We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic boutique hotel on the best beach of Tulum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel on the best beach of Tulum”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Book the suite with beach view rather than the regular room. It is much more spatious and wonderfully decorated. You can sit in a circular bath to relax before enjoying the sunset on the sea from your balcony. In the morning you will get tea or coffee, they should add a croissant to it and it would be perfect !

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coco73Bruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review, will definitely consider your suggestion about the croissant, hope we can give you the surprise on your next visit!



Laura & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    90
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
489
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed 8 nights here in August on the last leg of our honeymoon after 2 weeks in the US and we were blown away by the welcome and the level of service we received from everyone in The Mezzanine. Nothing we experienced in the US compared to this.

Having travelled the world we are both in agreement that this hotel is special!

From the tea/coffee delievered to your door in the morning to the delicious evening meal in the restaurant the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They have managed to achieve the perfect balance of great service without being on top of you. This place is somewhere you can come to and relax.

With ancient ruins a 5 minute cycle up the road and a sandy white beach on your door step what more do you want? Try having collection of classic records listen to and a DVD collection to choose from!

Coming here we wanted a 5 Star Room, a relaxing enviromnent with a slow pace of life, white beaches and great food and we got all that and more!

Even if you don't stay in the hotel you have to eat in the restaurant! I guarantee that you will go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review,we feel flattered, it feels great to read through your wonderful comments!

Looking forward to your next visit!


Laura & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've been coming to the restaurant at La Mezzanine for years and this year we decided to stay a night in the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I think what makes this place so special - beyond the location and the view which are heavenly - is how warm and accomodating the staff here are. In a trendy spot like Tulum it's easy for hotels and restaurants to take customers for granted and treat them accordingly but that's never been my experience at La Mezzanine. Whether eating in the restaurant or staying at the hotel you truly get the impression that they want you to be as comfortable as possible and enjoy your stay. I really appreciate that about this hotel. In the past we've stayed at Nueva Vida de Ramiro and now that I've stayed at La Mezzanine I won't go back to NVR. As for the rooms - we stayed in one of their four ocean view rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable (which is rare in Mexico) and we didn't miss AC because the breezes were sufficient to keep us comfortable. I loved the large shower with the overhead rainfall style shower head. We will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were wonderful. We were in the one closest to the restaurant but that did not both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The first thing you notice about Mezzanine Hotel is the warm and genuine greeting they give! I'm a sucker for service I might add! We felt at home, the staff made us feel special and valued. Rooms are beautiful and bright. Coffee in the morning on the door step was wonderful treat, as most restaurants open after 8:00 which is late for us:)

The only criticism would be the sewer smell that sometimes creeps up on you here. I'm assuming that it is not unique to Mezzanine, as we drove quite a bit down the beach and we noticed it at most places.... Too many people here and not a great sewage system in place.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for the rooms farthest away from the restaurant. Later in the evening the smells can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We absolutely loved Mezzanine! As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and a refreshing margarita and knew that the next 6 days will be like paradise. Our room (Master Suite) was above expectations, very spacious and full of special touches such as Bulgari bathroom amenities, room fragrance, vintage record player and candles. The bed was huge and very comfortable with a selection of pillows that would please even the fussiest sleeper. We loved the round bathtub and the rain shower. The balcony was a good size too and most importantly the view of the ocean was breathtaking. Each morning we got delivered coffee by the front door – a really nice gesture. We loved the 2-for-1 margarita happy hour (best margaritas in town). Mezzanine specializes in Thai cuisine which was very tasty. I was pleased to find out that they use locally produced and fresh ingredients. The Royal Thai salad was so delicious!! Also on our favourites list was the pad thai, guacamole, quesadillas and fish tacos and huevos rancheros for breakfast. Our only suggestion is to offer more Mexican cuisine as the closest Mexican restaurant is not within a walking distance.
But it was the Mezzanine staff that made our stay really unforgettable. Everyone is super friendly and accommodating and they definitely go the extra mile to please all their guests’ needs. A special thanks to the lovely Ana and Maggie at Reception and Francisco, Fili and Armando at the bar.
Warm greetings from Melbourne and we hope to see you again soon!
Katja & Craig.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatjaK_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent four days here for our honeymoon in October 2013. It was low seasons so it was not that busy which was nice. During our stay we stayed the first two nights in a sea view room (Room 4), it was very nice with comfortable beds and a beautiful sun deck out the front of the room that looks straight on to the ocean. They drop a pot of coffee to your room which a nice touch, and we spent both mornings drinking our coffee on the sunbeds on the deck in front of our room. For the last two nights we were in the master suite (Room 10), the best room in the house ! It had a huge balcony which looked out over the beach, we enjoyed many a margarita here and also got a massage here at Sunset which was nice. The nicest surprise on the room was a record player with actual records ! It was fun listening to these records like relaxing on the balcony. Staff were really friend, Maggie the concierge was fantastic as was our regular breakfast waiter Francisco. Don't forget to take advantage of the use of the free snorkling gear to snorkle out the front of the hotel or to use at a cenote. We used the snorkling gear to snorkle at the grand cenote.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 4 nights last week and had a wonderful relaxing time.
From arrival we were met by a helpful and bubbly Maggie who checked us in and is a great concierge too.
The Sea View rooms offer a beautiful view of the turquoise sea and the breeze is felt through the slats to the windows. We stayed in room 4 which offers more privacy than the other sea view rooms. Bathroom is lovely with on demand hot water and fresh mineral water is supplied along with your beach towels daily. The food at Mezzanine is delicious and freshly prepared. Try the Chichen Eatza for breakfast and Shrimp Tacos, dont foeget to enjoy the happy hour 2 for 1 blended margheritas...In fact everything we ate, we loved. From the beach you can arrange snorkelling (gear supplied by the hotel ) and there are a few bars and restaurants on the beach to break up the monotony. Definitely would stay again. Makesure you hire the bikes and cycle out the the ruins and the gran cenote. Also makesure you get yourselves out to the Hartwood restaurant, what a lovely romantic restaurant for an evening meal some 5-10 mins away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing