We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We loved this place. It is very simple with nothing to do but enjoy the amazing beach that you'll have almost entirely to yourself. The rooms are very nice, large and comfortable. We had the end unit farthest from reception, which was great. Not having AC was not a problem as there's a great ocean breeze at night (we we here in July). Best margaritas we've ever had, which is saying something because we've had a lot! The Tulum ruins are a short stroll up the road and can be seen from the beach. Beautiful place.

Room Tip: We had the end unit farthest from reception, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    90
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
476
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in October 2013. Arrived just before dark and received a warm, efficient reception. Stayed in a sea view room with king size bed. Room fresh and clean.

No fridge or TV due to power supply situation in this area. Ventilation from ceiling fan and slatted door and windows. Room was secure, plus there was a safe.

It is not cheap to stay here, but it seemed to look pretty good to other nearby places along the beach.

If u are mobility impaired you may not find it easy to make it around this hotel or down to the beach.
Fresh water supplied every day in bottles for drinking or teeth brushing.

The public beach adjacent to this hotel is lovely.

Only tried the restaurant for dinner once as it was very expensive and they could not manage to get my order right. See separate review.

Staff friendly and seem to b doing good job. Not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Romantic, Chic & Relax What else can you ask for? – Friend of us recommended these place, we booked the Master Suite since we celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. It was a bit expensive but worth. This room has the most incredible view! We had a fantastic time! –The warmness from all the staff at Mezzanine made us feel so good, that it was so hard for us to leave! – We will definitely come back. Those salads and fish tacos were yummy! Thank you Dear Ana & Laura, our favorite’s concierges, thank you Papatzul for the great martinis, thank you all!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mery J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Mezzanine hotel was fantastic! The staff were brilliant really helpful and seemed really happy to help whenever you need it. Location was probably a little far to walk into the town everyday but the beach is literally on your doorstep. The beach road is a really long road but is a nice walk with lots of different places to eat. The food in the hotel was amazing, probably some of the best food we had on the holiday to be honest. We did the sian ka'an trip through the jungle and into the lagoon which was pretty awesome. Floating down a channel in a huge lagoon was probably the most relaxing thing I've ever done, the trip was arranged by the hotel concierge. Unfortunately we did get a couple days of bad weather but the hotel were very helpful and reassuring which was good. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel, it's amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in Mezzanine for 5 nights in September. Unfortunately, we hadn't realised it was hurricane season when we booked!

Well, when we got there they were in the midst of a tropical storm and it rained every day! However, the hotel was delightful and the staff were extremely helpful and service was excellent.

We stayed in a sea view room which was very characterful (but not ideally set up for extreme weather as rain came in through the shutters). Also the room did not have a TV or fridge - not an issue under normal conditions (as you would be out on the beach literally outside the room) but when you can't get out of the room there's only so many books you can read and game of Scrabble you can play:-( Also no air con - we didn't have a problem but not sure what it would have been like if very hot.

The restaurant was superb - both for breakfast and especially for dinner. Highlight of the week was our 3 course Thai dinner (as part of our package).

it is possible to walk to the ruins at Tulum (we did and really enjoyed it) but town is not really walkable and you'll have to get a taxi.

On the basis that you are highly unlikely to get the weather we got, highly recommended for a quiet romantic beach getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We held our wedding at the Mezzanine and would not change a thing! They went out of their way to make our day so incredibly special. The food, service, bartenders and wedding planner were professional and made you feel as you were their family. I can't say enough about the staff! Thank you Laura, Lena, Maggie, Fili, Jonathon, Wilbur and many more! They all work effortlessly with a smile at all times. Thank you so much from Molly and Hans.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgranse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Simply the best! This is our second time at Mezzanine. Once again, they welcomed us with delicious, chilled Margaritas! This time we took advantages of the discount and stayed in a sea view room, those rooms are modern and spacious and they have an incredible view to the turquoise sea. The maids were very professional and friendly and everyday took care of our room decorating it and providing us with everything we needed- bottles of water, towels and amenities. The beach here is like a dream, clean & beautiful. The hotel provides sunbeds and sun-umbrellas, so always had some shade. The deck in the outside area is so nice to lounge during the day, eat, watch the stars! The food at the restaurants was awesome. We love Thai food, (however we found the portions a bit smaller and notice that prices went up a bit). We really enjoyed the staff members the most. The concierges were amazing, they made our stay really great and memorable by always asking us if we needed anything and making us feel so comfortable. Once again we had a fantastic time!!! Our congratulation to the Managers, they have a great Team!!!

We will be back next year :)

Room Tip: Sea view room 4 is the most quiet and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing