We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at the Mezzanine for 2 nights in late August, and loved it. The hotel is lovely, the food is great, you are right on the beach, and only a couple of km from the ruins.
We got the feeling the reception staff were initially surprised to see a couple in their mid sixties arrive (we were about 30 years older than everyone else staying there - much to our surprise actually, since it's not cheap). Nevertheless, we were made very welcome and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Very happy to hear you had a lovely time with us, and yes, we were surprised specialy by your enthusiasm and great Spanish! Hope you had a wonderful time on your entire vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

had and amazing time, awesome staff !!! food OMG !! the Thai Restaurant really exceeded my expectations and the view .....I heard somebody say it was like a dream and I could not agree with him more!! Maggi, Laura and Gil front desk are the best.

Will be back!

By the way, nearby there is an italian place La vita e bella, best homemade ravioli ever and that night we had a full moon, what a dinner !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FabiA505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We really appreciate you took the time to share your experience, it was great to meet you, we hope you visit again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at Mezzanine two nights and and had two very different experiences.

The staff is charming, very helpful and friendly. Margarita arranged a massage on the beach for me and it was wonderful. Gil seems to know what you want before you do, always smiling and making great suggestions on food and beverages.

The rooms were lovely, immaculate and nice attention to details. I really appreciated the fresh basket of coffee outside my room in the morning. There is no A/C which made the nights a little uncomfortable, but with the windows open there was a nice beach breeze. The bathrooms are a bit odd ~ they are on a raised platform in the room with only a curtain separating the commode from the bedroom.

Mezzanine restaurant is not to be missed. The Thai food was incredible, everything fresh and wonderfully prepared. The two-for-one Happy Hour seems to go on all day, with an interesting cocktail menu.

Now for the bad part. On Friday nights Mezzanine brings in celebrity Euro DJ's and the party starts at 9:00 pm. The level of pulsing, blasting techno music is not to be believed, or avoided. Not even my Bose self cancelling headphones could completely obliterate that obnoxious cacophony. The party breaks up at 2:30 am and then there is another hour of drunken party goers leaving in a line of taxis, all with their radios blasting.

Saturday night was a completely different experience. Quiet, charming and exuding the Zen vibe that so many of us seek when in Tulum.

I would highly recommend Mezzanine ~ 6 nights a week, but absolutely never on a Friday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review,very nice to read though your wonderful comments.

Regarding the Friday night Party, it is a realy fun night, but we understand it isn’t for everybody, so we try our best to advertising it and advice our Guest. You find the information below steps prior your booking, on your confirmation letter, and on your registration form.

Each Friday, Mezzanine hosts a party featuring DJs playing House music between 9pm and 2,30am. You can hear the music from the rooms and we do encourage guests to participate in the party. We recommended that guests seeking a quiet environment should avoid including a Friday in their stay.

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I spent the week of August 5 to 12 at Mezzanine, Tulum. This was our second stay at this prime beach hotel and it did not disappoint. While much of the Tulum beach area has grown up and become more commercialized since our first visit in 2007, the Mezzanine has managed to maintain its exceptionally high level of comfort, service and privacy while growing in size a bit itself. The restaurant and bar remain superior and the beach at the Mezzanine is unparalleled. Each and every staff member makes you feel like family (or perhaps better than family), taking every opportunity to ensure the needs of guest are met, and more often, exceeded. From Gilberto in the restaurant to Maguie at the concierge desk, everyone at the Mezzaning took great care of us. For example, we ran into a slight hurdle in the form of Hurricane Ernesto and were forced to leave the Mezzanine for one night. That said, Laura at the Mezzanine made certain to find and reserve a room in town for us until the storm blew over. This personal service and attention to detail makes Mezzanine a model not only for hotels in Mexico, but anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhinrichsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

We feel very flattered with your amazing comments, thank you so much,we really appreciate it.
And we have to say, we enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. Looking forward to your return! Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here as a couple in March 2012 for 3 nights. We thought we'd treat ourselves for our last part of our holiday.

We had high expectations of the hotel based on it's website and reviews and were left a bit disappointed. I always try to give a balanced review:

The Good Bits
Close to the ruins compared to many other properties in Tulum (we personally preferred the Southern beach part in Tulum but a personal choice).
Hotel was very clean, rooms spacious and exactly as shown on website. Great view over the sea with the seaview rooms.
Friendly and professional staff.

The Bad Bits
Having paid a 50% deposit by credit card when booking, we were told there was a 3% credit card fee when we arrived. This didn't apply to drinks and meals incurred in their bar/restaurant so really is cheeky and a bit of a con.
Great cocktails albeit you are paying for them!
Overall this is an expensive option and we felt it was missing a few things, e.g. the curtains in our bedroom didn't meet in the middle so people could see into the room (bed by the window), for some of the days, they had canoes across some of the sunbathing areas so there was nowhere to sunbathe (there aren't enough places anyway when the hotel is full).

Overall we had a nice time, but we just didn't think it was worth the extra £ and if we returned, we'd probably take our chances in one of the cabanas more South on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us in March, glad you had a nice time.

Regarding your comments, im happy to anounce you we don’t longer charge any extra fees on credit card payments. About the sunbathe áreas, the beach is huge and we are happy to accommodate as much sunbeds as you need. We have kayaks for our Guest use, they aren’t in a visibly place and we usually help to take them down to the beach for Guest, but we will make sure it get back on place after been use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Mezzanine is a stunning hotel! The first thing that strikes you when you enter this place is its beauty. When we arrived the sun was shining, the beach was right in front of us, with crystal clear water. Just amazing.

The lay out, atmosphere, staff, the rooms: all very good. Mezzanine so tasteful, with very good attention to detail. The bed was the most soft bed we have ever slept in. The location is good, on a very nice beach. We felt very lucky to stay here. The food was amazing (thai + mexican) and the staff did everything to give us a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your photos and write such a great contribution!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hola Amigos

This incredibly unique boutique hotel was my first introduction to the beaches of Tulum and the Mayan Riviera. I wasn't sure what to expect on the 90 minute drive to The Mezzanine from the Cancun airport. But when I arrived what a pleasant surprise, this little hotel is truly an awe inspiring place. With one of the best locations along the beach, you will find yourself basking in the sun the entire day and not once worrying about your email or iPhone. Also, this little jewel has one of the best restaurants in Tulum with a great wine list and interesting cocktails. And if you're a lover of Thia cuisine then from appetizers to deserts Thai Fusion won't disappoint. Plus, I don't want to forget to mention their amazing smoothies and breakfast confections. There are only 3 rooms and 6 suites which is what I find so charming about this petite paradise. Keep in mind this is an Eco hotel, TV and air conditioning are not one of their amenities. Having no a/c shouldn't be a problem in spring, fall or winter, but in summer it may be a little hot for those of you who are use to air conditioning. Being from Texas I love my a/c and was very content and comfortable during my stay in early April. I think you will find that the rates are reasonable and comparable with similar hotels along Tulum beach road. You are just minutes away from the Mayan ruins, I borrowed one of the bicycles from the hotel and it is an easy 10 minute bike ride from the Mezzanine. During my weeks stay, I was perfectly content to spend my days at the beach and venture out for dinner in the evenings exploring and experiencing the many great restaurants and boutiques along the beach or in downtown Tulum. For those of you that need more to do than just vegging at the beach every day, there are a number of other activities to discover from kite surfing, fishing, Eco tours and more. But if your like me doing a whole lot of nothing is what brings me back time and time again.

Hasta La Proxima.

Room Tip: The Mezzanine is a fantastic hotel, I prefer staying there in the cooler months. With no a/c this m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thanks a lot for for taking the time to share your experience with other readers. It was pleasure to have you in our petite Paradise as you called it.

Hasta la próxima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 101 in Tulum
656 reviews
2 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#23 of 101 in Tulum
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £365 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing