We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Latino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Latino
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Tiny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Everything was tiny. The rooms, the bathrooms, the pools, the stairs, the chairs. I am not very large and I was sure I'd break a chair if I sat on it. I had some questions for the owners but they weren't around too much. Heard some club music from a block away at night. Too me it was overpriced and afforded little privacy as the curtains did not cover the windows fully. Pebble floored shower hurt my feet, esp. as many were loose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review and for staying with us at Hotel Latino.

What strikes me as an odd review, is that, you saw the Suite room that was available and its size, the bathroom, the pool, the balcony with hammock, and you were aware of the hotel amenities etc.
You were then mentioned the discounted low season rate and agreed to stay the 2 nights, and even added an extra 3rd night to your stay. Now, if according to your review, everything was tiny, then why did you agree to stay with us rather than choose to stay at a different location that could have better met your needs?

I also met you at your arrival and was there everyday in the afternoons to meet any needs or concerns you may have had during your stay, yet nothing was ever mentioned to me. We find your review a little unjustified for the quality of cleanliness, service and comfortable accommodations we provide to all of our guests.

Happy future travels,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    112
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
33
216
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Hotel Latino is tucked away in the heart of Tulum. We made a few day trips and used it as a middle man while we were there, and it worked out perfectly. The price was great and the staff was excellent. Gary responded promptly to all of our e-mails when we were looking to book the hotel and Liz was outstanding and directed us to all of the local areas to dine! When we were in town we walked to get food or go to the bar and the beach is only a short drive away (you can bike or take a taxi as well). If you want to take any day trips I would recommend Coba Ruins, Grand Cenote, Tulum Ruins, Tulum Beach (which is all public-just walk through any resort and if they ask you just let them know you are passing through to use the beach), Xel-Ha and Bacalar. As you can tell we were very busy while we stayed here, but we slept great every night and felt safe and comfortable in the hotel!

Room Tip: Choice is yours. We slept on the first floor but if you have a choice I always ask for the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTucsonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hey guys,
Thank you for your excellent review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is well located as a vacation base to do day trips and excursions in the area. Come back and visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Liz & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Lots to do, drive to and dine on in Tulum. Hotel Latino was perfect for us with the staff's friendliness and several excellent suggestions of what Tulum has to offer. The hotel was very reasonably priced and had special touches such as limitless purified water access, the offer to use the staff frig and a location not on busy Main street but a block away so that despite having a car, we did lots of walking. Thanks Gary and Danny!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie and Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi Jackie and Jim,
We thank you for posting your excellent review. We're happy to have helped you make your vacation a success in Tulum. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Happy future travels!
Liz & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We needed a place in the town of Tulum for a couple of nights. The place we had been staying on the beach, Yoga Shala, was booked for our last 2 nights (we had planned the trip last minute).

One of the owners of Yoga Shala recommended this place to us, and it was a great find. Very clean, very comfortable, stylish even, and a very reasonable rate. We felt very lucky to find it on such short notice.

It is run by a very nice couple from Montreal & from Mexico, and they were very helpful with finding us find everything we needed, including scooter rental and bus info for finding our way back to Cancun airport on the way out. A definite recommend, and would definitely return here. Even if you are staying on the beach part of the time, on a visit to Tulum it's nice to spend a couple nights in town, which is convenient also on the way out if you'll be leaving by bus or colectivo. We really loved this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSlothrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
It was nice of you to come and stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed the hotel and we thank you for posting your very nice review.
Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Had a great 2 night stay at Hotel Latino in October 2012. The manager was super helpful with recommending things to do and restaurants to go to. The staff was excellent! Really helpful and friendly. Rooms were very nice and clean. The pool was a nice bonus as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thanks for posting your review and staying with us! We're happy you had a great stay! Come back soon! Liz & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Reasonably priced, clean and cool ambiance. Management is very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend he Hotel Latino and will definitely stay here again. The location is great for walking around town and sampling the different restaurants. The beaches are a quick drive away as well as the ruins. No its not a beach hotel, but you can't beat the price and accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trumpetman467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. Happy travels and come back soon!
Liz & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The owners were very friendly and helpful! The rooms were affordable and very clean. Btw, I recommend renting a bicycle from the hotel. Although it was quite a ride to the beaches, it was very refreshing! Note: When I went there, I walked from the bus terminal and got slightly lost...! The hotel is on a side street, and the street didn't have a sign with the street name (as far as I could tell). Also, the hotel is among regular houses and is pretty small (smaller than I expected, at least), so I couldn't see it from the street corner where I was supposed to turn. It shouldn't be that tricky, though :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thanks for your review and for staying with us!
All the best for your future travels,
Liz & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#47 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#43 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa ZenaLiza
Villa ZenaLiza
#56 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mestizo Gallery
Mestizo Gallery
#40 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#39 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latino

Property: Hotel Latino
Address: Calle Beta sur 340 | Centro, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Latino is an affordable, clean and simple minimalistic hotel located in the heart of downtown Tulum. It is surrounded by the best local and international restaurants,dive shops, local markets and much more. Our Standard rooms include: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, full bathroom, Free WiFi signal in common areas, Satellite TV, fresh white linens, and queen size bed. Our Deluxe rooms include: Miniplit Air conditioning, ceiling fan, full bathroom, private terrace with a hammock, mini-fridge, Free WiFi signal in common areas, Satellite TV,fresh white linens and a queen size bed. Free purified water,coffee,herbal teas, are also available in the common areas 24 hours. Email us for special rates and long term discounts. See you soon & happy travels! Liz & Gary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latino Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing