We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place in Town”
Review of Hotel Latino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Latino
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First, my thanks to Trip Advisor's reviewers for making my choice so easy! Hotel Latino was easy to find from the bus station, located perfectly to the restaurants and shops and to the bike path to the beach, very affordable and a good value. Managers Gary and Liz are lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful. A nice, quiet little oasis with a laid-back vibe, and other like-minded guests. I used the plunge pool at all times of the day and evening and sometimes just hung out there during the day enjoying the sun and breeze. I liked the touches like the music in the common outdoor lounge, water cooler refill, speedy wifi and ac. I used a bike every day to cruise around town and go to the beach and it was very easy. I am not a resort type of person. I like a more authentic experience mixing and mingling among the locals and seeing day to day life. I am a woman, mid 40s, traveling alone and spent 10 relaxing days at Hotel Latino. Breakfast at Xoco Loco, around the corner on Beta Sur, is a great way to start each morning :)

Room Tip: 9 rooms. The standard rooms are on the ground floor. Nicer rooms with outdoor space on the second...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JULIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we'll see each other soon this fall. Happy travels!

Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Latino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

In the heat of May, we appreciated the shady street where Hotel Latino is located, and the small pool in the central courtyard. It was also just a short walk to the Main Street and to a number of restaurants and bars. The staff were particularly helpful to us when we had a problem with our rental car and provided us with lots of useful information about the local area. We loved the simple, modern design of the hotel. The only hassle for us was the noisy air conditioner, but in our experience, they are everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool would be cooler.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australianwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of your stay. We're happy we could help you during your stay to make it enjoyable and memorable.

Come back soon!

Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

An easy walk to the Main Street and great advice as to local activities, bike hire available which I used to visit the Tulum ruins from the Hotel. Enjoyed the quiet and privacy and appreciated the attention to detail of management and sweet staff

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. We always do our best to make sure every guest has a pleasant stay.
Hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Theres something about tulum i cant understand. This is a historical city, and living by tourism. Why jesus anyone at this hotel cant tell me something about the city?
Rooms are kinda fine
The manager is never there
Price is ok

But when i arrive in a city like that i hope associates from my hotel can tell me more.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Marcinhogodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review.

Yet, I don't understand quite well your comments you posted. What you were looking for during your stay? If you wanted a more detailed explanation of the history of the city of Tulum, then I could have recommended a tour company that specializes in what you probably looking for. Also tour guides at the Tulum ruins and travel books are easy to find in the supermarket and Oxxo's.

My staff provided you with a small map of the area and recommendations on where to eat and what to do upon your arrival. Our job was to provide you with clean and comfortable accommodations.
I'm always there in the afternoons to make sure everything is running smoothly. If you were leaving early morning and coming back late at night, then you could assume that I was never there.

We always make sure every guest is happy during their stay with us and it's unfortunate you didn't fully enjoy your stay in Tulum.

Best regards and happy future travels!
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for 6 nights. It exceeded every expectation from the moment we arrived. The owner & staff are always available to help or advise their clients. It is perfectly located, elegant & simple. I'm already planning my return for the fall & will be staying here again. I don't think I can adequately express all that is great about this hotel. Thanks guys for such an awesome place to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your excellent review of your stay. We're happy you enjoyed the facilities and our staff. See you this fall!

Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spend 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel has a modern feeling that we really liked. It was really clean and it was so quiet. Actually, it's the quietest hotel that we've been travelling in Quintana Roo and Yucatan for 14 days. It has a new silent air conditioning machine. The guys taking care of it are so nice and helpful!! They try to help you with anything you could need. There is a nice small pool and a nice comun area well equipped with microwave, water... where to have a tea or a coffe.

Room Tip: We had a room in the middle at the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with. We're happy you enjoyed your vacation at Hotel Latino and hope you'll be back soon. Thank you for posting your review!

Best regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in March 2014, I wouldn't call it a luxury hotel, more of a luxury hostel. Communal area for teas/coffees felt more like a hostel. Also, management didn't seem to concerned with our arrival and appeared to want to get the intro out of the way - plus the map they provided was completely faded and of very little use to us. I would suggest updating this as the one recommendation we were given for breakfast (when we found it by asking on nearby streets) was really good. Our room was nice but not cleaned well at all, didn't look like the floor had ever been mopped. We were unfortunate to have one night of bad weather and the whole room flooded, soaking anything left on the floor. Also a distinct lack of space to put anything in bedroom and bathroom. Air conditioning was really loud, it was difficult to get hot water and the swimming pool was not inviting (green with ++insects and leaves). The young Mexican guys working there during the daytime were pretty much the only staff we saw and they were really friendly and helpful and both did attempt to clean pool when they saw me hovering! Don't think I'd stay again but can see how the price wold appeal to other travellers. Not a bad stay at all, just think we were unfortunate with some of the events that happened and maybe expecting more from 'luxury hotel' title.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ogling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLatinoTulum, General Manager at Hotel Latino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. It's unfortunate you did not completely enjoy your stay with us in Tulum. We pride ourselves on making sure every guest is happy with their stay by providing quality service, local recommendations and clean and affordable accommodations to every guest.

We the owners are usually there in the afternoons and verify the hotel rooms and amenities everyday. We have daily housekeeping and our staff always do their best to serve the guests needs when we are not at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and hope you'll be back for another visit again in the near future.

Best regards,
Liz & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 98 in Tulum
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#54 of 98 in Tulum
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#39 of 98 in Tulum
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#75 of 98 in Tulum
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#36 of 98 in Tulum
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#85 of 98 in Tulum
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Latino

Address: Calle Andromeda between Beta sur and Orion sur | Centro, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £29 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Latino is an affordable, clean and simple minimalistic hotel with 9 rooms, located in the heart of downtown Tulum. It is surrounded by the best local and international restaurants,dive shops, local markets and much more. Our Standard rooms include: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, full bathroom, Free WiFi signal in common areas, Satellite TV, fresh white linens, and queen size bed. Our Deluxe rooms include: Miniplit Air conditioning, ceiling fan, full bathroom, private terrace with a hammock, mini-fridge, Free WiFi signal in common areas, Satellite TV,fresh white linens and a queen size bed. Free purified water,coffee,herbal teas, are also available in the common areas 24 hours. Email us for special rates and long term discounts. See you soon & happy travels! Liz & Gary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latino Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing