We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$634
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$616
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
US$714
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$651
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$763
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$743
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
712
103
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
103
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai foodmaster suitemoney bagsevery morningour honeymoonthe sea view roomstulum ruinskitchen tablebeach bagtea coffeelittle touchespublic beachyour doorstephuevos rancheroshotel guestsshrimp tacosturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

I booked in to the seaview room no 4 for one night and were greeted by wonderful reception staff and a welcome margarita. We could not stop grinning, the room was beyond perfect with amazing styling and linen, even had Molten Brown products in the bathroom! The location is perfect being right on the beach and 20 minutes walking along the sand to the ruins. They also have an amazing Thai restaurant run by a Thai chef and they also serve a few other options of Mexican and western dishes as well. Their breakfasts we're amazing, you have to try their Eggs Benedict and their fresh fruit juices too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we had such an amazing time we stayed two more nights and I also came back the following week for another night. Every Friday they also hold a party with DJ's from Ibiza...the best dancing I have had in a couple of years. I guarantee if you stay here you will have a truly amazing time...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing comments and for sharing your pictures, we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I couldn't say enough positive things about our stay at Mezzanine. I first visited Mezzanine during a trip to Tulum 7 years ago. I was staying in some Cabañas closer to the ruins but we always went to Mezzanine for their 2 for 1 Margaritas happy hour (which still exists). It was always on my mind to stay there upon returning to Tulum and I'm so glad we did. This time around I went with my husband and we stayed in room Sea View 1. The bed was huge and comfortable and the room was spacious. Although there was no AC (as is common in that area), the room was so breezy and comfortable. I'd much rather be cooled by a Caribbean breeze over fake air anyways! The area of the beach that surrounds Mezzanine is my favorite in all of Tulum. It's so clean/clear and effortless to go for a swim. Powdery white sand and turquoise water...it doesn't get any better. It was also nice to be walking distance to the Tulum ruins and many great restaurants. We ended up eating at Mezzanine's restaurant more often than not as the food was SO GOOD! Some of my favorites are: Pad Thai, Spinach Gorgonzola Salad, Fish Tacos and so many others...delicious fresh squeezed juices and drinks too. On Friday they have a great party with performances and worldly DJ's. Great fun crowd, we had a blast. Aside from the beauty and other amenities, my favorite part of Mezzanine is the vibe. The staff is so cool and helpful, without ever being pushy (something I hate at big resorts). They genuinely get to know you and help make your vacation amazing. Gil and Maggie went above and beyond for us, hope to see them next time!

Some other "must see" suggestions for Tulum:

Chichen Itza: the trip organized by Mezzanine was great...only 6 people in our tour group and we stopped at a Cenote (another must) and small Mexican town for lunch (delicious and authentic).

La Zebra on Sunday: Also good food and a really fun Salsa dance party .

Pueblo: Great for souvenir shopping and to get a realistic glimpse of everyday life in Tulum.

We can't wait to go back, LOVE this place :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GosiaBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We feel very flattered with your amazing comments. Look forward to your return! Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Mezzanine is located on the beach strip in Tulum closer to the Mayan Ruins. It is more low key in this section as the hotels less dense at this end of the beach which makes it a peaceful respite. Of course, you can jump on a bike or a taxi and within minutes be at the other end of the beach strip with many boutique hotels, restaurants and shops OR be in the town of Tulum where there is a mix of local shops selling traditional Mexican crafts and great restaurants that vary from Mexican to Italian. Mezzanine is a low key and beautiful boutique hotel with an amazing staff, gorgeous beach views an an overall ambiance unlike any other. Their food and drink would be enough to enjoy if you never wanted to leave as they have an amazing Thai restaurant in addition to a delicious every day menu that features guacamole, wraps, sandwiches and really fantastic french fries! We were in Playa Del Carmen on our last trip to Mexico and the food was no where near as good.
The rooms have a peaceful low key luxury feel with calm lighting and zen decorating details, think golds and reds with tan. You wake up each morning to a basket in front of your door with a thermos of hot coffee. In the event you a more of a tea drinker the staff is happy to accommodate. In fact the staff are what really make the experience. They are so kind, warm and lovely you can not leave without feeling like you've made some new friends that you'd be happy to visit with again. My husband and I are looking forward to out next visit to Tulum and we'll definitely be staying at Mezzanine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchaze03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thanks for your nice contribution,it is very pleased to hear you had such a good time! Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Tulum is a slice of paradise, and my stay at Mezzanine only enhanced my experience there. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly, warm and welcoming. The breakfasts are great (new addiction to the chorizo omelette & All Nighter' smoothie!) and I tried the curry from the thai menu which was delicious! It's only a few steps from the Caribbean ocean, so you can hear the waves from your bed and there's no excuse not to go for an pre-breakfast swim!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londonalex_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience with other readers. It was a presure to have you in our little Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We9 stayed at Mezzanine for my birthday celebration - our first room was on #9, which had the most comfortable bed, ever, and a private patio with a beautiful eastern view. Our other room was an ocean view which featured a private bath, queen bed and loft. The view was really beautiful - the sunrises in particular were the best. Every morning at 7:00 a.m., fresh coffee was delivered to our door.
The restaurant features Mexican and Thai food - we loved the breakfast choices: Huevos Mexicanos, omelettes, smoothies, etc. Lunch and dinner were also very good, although we went out most nights to the downtown Tulum area to the locals' favorite spots.
The hotel provided beach towels, snorkeling gear, kayaks, beach lounges and umbrellas daily. Happy hour was 1-4 daily, with 2 for 1 margaritas in just about every flavor imaginable! We loved the mango jalapeno. These were even served on the beach, which was just a few steps from the bar.
The location can't be beat - away from the big hotel strip, and close enough to walk to the ruins. We literally had the beach to ourselves most days...crystal clear water, white sand and our hotel right there if needed!
We also loved everyone who worked there - Eric and Maggie made our day, every day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitkatbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thanks for write such a great contribution and sharing your pictures! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews