We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed at Mezzanine with my boyfriend for 5 days in April 2010. We had an ocean view room which i highly recommend. The room was more beautiful than on the website. Air conditioning was not an issue whatsoever as there is constantly a breeze from the sea. The beach is beautiful and not crowded at all. The staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The food was good, especially the breakfast. 2 for 1 margaritas everyday and they are great. I have been to other parts of Mexico and from now on will only go to Tulum. The town was great and the bars along the beach are fun. There is a very beautiful beach at the ruins which I highly recommend visiting. Loved everything about Tulum and Mezzanine.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Thank you so much for having taken the time to write about your stay with us. We greatly appreciate and look forward to your return to Mezzanine.

Saludos from beautiful Tulum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    93
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
517
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Tulum is one of the best places i've visited in Mexico and Mezzanine has to be one of the best hotels around.

The hotel is charming and small, the staff are friendly, management attentive and helpfull, food delicious and friday beach parties amazing....

A definate "must visit"!!!!!! :)

10/10

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeh485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution. We are very happy to hear that you had an amazing trip and you enjoyed your stay with us as much as the food and the Friday party.

We look forward to your next visit,

Sincerely,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Tulum was great! It truly is paradise. Mezzanine Hotel was also quite lovely. The rooms were very clean and comfortable - with a modern asthetic. The staff was very nice; the restaurant served GREAT food! The hotel is right on the beach, and you couldn't beat the location! We had an amazing trip, and will definitely return to this hotel and this part of Mexico!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, we really appreciate you chose us to be your first Trip Advisor review.

We are glad to know your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mezzanine soon.

Sincerely,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Mezzanine Hotel is a great boutique hotel, one of the best on Tulum beach, and certainly on par with what you pay per night. The food and drinks are AWESOME. Seriously, this has to be some of the best vacation food I have ever had in my life. The drinks are meticulously prepared with the perfect blend of liquor and ingredients. This place is not cheap, but it is worth every penny. Oh, and the beach... breathtaking. Like a freaking postcard. (Although its best to walk up the beach about 200 meters and pay for a pair of nice wooden beach lounge chairs and a palapa shade at La Bella Vita. There is a great staff that will keep bringing you drinks, while not being bothersome. Mezzanine doesn't have the best beach chair setup. Not a big deal, and really not even a problem given the plethora of other beach hotels in the area).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCPurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed so much our food and drinks, the Staff will be pleased to read your comments and very glad to know that they made your trip one of best vacation food you ever had!

Thank you very much for your comments which serve us as encouragement and inspiration.

We look forward to your next stay,

Sincerely,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the location fantastic. The beach to the north of the hotel is wonderful. The staff are friendly and incredibly hard working. The rooms and grounds are spotlessly clean. The restaurant serves delicious food and great drinks but........................
The music from the DJ, not just friday night but Sunday afternoon as well was just not escapable. The bace beet of the music travels in the walls and vibrates into the rooms with a torturous boom boom. ( ear plugs did not work) So if someone else's loud music is not your thing, book Monday to Thursday
Also be aware that the non- view rooms ( 5,6 and 7) are in the lower level and seem to be converted garages. There is very little natural light available- they felt cave like. I would not book these rooms again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate very much that you have taken the time to let us know about your experience at Mezzanine.
I am glad to hear that besides the music you had a pleasant vacation and enjoyed your time in our hotel.

You are right about the Friday party since every Friday during the high season, Mezzanine hosts Fiesta en la Playa with a DJ playing dance music on the rooftop of our famous bar between 10pm and 2:30 am. The heart of the party takes place around the pool and you can hear the music from the hotel rooms and we do encourage our guests to join in the party. If you are seeking a quiet atmosphere, Mezzanine is best avoided on Fridays.
Two days a week we have a chill out set during the Happy Hour (1pm - 4pm). It is not really a dancing scene, just to chill out drinking cocktails by the pool and it should be smooth.
We apologize if it was loud and this disturbed you. From now on we will be more careful about it.
We look forward to seeing you again,

Best regards,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Mezzanine was perfect- from the quality of the food, to the comfort and cleanliness of the room, the view from the terrace in the suite, the ambiance of the hotel itself and the staff (esp Vanessa and Roxana) who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.
The room was chic, low lighting, exceptionally comfortable beds. huge terrace with a stunning view and we actually liked the lack of a phone or room service-we were left largely to ourselves. Breakfast at the restaurant is amazing, esp as you eat it looking over the ocean. I would also highly recommend El Tabanos which was a 15 minute bike ride from the hotel and had the best food in Tulum. Vanessa was brilliant with helping us out with everything- from renting a car to recommending places to eat to helping us book a tour to booking a private massage in our room.
The cons: The Friday night party was fun though by abt midnight it was largely a noisy crowd of people in their late teens-early twenties at which point we decided to retire for the night. The restaurant was also a little pricey though we thought the food was worth it. Buying a few bottles of water at the supermarket in town would help as they only provided you with a single bottle of water a day and tap water was undrinkable. The pool was pretty tiny and we didnt see anyone use it during our stay though why would you want to given the beautiful ocean infront of you? None one of these issues were overly troublesome.
Overall, It was relaxing, laid-back and utterly romantic and we definitely plan on coming back next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samnad_bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2010
samnad_bos:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution.
I have shared your comments with Vanessa and Roxana they are very pleased being helpful during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mezzanine soon.

Warm Regards,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This was our 2nd time at the Mezzanine and it was as enjoyable as last time. We'll be back again next year. The food is amazing - albeit pricy - but its as good or better as any high end thai place in the US/Canada. We stayed in room # 2 this time instead of the ground floor room. My wife said it was the 'most romantic room' she'd even seen. The beach is perfect. We drove down to La Zebra - the sister property on the south beach (a few kilometers away) and walked down the beach there too. I recommend that as well. We hardly saw a soul walking on a perfect beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neubrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2010
Dear guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your gracious comments about our place and food.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your staying with us as much as the first time, we look forward to next year!

Sincerely,

Laura Avila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 96 in Tulum
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum_Boca Paila km 1.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing