completely fluent in English (in fact, he lived in Seattle for two years back in the mid 90’s) as were all the primary people here at Suenos de Tulum.

The food and the pampering you receive, the surroundings and the absolutely charming management team of owners Jorge and Elizabeth have created an artistic dream-like setting by the glorious Caribbean Sea. They, as well as the especially wonderful Alan, share this setting with an unprecedented charm. Suenos de Tulum certainly fits it name. It truly was a romantic dream for my wife and I to stay at for our 20th anniversary vacation.

We’ve been home for less than 2 days and are already making arrangements for our second trip there – this time with our children, who I know will love the setting, atmosphere and people as much as we have…you most certainly will as well.

Our endorsement - Make your stay at Suenos de Tulum where, as long as you find a funky – secluded – eco friendly experience in an appealing, your ‘dream’ escape will come to life.

Stayed: February 2006
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2006

WOW!! My husband and I have traveled to Tulum annually for the last five years, and found Suenos to be the hands down winner of any place we've stayed. With its romantic elegance and inviting staff, you simply cannot go wrong here. We already knew that the Tulum beaches were the best of any place we've ever been to, so once again, we were not disappointed by the gorgeous sand and water. We were lucky enough to arrive during a full moon, which made the evenings that much more beautiful. Our rooms were fantastic, and as my husband and I stayed in three of them, we have a pretty good idea of how they all are! Due to our late booking, we needed to move a couple of times during our six-night stay, as most of the rooms had already been booked. Although, you would hardly know there was anyone else around. It really felt like we had individual attention from the staff. We were traveling with another couple (first time visitors to Tulum) who were equally in awe of this place. Alan, George, Elizabeth and Julio (and the dogs) made us so comfortable - felt like family, really. We headed to Playa del Carmen for four nights after our six nights at Tulum, and were in shock by all of the crowds! I think that will be our last stay in Playa del Carmen. And Suenos will be the only place we'll stay in Tulum. It's everything you could ever want in a true getaway vacation. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AlisonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2006

We stayed at Suenos for the last 4 days of a 2 week trip and it was a dream. We had stayed in Playa for the first week which was nice but the beach was busy - at Tulum you could look as far into the distance on the beach in both directions and only see around 10 people. The beach at Sueonos is wide and beautiful, the rooms superb as were the bathrooms, with hot water - something you dont always get at tulum. We were travelling with our 2 year old and she had a fantastic time playing in the sea and sand - she even had her first crush on Alan. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to be back someday.
The restaurant is simple only one choice of main meal each night - so you put your name on the board if you want dinner - we thought we'd try it the first night then eat out from then but the food was so good we ate there every night

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scubagoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2006

I must admit when first making our holiday vaction plans ( back on Feb 05), our first choice- Shangri-La in Playa del Carmen was sold out( our 6th time there), I was devestated. So it was time to try something new...Suenos Tulum looked like it would fit the bill.

Suenos Tulum is a magical beautiful place. Alan, who greeted us first, showed us to our room, which was chic, clean and sparse, with a very cool Mexican tiled bathroom. We were traveling with another couple , and even though it was 6:00Pm and dark- we knew it was pretty unique. I loved the fire torches surrounding the resort- very romantic ! The no- electricty factor was a nice added bonus, no TV, hairdryers, newspapers, a true vacation.

The beach in front of the hotel is one of the best beaches that I have ever seen, wide, white sand , clean and hardly a person to be seen. Tulum beaches have raised the bar- as far as ever going back to Playa del Carmen, or any where else for that matter.

Every morning we were greeted by Julio with a smile and fresh fruit, yogurt and a bread basket. Alan, was fantastic and arranged a wonderfil tour of the Bio Shere for us ( a must do!) and a massage.

The only negetive that I have about Suenos is , due to our vaction time ( Dec 27th- Jan 4th) which is the busiest and crowed- there didn't seem to be enough
lounge chairs or beach beds available to the guests. If you didn't wake up by 6:45 and put your towels on the lounges and beds , you were left with none. These desired seats were needed due to the lack of shade on the beach, and husband is fair and in need of shelter of the sun.
There was a large family that were there and seemed to "take over" a lot of the facailties.


However, that did not dampen our holiday. I would highly recomend Suenos. And am dreaming of returning.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Susanmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2005

My wife and I were overdue for a honeymoon, and were not able to get a cabana at La Cabanas Conchite (booked up) but the travel agent had just stayed at Suenos Tulum herself and recommended it to us. We were nervous because of all the recent hurricanes but it turned out that Tulum had only been grazed so we said OK with some trepidation. Well...

It really would have been hard to do better than this, to find a better place to stay in Tulum's beachfront hotel zone. The main 2 things with Suenos were the staff, who were just so friendly and gracious and attentive they really took care of your every need and made you feel welcome. The place is small (only 10 or so cabanas) and every cabana has its own porch and beuatiful room so the manager had time and energy to deal with every guest on a very personal level.

The site was immaculate, sand swept on the beach and grounds every day, a wonderful kitchen with dinner prepared (you had to request a bit in advance) that was just delicious and romantic - it was all of the little touches that made this place so great - maid service every morning, margaritas on the beach, candles lit everywhere at night, beautiful beautiful plam trees and a small pool, etc etc...

the whole stay was just like a beautiful dream, i never wanted it to end, i would recommend Suenos in a heartbeat! To anyone, but especially honeymooners! You can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alex76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2005

We stayed at Suenos Tulum from Sept. 5 to 8 and did not want to leave! This small boutique hotel is truly special. You can feel that the owners George and Elizabeth have their heart and soul in this hotel. They are lovely people. George's art work is all over the buildings and add a very special touch. Besides George, Julio and Allen made us feel very welcome and took good care of us. The location is fantastic. We had the Master Suite in the Selva Building and everything stated in the other reports is exactly what we found. Beautiful colors and design touches everywhere. Even the inside of Toilet bowl was painted and I had to giggle looking at the little frog everytime I lifted the lid. We loved the low voltage lighting which made it very romantic in the room and around the grounds after dark. The fan was running all night and we never were hot at night or had mosquitos in the room with the ocean breeze and sound of the waves.There where also candles and tiki torches everywhere. We found our suite very romantic, comfortable with that amazing view of the stars and ocean all night long. The grounds are kept very natural and beautiful. For 2 of the 3 nights we were the only guests and we felt like we found paradise. Alone on the beach, super private room and good conversations with the owners. And the view of the beach and jungle!!!!!! Watching the sunrise while laying in a big King size bed is the best. The Sueno's dogs are so sweet and we enjoyed having them by our side at the beach. Mali the hairless Mayan puppy is the cutest thing and so is Paamul that visits with Elizabeth from time to time. Negro and Ceiba are cute as well. The very clean pool is very refreshing and nice. The included continental Breakfast was very good and we got to spend lots of time with Tuki the Tucan. He liked hanging out with us at Breakfast and we played with him in the evening when we had wine and cheese under the dining Palapa. We love Tuki and everything else about Suenos Tulum and can't wait to visit again. We are already talking about our return visit. Next time we make sure we have George's dinners. We have been to Tulum before and had several restaurants with fond memories we wanted to revisit this time but next time we will spend more than 3 nights at Suenos. We are so glad to have found Suenos Tulum!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hoboken, NJ
111
Reviewed 20 August 2005

My husband and I stayed at Suenos Tulum for a much needed holiday just before Easter. Tulum was highly recommended by my sister and her husband for its relaxed atmosphere. We could not get a reservation anywhere and then, while surfing the web, I came across Suenos Tulum, a brand new hotel on the beach. The photos of the property looked amazing, so we booked a master suite without knowing much about it.

When we arrived, very late at night, the manager was there to greet us. Our room was steps from the beach with a beautiful view of the sea. Because they use solar energy, the evenings are incredibly romantic, with dim lights and candles illuminating the hotel. I fell in love instantly - and did not want to leave!

The beach is so pristine (they rake the sand every day), the room was lovely with lots a nice architectual details and the food they prepared was all local - and delicious. The property pays homage to the mayan gods and blends in very harmoniously with the local environment (see the photos). And the staff was great, they felt like friends we would hang out with, if we lived in Tulum.

There are so many wonderful details about Suenos, it's hard to put into words, it was a magical place and we will be returning again - and often!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Cabanas La Luna
Cabanas La Luna
#11 of 98 in Tulum
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#40 of 98 in Tulum
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#10 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £223 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suenos Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing